Blue and gold day

Cattails and reflections

It is a dazzling day here in the Bogs.  Sunshine, puffy white clouds, mostly blue sky.  There’s a slight breeze and the temperature is just chilly enough to be invigorating but not unpleasant.

The sky is the most amazing shade of blue.  The woods have red and golden hues to them.

The pond is a variety of colors depending on where you’re standing.

At the front of the pond (the area nearest the house where there is no shade).

At the back of the pond, near the woods, where the sunlight and shade bring out the gold and greens.

This is not the kind of day one should spend indoors.  Unfortunately, it was errand day for me.  I spent the entire morning and a small portion of the afternoon either in the car or inside.  Next time I’ll pick a rainy day for that sort of thing.

Gold in the meadow

We’ll be grilling veggie burgers for dinner tonight.  I’m going to take a sunset walk before our evening meal.  Feel free to join me from wherever you are and post about your walk tomorrow.  It will be nice to see the sunset from different perspectives.

Thanks for dropping by the Bogs today and meandering around the pond with me.  Have a great weekend!

32 Comments on “Blue and gold day”

  1. I especially love the third photo in this post–the gray/white of the trees, the orange of the undergrowth–beautiful. Hope you enjoy your walk this afternoon.
    Hugs,
    Kathy

  2. Karma says:

    A sunset walk sounds lovely, but it isn’t looking great around here for beautiful colors. Temps continue to be mild, so I really should try to get out. Your blue sky is gorgeous. I’ll be sure to post if, on the off-chance, my prediction is incorrect! 🙂

  3. Spent an hour and a half outside with the girl this afternoon..
    You gonna bring your camera, Grandmom?
    Yes.
    You gonna take my PICTURE?
    Probably… 😉

  4. Sallyann says:

    I like the water at the back of the pond, it’s a beautiful colour.

  5. bearyweather says:

    A sunset walk sounds wonderful … but, not tonight. It is cloudy, dark and snowy …. maybe the sun will show up sometime this weekend.

  6. The golden colors in the photos suggest warmth–even though I know it’s cold. Such loveliness outside your door–lucky!

  7. Ah, Robin, you caught the day exactly! We had the same kind of day here, I raked leaves from the garden beds and discovered a crocus about to bloom.

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Lynn. 🙂

      I keep meaning to look to see if there are any crocuses up and blooming yet. Thanks for the reminder. I’ll check the front garden today.

  8. Ellen says:

    Have a great weekend you too!!!

  9. Dana says:

    I hope the errands didn’t end up taking you *all day* today. The pond looks beautiful in the photos– curious that it looks so different from each end.

    • Robin says:

      They didn’t, Dana. In fact, some chores did not get done because I decided to spend time outside instead. No harm done. The chores are always there. 🙂

  10. The pond photos are breath taking….simple lovely.
    I went for a nice long walk in a nearby park today and actually saw 2 real bluebirds….we don’t have them near our house, so it was a real surprise to see them….almost felt like I was near the bogs… : )

  11. jane tims says:

    Hi. I love the colors in the water. The grape vine is like a flourish of music on the blue sky. Jane

  12. aFrankAngle says:

    You gotta tell me for my future reference – the image in your header is me! I love it … Please, please tell me!

  13. ladyfi says:

    Wonderful shots! It looks like a glorious day!

  14. Tammy says:

    My middle son’s school have the colors of blue and gold and they actually have a blue and gold day. I showed him this and he thought it was better than his blue face paint.

  15. So serene. I especially like the greens and golds in the shot at the back of the pond. I have a question, but I don’t want to post it here. Contact me at swurgler@smt-net.com . Just put re:question in the subject line, please.

    Sharon


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

