Of butterflies and snakes

We are like butterflies who flutter for a day and think it is forever.

~ Carl Sagan

(Texture added in Picnik)

There are a lot of butterflies in the glasshouse gardens at the Cleveland Botanical Garden.  I captured a few with my camera during our visit to the Orchid Mania exhibit.  I’ll bring you a few more butterflies along with some orchids soon.

And then there were two

(Warning:  Another garter snake appearance coming up.)

Garter snakes

I checked on the garter snake yesterday afternoon and found two where there had been one.  There may well be more than two as they nest in large groups.

Bella spying on the snakes

I’m wondering if we can somehow convince the snakes to nest elsewhere.  The nest is close to where the cats are trained to stay when they’re outside, and Bella has not overlooked that fact.  She’s very interested in the goings on of the garter snakes, and that has me somewhat worried.  My previous cat, CJ the Warrioress, was once bitten by a snake.  Venom was not the problem.  Infection set in pretty quickly and it was not a pretty sight.  Neither was the fun we had to go through to get antibiotics down her throat.  I’d rather not have to deal with that again.  I don’t think the cats would like it much, either.

Turtle in the pond keeping an eye on me.

I saw my first frogs and turtles of the season while out on my walk today.  The spring peepers are alive and well and trilling in the woods.  The fish are pretty active now, too.  I saw a lot of fish at the back of the pond, bass and bluegills.  Two of the bass I saw were over two feet in length. Looks like there will be some good fishing this year.

Today's view of the pond

I was surprised to find the mosquitoes are out already.  This may end up being a good year for the mosquitoes.  White Nose Syndrome has been found in bats in northeast Ohio.  Without the bats to keep down the mosquito and other insect populations, it could get buggy around here.

Orchids, to make up for the snake images.

That’s it from the Bogs on this summer-like Wednesday.  Thanks for dropping by.  It is sunny and warm enough to wear shorts today.  You’ll still want to wear boots or waterproof shoes if you’re going for a walk around the pond.  Even with all the warm, sunny, dry weather, it continues to be surprisingly mushy.  Thunderstorms are predicted for tomorrow.  Bring your umbrella.

37 Comments on “Of butterflies and snakes”

  1. Karma says:

    I’m loving all your creature photos, Robin. I was going to be thoroughly jealous if you were seeing butterflies outside already! I’m just loving this weather we are being treated to, and I’m quite jealous that you are hearing the peepers! I love that sound, but haven’t heard them yet.

    • Robin says:

      I actually did see a butterfly in the meadow the other day, Karma. I tried to get a photo, but I wasn’t quick enough. I love the sound of the spring peepers, too. 🙂

  2. Can’t believe you already have mosquitos. That’s too bad. I learned to hate them when we lived in Vietnam, I’m afraid. They eat me alive.

    Lovely photo, Robin. Happy Wednesday to you———–

    Hugs,
    Kathy

  3. niasunset says:

    Beautiful photographs… I loved them all. Thank you, with my love, nia

  4. Bo Mackison says:

    Ooooh, love the sound of peepers. [smiling dreamily]
    Hmmm, garter snakes. Well, better than under the porch steps where we’ve had them, but poor kitties. Is there a way to move snakes? Sounds kinda…hard.

    • Robin says:

      I think the kitties may have moved the snakes, Bo. I haven’t seen them the past two days and suspect all the attention they’ve been getting from us and from the cats may have persuaded them to move.

  5. CMSmith says:

    Well, I think snakes are kind of cool, but I understand that some places are better than others for them. Arthur was terrified of a turtle. I don’t know what he’d do with a snake.

    The turtle is cool. Good catch.

    I’ll bet this is a super cool time in the bogs.

  6. dadirri7 says:

    so much pleasure in your photos, those snakes look happy curled up together, i hope the cats stay away 🙂

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Dadirri.

      As I was just telling Bo, I think the snakes have found a new home away from the cats. That should keep everyone safe and sound. 🙂

  7. Tammy says:

    REally do those orchids grow there for you? I’m amazed. Your lovely Bella is so like my Gibbs that was hit by a car recently that she took my breath away.

    • Robin says:

      Oh no, Tammy. The orchids are at an exhibit at a botanical garden, grown in their hothouses. They would never grow for me. I’m dreadful with plants, although I haven’t killed my asparagus yet. lol!

      I am so sorry to hear about your Gibbs. I know how hard it is to lose a beloved pet.

  8. aFrankAngle says:

    Our early spring is bringing forth not only the botanical activity, but also the zoological.

  9. I couldn’t believe it was mid-March yesterday – my son kept saying, “But, it’s STILL Winter!!” They were both in shorts & t-shirts, played outside until bedtime!! We hit record high temps – 79 degrees!!

    • Robin says:

      lol, Holly! I keep saying that too. I can’t believe how warm it’s been. I hope that doesn’t mean summer is going to be horrid with heat and humidity.

  10. With any luck, Bella’s mere prescence will convince the snakes to move along…
    I saw the first turtle of the season yesterday…and sadly, was walking without the camera at the time. Soon, though, I’m sure to get a photo!

    • Robin says:

      I think you’re right, Marie. The snakes seem to have moved on. I’ll keep an eye out for them, but I suspect we managed to annoy them with our fascination. 🙂

  11. ladyfi says:

    Lovely shots! You’re so lucky to be enjoying spring already.

  12. Hmmm, we had a cat on our farm who was famous for eating snakes. I saw her more than once with a curly flailing reptile tail hanging out of her mouth while she gulped down the goodies. So, maybe Bella will be OK and maybe take her turn as predator 🙂

    • Robin says:

      My previous cat, CJ, used to eat snakes, Lynn. Until one bit her, and that was the end of her snake hunting career. I think Bella must have scared off this nest of snakes as we haven’t seen them for a couple of days. 🙂

  13. Margie says:

    The last time my cat needed antibiotics, my vet asked me if I would be interested in having the cat get a shot, instead of pills. I agreed, of course, and the cost for the shot was about the same as the pills.

    • Robin says:

      Good idea, Margie! I will keep that in mind if there’s a next time for antibiotics for one of the cats. Pills are so difficult to get down.

  14. I was in a museum once that had a butterfly room.. it was heaven being surrounded by butterflies and having them land on us!

  15. Sallyann says:

    I’ll bring my sunflower umbrella. 😀

  16. cidnlars says:

    What a beautiful butterfly!! …and 2 snakes! What a lucky day for you, thanks for sharing!!

  17. jane tims says:

    Hi. It is almost like seeing the future to read your post. You are quite a bit ahead of us in all things natural. We still have lots of snow! They have also found White Nose in bats in New Brunswick. Jane

    • Robin says:

      Hi, Jane. We’re actually a bit ahead of ourselves. I was looking back at last year’s posts to see how far ahead. We had no buds on the trees yet. The crocuses had just started blooming (they’re almost finished now), and we were still having the occasional snow flurry and snow storm at the end of March.

  18. […] Of butterflies and snakes (bogsofohio.wordpress.com) […]

  19. eof737 says:

    That was quite the snake… We see more of them in these parts lately. Must be our mild winter that got them out and about. 😉

  20. […] Of butterflies and snakes (bogsofohio.wordpress.com) […]


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

