Current events

Sunshine takes over after the morning clouds move out

I know some of my visitors like to see what’s currently going on around the pond so before we go back to Cleveland, let’s see what’s happening outdoors and close to home.  Spring here in the Bogs is slightly behind spring up in Cleveland.  And today doesn’t feel like spring at all.  It’s chilly (33 degrees when I went out for my walk this morning) and very breezy.  There is a Freeze Warning in effect for tonight, with a low of 26 expected.

The weeping cherries are in full bloom now, the branches filled with blossoms looking very much like a fountain of flowers cascading out of the tops of the trees.

Yesterday's view of the pond

The grass is greener and the trees are leafing.

It's not a pretty collage (it was hastily put together), but it does give you a few glimpses into what's currently happening in the Bogs. Click on it (or any of the photos) for a larger view.

Seed pods are forming on some of the trees.  The purple maple is flowering.  Clover has popped up all over the place.  The dogwood leaves are unfurling as it begins to flower. The winter pansies have made a comeback, the tulips are almost ready to pop open, and the puzzle M and I slowly worked on over the winter months has finally been completed.

Now that the summary of current events has been completed, how about a few more orchids?

Sometimes it seems as if it’s difficult to take a bad photograph of an orchid.  Only sometimes.  I know from experience that it’s not at all difficult.  I’ve used the delete button on quite a few.

As I experience it, appreciation of beauty is access to the soul.  With beauty in our lives, we walk and carry ourselves more lightly and with a different look in our eyes.  To look into the eyes of someone beholding beauty is to look through the windows of the soul.  Anytime we catch a glimpse of soul, beauty is there; anytime we catch our breath and feel “How beautiful!,” the soul is present.

~ Jean Shinoda Bolen

That’s it from the Bogs for today.  Thank you for dropping by and joining me on my various ramblings.  I hope your day has been filled with joy and beauty.

 

31 Comments on “Current events”

  1. I wasn’t prepared for the chill we were in for today (honestly, I forgot that they temperature was supposed to take a nose dive today). This morning, I deeply regretted putting both of my boys in shorts overnight, hoping that they weren’t too cold!! My son was so proud of himself this morning, he got himself dressed & ready for school all by himself — but he was wearing shorts and a t-shirt!! 😦 Gotta give him credit for trying!!

    • Robin says:

      I wasn’t quite prepared for it either, Holly. It was pretty shocking to feel the cold again after weeks of unseasonably warm temps. 🙂

  2. Lovely–I had not seen weeping cherries before. Thanks for the good thoughts about soul and beauty too. Ellen

  3. Maggie L R says:

    hoto, so idyllic, so warm.. unlike your current weather… hang in there, it will soon change again.

  4. I love your first photo of the sun shining on the tree…so pretty and peaceful!

  5. ~mimo~ says:

    beautiful! It seems that you have the perfect weather!

  6. Sallyann says:

    I don’t think I’ll ever tire of looking at your orchid pictures. Thanks again. 🙂

  7. Joanne says:

    It’s turned a tad chilly here too, Robin, but what can I say?….Winter is Coming! Lol. As always, the bogs are looking beautiful and I will never tire of your orchid photos, not ever! 🙂

  8. ladyfi says:

    Fabulous shots with great lighting!

    I hear you about the chill factor though… it’s sunny and cold over here.

  9. ceceliafutch says:

    Yes, the cold was a jolt after all the wonderfully warm weather we had last week. But your photos are still beautiful, and the orchids are exquisite! (I deleted a lot of mine, too.)

  10. aFrankAngle says:

    Wow …. lotsa green grass around the pond! Great capture of the tiger, the moon, and the stars around the pond too!!!! 😉

  11. Joni says:

    Love the photos…a favorite is the colors @ the orchid. Definitely Spring! Thanks for the recent “like”….

  12. tedgriffith says:

    Thanks for the beauty and blossoms today. We’re still waiting for spring to bloom. 🙂

  13. Patty Jones says:

    breathtaking pictures! 🙂

  14. I loved that quote about beauty and the soul… it really resonated for me today:) Thank you!

  15. I am going to go out on a limb and guess that the blue tiger is the puzzle? Because it surely didn’t match all of the luxurious nature you were sharing otherwise!


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

