What’s happening around the pond

The pond reflects

Wherever you are, you are one with the clouds and one with the sun and the stars you see.  You are one with everything.  That is more true than I can say, and more true than you can hear.

~ Shunryu Suzuki

Streaming clouds

Spring is amazing.  It started out as it always does with slow growth.  Then we had a heat wave and life came bursting out, perhaps a little too soon.  But now that things are back to the usual, seasonable way of life, spring has just… stalled.  Flowers that bloom and leave fairly quickly are holding on, waiting for the next wave of warmth to move on to their next phase of life.

Fruit blossom

Fruit blossom edited in Pixlr.

The tulips and daffodils still look wonderful even after all this time in bloom.

A big, beautiful Great Blue Heron has been coming around every day.  Sometimes it looks like he’s courting the pink flamingos.

A gnome has moved into the garden area near the deck.

He seems pretty content.

Foliage of the Golden Dawn Redwood tree. (One of the new trees we recently planted.)

Dandelions and violets are scattered across the lawns and meadows, creating a beautiful sea of yellow, purple, and green.  I have not been able to capture that in a photograph, but I’ll keep trying.  The early dandelions have already gone to seed.

Make a wish

The days are warming up again, although the nights are still pretty cold.  I picked our first asparagus spear today.  There are plenty more coming up.  They should be ready to pick by Sunday or Monday.

Sunset in the woods.

We have a full and fun weekend planned.  That means I get out of shoveling dirt for our newest project:

Stay tuned...

I’ll tell you all about it soon.  In the meantime, thank you for visiting on this gorgeous Friday.  It’s going to be a good evening to sit on the deck and watch the sunset.  We might be bottling beer tonight, too, if you’d like to stick around for that.  M brewed a lager over the winter months and it’s time to pour it into bottles, cap them, and let it finish the final fermentation (the part where it carbonates and develops all those lovely little bubbles).  All volunteer bottle cappers are entitled to help themselves to a homebrew or two (or more, if you really want more).

Yesterday's sunset. No color editing needed, but I did soften it up a little.

Have a great weekend!

P.S.  I signed up for this today.  It looks like it will be tons of fun.  The event I signed up for is in July so I have plenty of time to get ready for it.  In case you didn’t see it, Automattic’s Worldwide WP 5k is on April 29th.  Anyone want to join me?  I did it last year along with a few of my blogmates.  You don’t have to decide right now.  Go read the post I linked to and get back to me if you’re going to play along.

23 Comments on “What’s happening around the pond”

  1. Sallyann says:

    I love the Pixir fruit blossom, and the dandelion clock, and can’t wait to see your new garden project. 🙂

  2. Frank says:

    Woo hoo …. Bog Lager! Cheers … and my fav pic is the catching the sky’s reflection on the water.

  3. Ah ha….those fruit blossom photos are wonderful…and…the dawn redwood!!! : )

  4. All the photos are great but that fruit blossom–it looks like a painting, or period wallpaper–very pretty. Glad to see the Bogs coming alive again.

  5. bearyweather says:

    I think your heron picture fits this weeks photo challenge of two subjects 🙂
    Still no flowers or green here, so I am glad that you are sharing yours. It is currently raining, however, so maybe things will start growing. Have a great weekend.

  6. Anonymous says:

    🙂

    I’ll get in touch when I return from SD. Lovely posts the last few days.

  7. It looks like you have so much going on this weekend.. an outdoor landscaping project, bottling beer.. I think I would be sipping a little of that beer at the end.. Beautiful photos.. I’m waiting for us to have a heat wave and a little of that spring color here!

  8. milkayphoto says:

    That Golden Dawn Redwood Tree is a stunning specimen!

    We’ll be toiling in the yard this weekend as well. The weather is supposed to be gorgeous!

    Yep, did the WP 5K last year and will do it again this year.

  9. Wow. Really great post. These are beautiful\

  10. Hi Robin, I’ll join you on the Automatic’s Worldwide WP 5k! Love your pictures as usual and that homemade brew sounds great!! 🙂

  11. Chloe says:

    you posted so many lovely photographs, these are my favourites;
    the daffodil photo, the cute gnome with the smile & the ‘make a wish’ photo for its gorgeous bokeh

  12. TBM says:

    Lovely photos. Good luck playing in the dirt. Don’t forget to bend the knees 🙂

  13. Hmmm, new project that involves breaking up the concrete apron around the house…
    Best of luck with it – that’s one I’d have hired-out. 😉

  14. wonderfuil to see life returning all around you. Will participate in 5k next year as this year I’m visiting friends in Ontario for the week and have no idea what all will be going on. Are you going to bike your 5K?

  15. giselzitrone says:

    Wunderschönes Bild grüsse dich und wünsche einen schönen Tag und ein schönes weekend Grüsse dich lieb Gislinde

  16. Oh I LOVE seeing the big picture of your pond – wonderful!

  17. Kala says:

    Beautiful photos of the redwood tree, tulips and daffodils. Spring is here!

  18. Karma says:

    It looks like you are having a wonderful spring so far! And I know what you mean about the blooms beginning and then “stalling.” I’ve been curiously watching some buds in my yard that started out during that heatwave and then stopped. Some look like they are going to shrivel and miss blooming all together ( 😦 ) while others are just starting to bloom now.
    I didn’t realize the WWWP5K was happening again this year. I think the date is later than last year’s.

  19. Kathy says:

    Robin, my goodness, it reads like we were in cahoots and wrote the SAME blog, except from different ponds and different angles. **grin** I love how the pond reflects… Wonderful photos, wonderful sentiments.

  20. nigel says:

    Some great photos there…

  21. Robin says:

    Thank you so much everyone for all of your wonderful comments. 🙂


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

