Fast and not at all furious

Honey Creek. Reeds Gap State Park.

I’m in a bit of a hurry.  My day is über full, and not just with chores.  I’m going on a sort of Artist’s Date this afternoon which I hope will result in some lovely photographs.

I will tell you all about it next week. How’s that for a cliffhanger?  Not very exciting, I know.  It’s not like I go off on extreme adventures, zip lining, sky diving, and bungee jumping.  But it will be a change of pace from my walks around the pond or dips into the archives.

Fairy dust. (Post-processed in Picnik and Photoshop.)

We woke up to snow flurries this morning.  It didn’t amount to much.  The sun eventually nudged out the clouds and turned it into a very pretty day.

This morning's view of the pond.

Spring continues to assert herself in spite of the cold and snow.

Morning sunlight on the trees at the back of the pond.

Last night we had a visitor to the bird feeder:

It’s a dreadful photo, but it should be easy to tell that it’s a skunk.  The poor thing must be very hungry to be willing to scratch around under the feeder while the lights are on (we have motion detector lights that come on automatically when there’s, obviously, movement or motion).  She or he didn’t even notice when I opened the back door and stepped out to take a photo.  That’s just as well.  I’ve managed to go my entire life without getting sprayed by a skunk.  I’d like to keep it that way.

Back at Honey Creek.

Well, I’d better scoot.  Thank you for dropping by.  I apologize for rushing you through a post with odds and ends and no real connection between words and photos.  It’s that kind of day.  Happy Friday!

38 Comments on “Fast and not at all furious”

  1. Hope you have a great artist’s date and a wonderful weekend, Robin. Can’t wait to see your photos!
    Hugs,
    Kathy

  2. Dana says:

    I, for one, am looking forward to seeing the pics from your Artist’s Date. I’ll be on the edge of my seat until you return! 😉

    • Robin says:

      Oh gosh, Dana. It can’t be very comfortable sitting on the edge of your seat. lol! I hope my photos live up to your expectations. 😀

  3. milkayphoto says:

    Skunks are pretty much blind so having lights on or off doesn’t really matter to them. Each summer, we typically get a group (momma with young) that will visit our feeders nightly. The critters are smart and learn very quickly where to find food. Oh, and skunks will only spray when threatened and they give plenty of warning. So, no need to be afraid of them. They are more afraid of us.

  4. Have a wonderful escape to your artist’s retreat:) Looking forward to seeing what you come up with while there!

  5. I love the blue ripples in the water of Honey Creek Robin. So pretty.

    If you want the skunk to leave your yard you could send it (for a very long swim!) over to mine! Not that I want to be sprayed (!!) but we don’t have skunks over here, and they look so cute!

    Enjoy your uber-full day! 🙂

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Joanne. 🙂

      Skunks are cute, albeit smelly when they spray. When I was a girl an older cousin had a pet skunk that had been de-scented. It was so cute. I wanted one, too, but had to be satisfied with visiting my cousin’s skunk.

  6. Sallyann says:

    I have a busy day too today but since I’m up earlier than expected I’m taking an hour to do nothing before I start.
    Lovely smile from skunk picture, thanks. 🙂
    Enjoy your Artists Date. 😀

  7. maenamor says:

    great photo’s excellent colours.. have a great weekend

  8. Carla says:

    Wow- a skunk! We’ve had a possum visiting our back deck- for a while it was eating an orange every night! Plucked it from the tree him/herself! Lucky possum!

  9. dragonfae says:

    Skunks are neat little critters when you get to know them. As Milkay said, they are nearly blind and can’t see more than 12-18 inches in front of them. I used to sit and talk to the skunk family that came up on my mother’s back porch for the dog food they left outside.

    Have a marvelous weekend dear! *smooches*

  10. A pair of skunks once took up residence in the barn where my oldest daughter kept her horse. Whenever we came in, one of them would toddle out of his den, sniff the air to see if he knew us, and then wander off to eat the barn cats’ food. The only smelly incident came when he startled one of the horses, who stomped at him…
    He was startled, too…
    Have a great weekend – can’t wait to see where you’ve been!

  11. Karma says:

    Hope you had a wonderful adventure!
    How brave you are to step outside knowing there’s a skunk near by! It was perhaps one of the most miserable times of my life when my dog got sprayed a few years back, the week before Christmas. Not realizing what had happened, I let her in the house. It took the full week to fully rid the dog and our house of the smell.

  12. ladyfi says:

    Marvellous light in these shots.

  13. Kathy says:

    Glad you scooted out of the way of that skunk, but had a photo to show its white & black skunkness. Did you know that some Native Americans kept skunk in their medicine pouches? Very powerful spiritual medicine.

    • Robin says:

      I did not know that, Kathy. Interesting. And yes, I would imagine it IS powerful in many ways. 😉

      On a serious note, I did mean to look up Skunk and forgot all about it. Thank you for the reminder.

  14. Coming East says:

    Looking forward to more pictures, Robin. Isn’t spring just full of good ones? Hope you enjoyed your artist date. Mine usually take me to Talbots!

  15. Great photos, Robin!

    This is the time of year for skunks to roam around. I came face-to-face with one once; luckily it puffed up but didn’t spray me- I turned around and walked back the way I came, and we were both satisfied with the outcome 🙂

  16. Marvelous post, Robin. I love the broad view of the pond. We have nothing like that here in my neighborhood – it is all hills and valleys – but it reminds me of the wide open spaces when we lived in southern coastal Virginia. The water there reflected the light in amazing ways and everything was so beautiful and luminescent, just like your pond world. So lovely, thanks for sharing 🙂

  17. Marianne says:

    Hi Robin,

    I love the Honey Creek photos. Looks like a beautiful spot!

    You are a brave soul taking that photo of the skunk. lol!

  18. eof737 says:

    Lovely… all that moving water. 😉

  19. Again, I am struck by the wonderful color and the glow of your photos. Beautiful!


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

