Rising early for the bokeh

There were jewels amongst the fog and mist in the meadows early this morning.  It was worth getting up and out early.  It was worth the wet shoes and soaked feet.  As warm as it was, I could have (should have) gone barefoot.

There were all kinds of spider webs scattered throughout the meadows.  I’m sure they are there almost every day, but they are not nearly as apparent as when they’re covered with dew (or frost, but this has not been a very frosty season).

I almost picked up a couple of chicks today.  M didn’t seem to mind the idea too much.

I was at our local Tractor Supply store when I heard a woman squeal with delight.

I went to see what was going on, and there they were in tubs under warming lights.

Most of them were blonde, fuzzy, and oh-so-cute.

Chicks.  Adorable little baby chickens.  Or baby roosters, I suppose.  I’m not sure how you tell the difference when they’re that young.

I know pretty much nothing about chickens, or about raising chickens.  They had a book laid out for sale near the baby chickens that would have solved a lot of the mystery for me, but being unprepared to raise chickens at this point in time (especially with our upcoming travel and vacation plans), I resisted the temptation to bring home a couple of those fuzzy balls of cuteness.

Instead, I brought home a pair of boots for wading around in the soggy Bogs as well as some MuckBoot Camp Shoes.  The boots are cute and practical.  The camp shoes are not at all cute, but extremely practical for gardening or for slipping on when I want to go out early on a foggy, dewy morning to catch the bokeh.  They will may even come in handy on hikes.  It depends on how my feet feel about wearing them for long periods of time that involve a lot of walking.

Remember that at-home retreat I was going take this week?  I may put it off for a while.  I caught a cold virus that has been plaguing me all week, getting worse yesterday.  I feel awful.  This is not a good time for a cold with the weather so warm and beautiful.  It’s almost like having a summer cold.  Blech.  The coughing, the sneezing, the body aches, and the desire to sleep for long periods of time are just not conducive for… well… anything I had in mind for the next week or so.

They hyacinths are blooming

I had yoga plans for my at-home retreat, as well as long, wordless, camera-less, walks.  It’s hard to do those sort of things when the only way to describe how you feel is blech.  I’m going to put it off for a few days while I concentrate on getting well.

I reckon that’s it from the Bogs for today.  Thanks for stopping by and joining me on a walk around the dewy, misty meadows.  Please pardon all the sneezing and coughing.  Thank goodness this is not the type of virus that can be passed on through cyber-visits.

45 Comments on “Rising early for the bokeh”

  1. milkayphoto says:

    So sorry you are sick again! It has been a bad winter season…I am finally feeling better but have to knock on wood because I’m been here before only to have the congestion/runny nose/etc., all come back again.

    Love the last photo…

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Tracy. 🙂

      It’s not been a good cold/flu season. Maybe it’s the warm/mild winter and it didn’t get cold enough to kill off these viruses. Whatever the case, seems like a lot of folks have had a lot of colds lately.

  2. mike585 says:

    I like your images. 🙂

  3. Sallyann says:

    Wrap yourself up in a big cosy cardigan, it’s the best type of anti-virus softwear. 🙂
    Feel better soon. 🙂

  4. Oooohh, these are beautiful. Absolutely LOVE the first one!
    Hope you feel better soon!

  5. That bokeh is fabulous! As for the chickens, from my personal experience with the chickens that the neighbors HAD, I wouldn’t go near them with a 10 foot pole! Fleas, fleas, fleas and then more fleas. Chickens: Just say NO!

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Cyndi. 🙂

      Fleas?? Yikes! I hadn’t heard about that. Maybe I better go back to trying to find someone local who sells eggs. The woman we used to buy them from got rid of her chickens and I haven’t found anyone else nearby yet.

  6. Love the way the water drops glimmer. So cool.

    By the way, my Sara has wanted chickens for a long while. She wrote her architecture thesis on urban farming, and ever since the city began allowing chickens in the city for personal egg supplies, she has wanted them. I refuse to indulge her, asking, “What about next month or even 6 months down the road when you get sent to the Sudan or someplace like that?” “Oh, yeah,” she responds–like that had never occured to her. Yikes!

