That was unexpected

According to the weather report this morning, it was supposed to be cloudy and in the upper 30s today with a slight chance of rain showers this afternoon.  I’d say somebody was mistaken.

It snowed and snowed and snowed all morning long.  We didn’t get much of an accumulation.  The ground is too warm.

I had planned to work in the garden in the morning.  With things beginning to dry out, it would have been a great time to cut down the asparagus ferns and finish the weeding.

Topsy turvy

Next week, maybe.  Sunday, Monday, and Tuesday look like they’ll be very nice (for February).

Eastern Bluebird

Unless, of course, the weather folks are wrong again.

There is nothing in the world more beautiful than the forest clothed to its very hollows in snow.  It is the still ecstasy of nature, wherein every spray, every blade of grass, every spire of reed, every intricacy of twig, is clad with radiance.

~ William Sharp

Yawn...

70 Comments on “That was unexpected”

  1. The birds look so beautiful against the backdrop of the snow..such remarkably vibrant colors…great shots!
    And the daily quote…I’m always amazed by the wisdom of the ancient ones….remarkable!

  2. cidnlars says:

    Bummer that you didn’t get a warm, dry day…but the snow makes for fantastic photos!! Very beautiful!

  3. Humbled Pie says:

    Great cardinal and bluebird catches…gotta grab that camera!

  4. Love the snow photos. Wish the forcasters would get it wrong here, so we could get more than a dusting this winter.
    Enjoy your weekend and stay warm!
    Hugs,
    Kathy

    • Robin says:

      Thanks, Kathy. I hope you get some snow soon. I thought maybe you’d get some from this round since this is the system that dumped all that snow on Denver. It was supposed to go south of us.

  5. Now I’m really going to worry about all those little bird guys! That blue clothespin is quite perfect for the chilly scene

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, PhilosopherMouse. 🙂

      Somehow those little bird guys manage to survive our winters. Between the feeders and the meadows, they find plenty to eat around here.

  6. wonderful quote by William Sharp. The bluebird was singing you a song!

  7. jakesprinter says:

    I love your Entry my friend
    and I love to invite you here
    http://wp.me/p1Dwwo-qx

  8. I’d hate to have to sacrifice a planned day in the garden for any other reason than snow 😉 Was the snow, and these amazing photos worth the sacrifice, Robin? You have the most beautiful visitors to your garden. 🙂

  9. Kala says:

    Such beautiful wintry images Robin! I love the photo of the clothespin!

  10. jeanne says:

    Incredible photos…the eastern bluebird is one of my favorites!!! Thank you for sharing your unexpected winter wonderland!

  11. The little bluebird looks as though he was yawning quite hugely! In fact, the idea that he was yawning made ME yawn! I would say that your photography is quite evocative!

  12. jenna says:

    birdieeeeeeees!!!

  13. Bo Mackison says:

    Lovely captures of the cardinal. Love the reds so bright against the snow, they are at their prettiest in winter white.

  14. ladyfi says:

    Wow – what amazingly lovely snowy pictures! Hurray for snow – I do love it!

  15. nigel says:

    lovely magical photos

  16. Kel says:

    unexpected but you made the most of it anyway 🙂

  17. Gilraen says:

    This birds are so brightening up the day, just by being there. Wonderful!

  18. TBM says:

    Are they ever right? It snowed in London last night.

  19. jane tims says:

    Cardinals again! You are so lucky. I love the blue clothespin! Jane

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Jane. 🙂

      I think the cardinals must be making up for giving me such a difficult time last year. Or else the neighbors haven’t been putting food out for them.

  20. Karma says:

    Love your bright cardinal against the snow. And how nice to have a bluebird! Since they are called “eastern” bluebirds I should have them too, shouldn’t I? But I never seem to see them 😦

    • Robin says:

      Thanks, Karma. 🙂

      It took a while for me to see the bluebirds around here. Once I did, I started seeing them everywhere. They flit around a lot, and seem to like the shadows when they’re near people.

  21. Ellen says:

    beautiful pictures …

  22. I guess Mother Nature had other ideas. What a beautiful surprise! (For me anyway 😉 )
    That first photo is stunning! ♥

  23. I’m totally jealous of the bluebird…we never see them on the island.
    That’s my favorite kind of snow…pretty when it falls, but doesn’t pile up on the ground!

  24. Sallyann says:

    With all your pretty bird photos, I think the second picture matches your title the best. 😀
    Lovely, all of them. Thanks. 🙂

  25. Chloe says:

    beautiful photos

  26. Fantastic photos – this is one of those posts for which there should be a “love” button instead of a “like” button!

  27. bearyweather says:

    Well, picture #1 of the cardinal and evergreen tree make for a perfect 2013 Christmas Card 😉

    The yawn picture is precious … I noticed the birds were extra cooperative lately, too. I think they were well fed and it was too cold to do much … or posing for me was their way of saying thank you for the seeds.

  28. That cardinal in an otherwise toned-down world really draws the viewer’s eyes. The off-center placement in the first photograph is especially effective.

    Steve Schwartzman
    http://portraitsofwildflowers.wordpress.com

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Steve. 🙂

      That’s what makes the male cardinal so special during the winter months. He’s such a bright spot of color in what appears to be an almost black & white world.

  29. eof737 says:

    The touches of color in the the midst of all that snow is beautiful. 😉

  30. Wonderful images Robin! Birds and snow are a great combination 🙂

  31. I love the simplicity of the first two photos.

  32. Really like the color on that first one!

  33. Dana says:

    Sounds like that groundhog was correct, after all! It’s so nice to see all of the shots of that male cardinal, especially since he was so elusive before. Beautiful!

    • Robin says:

      Well, he was half-correct, Dana. We’re still in the cold/snow – warm/sunny pattern that we’ve been in throughout the winter. It was sunny and warm the other day. It’s snowing again today. Keeps us on our toes. 🙂

  34. Carla says:

    The cardinal photos would be lovely on holiday cards! Enjoying your snow photos – we won’t see that here!

  35. Nice. LOve the cardinals.


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

