Tempestuous

Wind in the willows

The wind is raging here in the Bogs today.  Newly formed leaves, blossoms, and seeds are flying off the trees, along with a few branches.  The birds who try to fly are having a rough time of it.  Mother Nature is in a blustery mood.

As I’ve mentioned several times in the past, it’s difficult to capture the wind in a still photo.  You can see that the leaves and flowers on the crabapple tree are all pointing towards the right in the above photo, but you cannot see the wind.

Waves on the pond.

The wind creates waves on the pond and the long grasses.  I could watch the wind moving through the grasses, wave after wave after wave, for hours.

We are hoping for rain, but so far, the clouds and wind have been nothing more than empty promises (or threats, if you see them that way).  The newly planted trees need water.  The garden needs water.  The Bogs are drying out, even the areas around the pond that usually remain wet.

Our azaleas are beginning to bloom.  The tulips and daffodils are finally giving up, although there are still a few here and there still hanging in there.

The petals on this tulip will fall off soon. Today's gusty winds will likely help with that process.

The woodland strawberries are blooming.  I did not go into the woods today as that would be an unsafe place to be when the wind is gusting up to 50 mph, but I did take a few shots of the strawberry flowers while I was back there yesterday.

If you reveal your secrets to the wind you should not blame the wind for revealing them to the trees.

~ Kahlil Gibran

Entrance to the woods

That’s it from the Bogs on this warm and blustery Monday.  Thank you for stopping by.  I hope your Monday has been a good one.  Bring your jacket tomorrow.  The wind and clouds are part of a cold front, and things will be cooling off again overnight.

17 Comments on “Tempestuous”

  1. Kathy says:

    I hear your wind. I see your blooms. I feel your sharing heart.

  2. giselzitrone says:

    Schönes Bild wünsche einen guten Wochenstart Grüsse Herzlich Gislinde

  3. Coming East says:

    I think you did a good job capturing the wind in those photos, Robin. Hope you get rain.

  4. So beautiful, Robin! I love seeing your photos. We need rain in GA too. I am originally from northern Ohio and will be visiting my parents in Ashland Co. next month. I’m looking forward to the many photo ops there!

  5. Pat Bean says:

    I could feel the wind in your tree photos — and I love wind. Thanks.

  6. On my mind.. is the thought that you could make a beautiful video of your wind in the bogs.. maybe some rain too.. it would be soo pretty!!

  7. Stormy here today. The top pix shows the wind pretty well…or its’ effects, I guess. ( you can’t really see joy either in life, but it’s there – hmmm…maybe in those bright tulips or bursting azaleas?) Always love winds in tall grassy fields, too
    Stay warm!

  8. bearyweather says:

    Love your wind in the willows … I can see the winds effect and when it comes to wind, that is all you can photograph.

    My wind was not quite so warm and wonderful … blustery here was blizzard like with 8-10 inches of very wet snow plastering everything. I just posted pictures at Bear in Sight .. it is not an April Fool’s joke .. it really happened and I am still looking at the entire woods dressed in white from head to toe … maybe tomorrow the pine trees will return to some shade of green.

    Thanks for sharing what “Spring” should look like.

  9. ~mimo~ says:

    You can almost feel the wind! beautiful images

  10. Ellen says:

    So difficult to picture winds so true
    Here it s windy too and it was rai ing but it s so hot that it was a blessing
    Ellen reporting from Guayaquil, Ecuador

  11. I’ve thought about how to catch the wind… Just need to have all the pieces come together! Maybe someday it will work out!

  12. aFrankAngle says:

    The waves on the pond is the oh my my for the day!

  13. I am D.O.N.E. done with the wind…
    Hope you’ve got a better day today!

  14. Dana says:

    It was really windy on the west coast yesterday, too. I saw many people lose their hats, and my own hair”style” (if you can call it that, which I don’t think you can) was a disaster!

    It is difficult to capture a windy day with a camera, but I think your photos did a fine job. 🙂

  15. Joanne says:

    You have done an absolutely marvellous job of capturing the wind, Robin. 🙂

  16. jeanne says:

    We have been having our share of blustery days as well…

  17. Robin says:

    Thank you so much everyone. Please pardon the one big thank you. This allows me more time to leave my own blog for a while and visit others. 🙂


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

