Cherry blossoms


cherry blossoms
I waited and waited for…
I am alone

~ Issa, 1813

I know I promised you some more from our bike ride on Saturday, but it’s been a busy day.  The photos in this post are from my visit to Lake View Cemetery on 24 March.  I had them ready in case I needed a quick post.  (Side note:  Can you spot the white cherry blossoms among the pink blossoms in the above photo?  I didn’t know you could have such different color blossoms on one tree.  Or do they turn white as they age?)

Texture added in Pixlr.

We had a dusting of snow overnight.  The snow continued well into the morning.  Winter is late to the party.  I hope spring returns soon.

Close-up of the white blossoms growing betwixt the pink flowers.

That’s it from the Bogs for today.  Thank you for visiting.  Sorry for the hit and run writing (short, choppy sentences).  Hopefully I’ll have time to write a little better tomorrow.

*Images 1, 3, and 5 all had effects added in Pixlr.

37 Comments on “Cherry blossoms”

  1. Anita Mac says:

    Looking forward to more from your bike ride, but I always love your cherry blossoms – the are just gorgeous!

  2. Rabbit says:

    I didn’t know you could have different blossom either – maybe there is a branch grafted on? We have an apple tree that produces 3 kinds of apples, but only because the original tree has two branches grafted on from other trees.
    We are still waiting for our cherry to blossom – for me it signals spring, and I am eagerly awaiting the flowers. 🙂 Our blossom always stays pink, btw.

    • Robin says:

      I don’t know, Rabbit. That’s why I thought too (that there was a branch grafted on). Whatever the reason, it was a surprising find.

      Thanks for stopping by. Good to see you. 😀

  3. niasunset says:

    So beautiful…. Thanks and Love, nia

  4. sdobbie46 says:

    I also noticed mixed colored blossoms on the trees this year. If you will look closely at the header picture of my blog (notesfromthepond.com) you will see one white blossom in the middle of a mass of pink blooms of a weeping cherry tree. That proves that we Buckeyes are unique.

  5. Anna Surface says:

    What beautiful photos… I love the blossoms and so serene and well… heavenly. I really like how you processed these, Robin. Do you use the glow effect? The reason I ask is because I like using the glow effect or something similar. The second to last of the close-up is outstanding! 🙂

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Anna. 🙂

      I usually use the Orton Effect (because I know how to do it in Photoshop) which does the same thing as the glow effect. Pixlr (online) has several glow effect options and I’ve started playing with those recently.

  6. Chloe says:

    oh my! sensationally beautiful!!

  7. boatacrosstheriver says:

    holy cow…every photo is a gem. just beautiful and you are a very good photographer.

  8. Joanne says:

    No apologies neccessary Robin, this post is beautiful! Were there really just three lone flowers at the bottom of the foliage on that tree? How unusual, and oh so pretty. Do they have a fragrance too?

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Joanne. 🙂

      There really were those three lone flowers. It was a surprising find. I didn’t notice a fragrance, but the daffodils were putting out so much perfume that they overpowered everything else.

  9. ~mimo~ says:

    amazing photos Robin!! So dreamy and evocative

  10. Frank says:

    Wonderful collection of the season!

  11. Great photos…
    My daughter in Central Mass has a snow/sleet mix yesterday morning, when the air temp at the ground level was 46…Odd weather.

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Marie. 🙂

      Yes, the weather has been very odd. It’s going to warm up again this weekend, then back to the 30s and 40s again at the beginning of the week.

  12. Oh, I love these photos, Robin. How crazy to have snow after so much warm weather.
    Hugs,
    Kathy

  13. ladyfi says:

    It’s cold and snowy here too – and we don’t have any flowers. So glad to see yours in full bloom. Your photos, as usual, are fabulous!

  14. CMSmith says:

    Sometimes nature does some unusual things. The white blossoms remind me of our tree that only had one blossom on the whole tree. Strange.

  15. giselzitrone says:

    Wie im Winter schönen Gruss Gislinde

  16. Gracie says:

    These are beautiful. I did spot the white blossom, at first I thought it was from a different tree, until I read your post. Great find.

  17. Sallyann says:

    What a beautiful pink hue, I’m loving the effects you’re adding, it’s very relaxing. 🙂

  18. What lovely photos and prose. Sigh…I wish the blossoms had waited just one more week. Maybe next time I will catch them around the tidal pool in Washington, DC. At least, I can bask in the ones you enjoyed. Did they smell nice?

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Scott. 🙂

      I’m not sure about the scent. The air was so perfumed with all of the flowers that were blooming, that I don’t remember specifically noticing the cherry blossoms. But the air sure did smell good. 😀


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