    Hope the rest of your weekend is wonderful, my friend.

    Hugs,
    Kathy

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Kathy. 🙂

      Well, one suggestion (which you and Sara might not like) is that when Sara does get the call to go someplace overseas, you could eat the chickens. That eliminate the need to have someone else take care of them.

  7. Ellen says:

    Get better soon!!!

  8. dragonfae says:

    Sorry your sick Robin. 😦 Babies of any sort are cute …. but they all grow up! And chickens can be a bit of a pain. My step dad has a few and there was one always in the house begging for food (she’d hop up and try to grab off your plate if you were on the couch) and another that would walk on the barbeque (yes, with hot coals going) to steal meat off the grill!

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, DragonFae. 🙂

      I waffle back and forth about chickens. I have friends with chickens who say, “you’ll love ’em!” And I have friends who have experienced chickens who say, “forget about it!” The ideal thing would be to apprentice myself to someone with chickens so I can learn about them, in depth, before making the decision to get a few of my own.

  9. boatacrosstheriver says:

    Feel better Robin!

    Thanks for visting my blog.

    Love that last picture with the fence and trees…

  10. Beautiful photos! If only I could find the motivation to get outside so early…

    And feel better soon! I’m right there with you on that flu thing 😦

  11. I miss my early-morning walks; just not possible with a toddler in the house who could wake up at any time…Thanks for sharing yours.
    Feel better soon – this weather’s too good to miss!

  12. Even “under the weather” you manage to capture and share such beauty! Feel better.

  13. bearyweather says:

    Thanks for sharing your nature jewels …
    I heard a sneeze while i was reading … “bless you”… hope you are feeling better soon.

  14. Deborah Lee says:

    I had that cold a few weeks ago. Curled up on the couch with my pink blankie, 3 boxes of Kleenex and 5 seasons of Upstairs Downstairs (we don’t have TV, and when I’m sick is the only time I miss it). It lasted about 8 days.

    You were wise not to get chickens if you don’t know anything about raising them. Read up on it first, and make sure your info is reputable – like the local ag extension service. A lot of the info being passed around on the net is bogus. It is more complex than you think. And there is no way to tell hens and roosters at a young age – even experienced chicken “sexers” are only 80% accurate at best. You have to wait until the combs start coming out at about 3-4 months.

    Feel better soon!!

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Deborah Lee. 🙂

      And thank you for the info on chickens. As I noted in an earlier comment, I don’t want to make any decisions about farm animals until I know more about them. I really should see if I can find a local farmer who will let me help out and learn a thing or two.

  15. ceceliafutch says:

    Stunning photography, as usual!

  16. Kathy says:

    Spiderwebs in dew are so lovely, and you’ve captured so many beautiful views. I do love your photography, Robin. I would love to plan more retreats. I plan them and then decide not to do them. Wishing you success in your retreat, whenever it decides to cooperate.

    • Robin says:

      Thank you so much, Kathy. It looks like we’re on the same page with the retreats. I plan, then decide not to do it. I plan again. And when the time is right, I’ll do it. 🙂

  17. Coming East says:

    Early morning walks are the best! You have such a good eye, Robin. Hope you’re feeling better.

  18. ladyfi says:

    All I can do is gasp in admiration at the beauty of your photos!

  19. Great captures, Robin! Love the first and last shots.

  20. James Dunn says:

    stunning shots, I feel cold just looking at them! Fantastic stuff

  21. Dana says:

    My grandma’s laptop was so slow this morning and was having a hard time loading photos. I was so excited that you might have photos of those baby chicks– maybe next time we’ll get to see some? 😉

    I really hope that the summer cold doesn’t last very long. Sending you healing thoughts and hopes for a speedy recovery!

    • Robin says:

      Sorry you had to wait for nought, Dana. I’ll be sure to get some pics of the chicks the next time I see some. They are so adorable I was regretting not having my camera along.

      Thanks for the healing thoughts. They worked. 🙂


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

