Super Tuesday

The title for today’s post might lead to some disappointment if you’re here about things of a specific political nature.  I have one brief, general thing to say about politics and then I’m moving on.

Today is a big day in U.S. primary politics, particularly for the Republican presidential candidates, and Ohio is a big state for them (or so I hear).  Politics are the main reason I wouldn’t mind moving out of Ohio, although it’s unlikely to help.  Like the other states that have already been through this or are going through it today, we have been assaulted with political ads, many of them of the negative variety.  The phone has been ringing off the hook with robo-calls (why is it there is no Do Not Call Registry for political calls??), mostly from the local Tea Party asking us to vote no on the school levy because they apparently don’t think education and the future of our children is important even if they do tend to agree on some things with the folks from Restore Our Future (a super Political Action Committee supporting Mitt Romney).  Restore Our Future??  How is that even possible?  The future hasn’t happened yet.  How can you restore something that hasn’t occurred??  (This might be a good example of why we need to be supporting our schools.)

Dance, dance, dance

I am pretty much fed up with politics and the political climate in general.  I would love it if these folks would stop trying to insert themselves in my home through phone calls and political ads.  My home is a No Politics Zone. Send me a brochure outlining your plans and political beliefs.  If I’m interested, I will call you for more information or come to see you at your next speech/visit that takes place nearby. Thank you.

Waiting for the results.

Moving right along…  The photos are from the weekend, a weekend that did not involve politics, thank goodness.

Instead, it involved dancing, bowling, family, and fun.

We’re having wonderfully warm weather here in the Bogs today.  It was cloudy this morning, but the sun eventually made an appearance.  It will be warmer tomorrow.  I’m hoping to get out to the garden for a couple of hours.  There is a lot of work to be done in and around the garden before we start planting.

Yesterday's snow.

The snow has been slowly melting throughout the day.  There was a thin layer of ice on part of the pond this morning, but that was gone before noon.

That’s it from the Bogs for today.  Thank you for visiting.  Sorry about the slight rant.  Hopefully some of the photos made up for it.

Scenes from last night's sunset.

41 Comments on “Super Tuesday”

  1. Dana says:

    Days like Super Tuesday make me so happy to live in Canada. So, so happy. 🙂

    That’s a wonderful pic of the dancing! It looks like a scene from Moulin Rouge (only not so courtesan-y.) Looks like a great weekend, and gorgeous sunset shots, too.

  2. Anita Mac says:

    I am with Dana – thrilled that I live in Canada, although my neighbourhood was hit hard by the robo-calls that are causing some political scandal at the moment! Made we crazy – every day a zillion calls, made worse by the fact that I also spend part of my time working from home!

    Also love the dancing shot – very nice. The firey sunset mosaic is breathtaking. Well done.

  3. Kathy says:

    Is TODAY Super Tuesday, oh no, oh no? I love your attitude. All of it. And your family fun photos. All of them.

  4. Love it, Robin; I am so with you on the political scene and your comments made me laugh out loud more than once. I too went out into the garden today; the sun warmed up the beds enough to melt the snow and thaw the soil, so all of those chickweed seedlings got pulled while I enjoyed the sunshine. Spring is here, I think!

    • Robin says:

      Thanks, Lynn. 🙂

      I think spring is here too. I was just looking at the upcoming forecast and noticed a lack of snow. That’s a good sign.

  5. Ellen says:

    how annoying those phone calls are!!!
    today I had this argument with a radio taxi operator. I needed to go to a place, a waiting time, and come back to the original point. the operator asked me the number of my cell phone and I said I didn`t have one and asked him why on earth did I need a cell phone when I was giving him my office number? Finally, I phoned another company. Why was I so upset? because once they have your number you get phone calls and texts offering new services, at whatever hour!! even in the small hours !!! so I`m not giving my number any more.

    Beautiful pictures of your weekend !!! and today`s are great too!!! Hope the election passes quickly and you don`t get those annoying msgs any more!!!

    Have a fantastic day!!

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Ellen. 🙂

      I don’t give out my number anymore either, especially my cell phone since I’m on a pre-paid plan and don’t need junk calls using up my minutes.

  6. I thought about you earlier today as I watched the pundits speculating about Ohio. I can only imagine how bad it must have been there this week. Yikes!

    Like Dana, I, too, love the dancing photo. How lovely!

    Hugs,
    Kathy

  7. Anna says:

    Ditto on the politics. Those are great captures at the bowling alley! Snow? No snow in Kansas, just thunderstorms and tornadoes. I love scenes of sunset… sooo pretty!

  8. I’m so glad I’m not the only one who tries to avoid politics… lol… Wonderful selection of fun shots too Robin.. .

  9. dadirri7 says:

    yes, glad i live in australia 🙂 gorgeous photos!

  10. Bo Mackison says:

    So far no political phone call has found me in the desert. I think negative ads along with intrusive phone calls should be grounds for losing votes, not getting them.

    • Robin says:

      I agree, Bo. I wish the rest of the voters would agree with that too, so we can have reasonable discourse on things that matter rather than having red herrings thrown at us in the form of social issues.

  11. Politics is why I don’t pay attention to things that I should. I want to remain informed, so I filter what I expose myself to by reading my newspaper. We don’t watch TV and avoid seeing those negative ads. Thanks for the lovely family bowling pictures and great outdoor red sky scenes to brighten my day. 🙂

  12. TBM says:

    Looks like bowling fun! I’ve only been bowling a few times in my life–there’s a reason for that. I’m awful! But it is still fun as long I’m with people who don’t take it too seriously.

    • Robin says:

      I agree, TBM. I am a terrible bowler, but I always enjoy it because I never take it seriously. My bowling game improves when I’m with my granddaughters. There are never any gutter balls thanks to the bumpers. lol!

  13. Sallyann says:

    Go you ! 🙂
    I always find a good rant makes me feel so much better. 😀

  14. bearyweather says:

    Thanks for the rant … you ranted for me, too! And, i am sure there are thousands of people who feel the exact same way today.
    The dance picture is so sweet!

  15. aFrankAngle says:

    The collage is awesome. Interestingly, the bowling photos were a pleasant surprise. Regarding the robocalls, political organizations are exempt from Do-Not-Call protection … and surely I don’t expect politicians to sever that access point.

  16. Karma says:

    LOVE the little dance-arinas! Adorable! (but I guess you know I have a soft spot for dance!)

  17. eof737 says:

    Thank God that day came and went. Enough already!
    The vitriol gives me headaches. 😦 Well said, Robin

  18. Every single shot is my favorite! Love, love, love them all and I am sooo happy our primaries are over too!


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

