Quickening

The Lone Goose

The calendar may be insisting it’s still winter, but Spring begs to differ.  The acceleration of all things green and growing is incredible.  Last week there was not a bud to be seen on the daffodils.  This morning some of them were blooming.

I thought you all might be getting bored with the orchids so I decided to take a long, slow, early morning walk around the pond to see what’s going on.  As it turns out, there is a great deal going on.

We had storms during the wee hours of the morning.  Thankfully it was more bluster than bite.  There was a lot of booming thunder, flashing lightning, and a downpour so heavy I thought the raindrops must be the size of golf balls to be making so much noise.

Trees painted by Spring

The clouds cleared out early this morning.  One lone goose flew in, landed on the surface of the pond, and proceeded to announce his presence to all who would listen by honking continuously for the longest time.  A small flock of geese did a flyby, but didn’t land.  I tried to look big and menacing, waving my arms and warning them to go away.  It must have worked.  The lone goose eventually gave up and followed the flock.  Some of them must have ended up by the creek in the woods where they are more than welcome to hang out and call the place home.

All sorts of things are greening and flowering.  If this warm weather pattern continues, we’ll have leaves on the trees soon.

Sunrise

The maples are flowering.

Spring has returned.  The Earth is like a child that knows poems.

~ Rainer Maria Rilke

It was a noisy morning, the chorus of spring peepers rising and falling as they call in Spring.  Birds of all kinds were singing and calling and chattering, the red-winged blackbirds and robins being the loudest of them all, announcing to the peepers that Spring is here!  Spring is here!

Red-winged Blackbird calling

Spring work is going on with joyful enthusiasm.

~ John Muir

Bird & Buds

There is so much going on, I couldn’t possibly capture it all.  The weather is going to be lovely this weekend (sunny, in the 70s).  I expect I’ll be spending a good deal of it outdoors with the blooming flowers, the leafing trees, and the twitterpated birds.

Budding lilac

Thank you for visiting on this wonderful spring Friday, and joining me for a walk around the pond.  May your weekend be filled with spring magic and adventures.

Today's view of the pond

50 Comments on “Quickening”

  1. I love your bird and budding photos. Our lilacs are beginning to green. I photographed them 2 days ago, when they were closed buds, but today those buds are opening.

    Hope you have a warm and wonderful weekend in the Bogs, my friend!

    Hugs,
    Kathy

  2. Karma says:

    Thanks for this preview of spring! Funny for me to be saying that this day of “only” 50 degrees feels chilly! I think you are right – spring will definitely be bustin’ out all over very early this year.

  3. Sallyann says:

    Spring really is appearing everywhere, and its most welcome. 🙂

  4. […] of my favorite blogs, including Robin’s and Holly’s, have been proclaiming the joys of early spring and showing lovely signs of it.  […]

  5. Joanne says:

    Beautiful spring colours Robin!

    Have a wonderful weekend in the garden with the twitterpated birds. 🙂

    (PS. I hope this comment gets through. I’ve been having some issues with WordPress, as have many others, and can’t seem to log in using my Home Life Online account. Fingers crossed….)

  6. Joanne says:

    Hmm…okay, that brief comment went through okay. Now my little picture is all wrong. No, I have not become ill and turned green, nor do I wear a red cap! Guess how I’ll be spending some of my time this weekend!

  7. Just looked through the pictures of your last few posts that I missed while we were away, and they are beautiful! I love orchids, but find them difficult to photograph. You’ve done a great job!
    Nice to see spring arrive in the bogs as well 🙂

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Michaela. 🙂

      I was looking back at the first time I photographed orchids (2007) and I’m surprised by how much better I’m doing. I guess it’s true what they say about practice, practice, practice.

  8. niasunset says:

    WOW! I passed through the screen… took me in these beautiful landscapes… Thank you, with my love, nia

  9. Derrick Birdsall says:

    Love the color and mood of that first image.

  10. Thanks for that lovely walk around the pond!

  11. If it’s warm now, I wonder what July and August will be like? Florida weather? Love that first Canadian goose photo–stunning.

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Teresita. 🙂

      I was wondering about July and August, too. Then I decided to stop wondering and just enjoy the day as it comes. I can worry about the heat when it gets here (which will be this afternoon if we shoot up into the 80s as predicted).

  12. Kala says:

    Spring is everywhere in these lovely images, Robin!

  13. TBM says:

    Wonderful photos. I’m enjoying the early spring, but I’m hoping we don’t pay for it later.

  14. Now it’s my turn to say “You’re further along than we are!” My daffs are in bloom, but the lilac is still tightly closed.
    Enjoy the weekend!

  15. jane tims says:

    A very ‘spring-like’ post. I love the Redwing and the green buds on the twig. Jane

  16. aFrankAngle says:

    Although we await the final blast of winter, we hope it doesn’t damage the plants. Meanwhile, love the painted trees.

  17. munchow says:

    So many wonderful pictures. It’s really hard to pick a favourite, but I still I finally fall down on Trees painted by Spring. It’s just so different, which makes it very interesting. It’s a picture open for interpretations. And the colours are gorgeous – as they are in all the photos.

  18. How beautiful to experience an early spring on your blog:) We’ve still got threatening skies but increasingly warmer temperatures.. no sprouts yet, though…

  19. ladyfi says:

    I love it when the world quickens. Your photos are just glorious! How I long for spring to arrive here too.

  20. Dawn says:

    Isn’t it exciting? I was out today looking to see what’s coming up here. We’re behind you, but not far behind!

  21. nigel says:

    You always have such amazing lighting in your photos

  22. Kathy says:

    Nice goose. Nice Spring. Nice blog post. Your blog shimmers with light and spring energy, Robin. I always want to sit next to your pond and just Be.

  23. Beautiful colors! Love the first shot.

  24. David Hall says:

    Beautiful photos again Robin. Such wonderful colours and contrast.

  25. […] Quickening (bogsofohio.wordpress.com) Share this:ShareEmailFacebookStumbleUponTwitterDiggLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. Posted by Karen. Categories: Family & Friends, Grounding, Parenting. Tags: Maret. Leave a comment […]

  26. eof737 says:

    This collection is stunning! 🙂


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

