Adaptation and transformation

Fruit possibilities

Change is not something that we should fear.  Rather, it is something that we should welcome.  For without change, nothing in this world would ever grow or blossom, and no one in this world would ever move forward to become the person they’re meant to be.

~ Anonymous

Leafing

Do you think there is such a thing as blog subscription hoarding?  Blog subscription addiction?   Too much of a good thing?

Baby maple leaves

My email inbox is insane.  INSANE.  More insane than the Insanity Workout without the calorie burn and muscle building.  In fact, dealing with it involves no calorie burn or muscle building.  I’m in danger of cutting my life short by sitting too much, and piling on too much stress.  What do I mean by stress?  Several hundred emails a day.  That’s stress.  It’s also a mess.  Important things get lost in the crowd.

I’m going to have to do something I’ve been putting off for too long.  Please don’t take it personally.  I’m clearing the slate.  Starting fresh.  Taking a hint from springtime.  I’m going to unsubscribe from everything and start over.  Yes, everything.  Even those email newsletters that I no longer take the time to read (most of which are ending up in the Spam box because I’m always deleting without reading).

I wish I had the time and the ability to follow everyone.  I really do.  But it’s impossible.  It started off innocently enough with just a few subscriptions.  Whenever someone would subscribe to my blog, I would return the favor, and well… even if I had nothing else to do with my days and my life, I would still not be able to keep up with everyone.

The greening of the woods

I’m also going to take that at-home retreat I mentioned many moons ago.  It’s time.  I need to unplug for a bit.  I’ll be back next Monday unless I decide to extend my break a little longer.  I’ve scheduled a couple of posts to fill in for me.

Thank you so much for all of your visits, comments, and likes.  If you’re new to Life in the Bogs, welcome.  Hopefully once I get things sorted out, I’ll be able to come up with a way to return your visits and comments without the insanity of a gazillion emails awaiting me every morning.

Wishing you lots of joy and fun over the next few days.  I’ll see you next week.  🙂

Smile

22 Comments on “Adaptation and transformation”

  1. Dana says:

    I understand COMPLETELY, Robin! There are so many talented writers and great photo-bloggers out there, and I hate to miss out, but honestly: how can any human being keep up with everything?

    One of the things I’ve started doing to help me deal with my own subscription addiction is to manage my notification preferences. I still subscribe to new blogs (mostly so they can have that magic number of ever-increasing subscribers displayed on their page if they so choose), but I only have a handful of new post notifications actually come into my inbox. I like keeping up with my close(r) blog friends and knowing when they’ve posted something new, but all the rest of the sites are only checked occasionally through the WP dashboard. It’s helping to keep my inbox (sort of) clean and also keeping my stress levels in check. (Nothing is more panic-inducing than hundreds of new e-mails every morning!)

    Anyway, good luck with the whittling down process and enjoy your weekend of being unplugged!

  2. Gracie says:

    We all need to “de-clutter” and to step away from it all, once in a while. It is healthy 🙂
    See you when you get back.

  3. Kel says:

    ah, creating spaciousness 🙂
    may it provide the room to breathe you seek

  4. tedgriffith says:

    I do understand, oh so well! I hope that the break is healing for you. Change happens, and needs to. And yes, there is too much of a good thing. I have felt the pressure, even without your numbers! God bless and get rested. 🙂

  5. God, I know how you feel, Robin. It gets to be too much sometimes. I’m thrilled to have been FP again this week, but just responding to the comments is killing me. I’m gonna need a vacation to recover.

    Enjoy your break, my friend. And don’t worry about returning visits. We read you because we love your blog. I know what’s in your heart just from what you’ve shared here. It’s all good!

    Hugs,
    Kathy

  6. Joni says:

    There is a time for a break from many things…technology is fun but it does overwhelm us with so much…emails, taped TV shows, text messages, etc., etc….thanks for the “like”.

  7. Chloe says:

    i can feel your frustrations, i get anywhere from 30 – 40 blog related subscription WP emails each day, some days i dont even get to open them & read them & BAM the next day another 30
    i only subscribe to people i actually am interested in following, otherwise you’ll end up overloaded as you’ve found

    anyways, lovely photos as always & good luck with your ‘clean up’ ;P

  8. giselzitrone says:

    Wunderschöne Bilder die Rosa Blüten sind besonders schön.Grüsse lieb und wünsche dir einen schönen Tag Gislinde.

  9. ladyfi says:

    We can’t keep up with everything… Time to relax and smell those gorgeous flower in your photos.

  10. Amen, sister-friend. I think it’s part of our evolution as bloggers.
    You like me, I like you.
    You follow me, I follow you.
    Comments. Comments, etc…
    I love what you do, but can’t always get here. You like what I do, and can’t always answer…
    No worries, it’s just life!
    Enjoy your time away!

  11. aFrankAngle says:

    I share many of your thoughts as well as the comments above. No offense taken – so continue your good work!

  12. I know what you mean!!

  13. jenna says:

    I no longer subscribe to comments by email, or posts, or anything, for anyone, even if I LUFF them (like I luff you, for example). I just can’t be dealin’ with work email, and personal email and spam email and other kinds of emails, and text messages and phone calls and voicemails and IMs and things on my to do list. It does my head in, and my head wasn’t so very well constructed to begin with.

  14. Take a deep breath, Robin. Oh good, you’re already doing that 🙂 I echo Dana’s comments above about managing the subscriptions and reducing the email avalanche. Rest, relax, enjoy the quiet 🙂

  15. Joanne says:

    I’ve often wondered how people cope with so many comments. After Kathy was Freshly Pressed and I saw how many comments were there, I felt guilty about leaving another! I remember back when you maybe would have ten comments to reply to, so I can understand how you must feel. You’re very wise to take some time out. We all need that at times. Enjoy your rest (perhaps it’s more a change), and don’t worry about all of your blogging friends. We’ll still be here when you return, well, I know I will. 🙂

  16. jeanne says:

    I recently did something similar…I moved most of the blog subsrciptions to pop up in my inbox once a week…now I am trying to decide what to to…I need to reclaim my time so I can still remain a relevant blogger, friend, wife, mother and ministry leader. Good luck and enjoy your days!

  17. bearyweather says:

    We all need a break … enjoy yours. And, be careful about de-cluttering … I did that a few weeks ago and organized myself into two blogs just to keep things neat and tidy. 😉

  18. Kathy says:

    Robin, I totally understand. I rarely subscribe to blogs because the hundreds of emails would freak me out, too. Instead, I respond solely to comments. (And can get very behind on these.) I spend one to two days a week tracking back comments to their respective blogs. It’s not a perfect system–and I miss some good posts–but still it’s better than frantic email overload. Do come visit when you have time & inspiration.

  19. Karma says:

    Hundreds of emails about blogs?? Wow! That definitely was overload. I’ve gotten to the point where I keep up when I can, say hello when I can, comment where I’m moved to. Blogging and keeping up in the blogosphere shouldn’t be a chore – it should be something you are interested in and enjoy. I’m very happy each time I see your happy feet leave a comment at my place but I never feel offended when people don’t comment – we all have lives away from the computer! 🙂

  20. CMSmith says:

    I know how you feel. I try to subscribe mostly to RSS feeds. That keeps my inbox in pretty good shape (although my google reader is always bursting full of posts.) I’ve been scanning through titles and trying to read a post or two that interests me.

    You’ll figure it out.

  21. Good for you!! There is only so much reading you can do in a day, and still have time for yourself! If there is a blog that I don’t read as much, I might choose to have a weekly email from them – that way, I’m not overloaded!

  22. Robin says:

    Thank you everyone for your comments and your understanding. I think I may have finally come up with a system that will work for me. Having time off didn’t hurt either. 😀


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

