Six more weeks

Quail Hollow

So.  Punxsutawny Phil saw many shadows this morning and has proclaimed that we will have six more weeks of winter.  The question is:  What winter?

It’s another unseasonably warm day here in the Bogs, albeit a little colder than yesterday.  The sun has been hidden behind a heavy cloud cover.

We’ve had an extraordinary number of visitors to the bird feeders today.  I don’t know if it’s the warm weather drawing them out or if the birds know something about this next six weeks of winter that we don’t.  Perhaps they’re fattening up for something to come.

I took a few photos of the birds flying in and out and around the feeders, but haven’t bothered to upload them.  I may have to take a break from the camera for a week or two.  Hmmm… maybe a day or two.  A week or two seems like too much.  I do need to get caught up with photos already taken, some shot quite a while ago.  It’s also time for the monthly back-up.  At the beginning of each month I back-up my photos from the previous month by burning them to a DVD.  There are probably better ways to store photos (prints come to mind), but it’s quick, easy, and the best I can do for now.

Today’s photos are from Sunday’s hike at Quail Hollow when the sky was blue, the sun was shining, and the ground was frozen.

Even the water in the marshland was frozen on the surface.  The above and below photos were taken on one of the boardwalks that was covered with ice at the time.  Slippery going, that’s for sure.

Not much else going on here today.  It’s a chore day.  Laundry, a little cleaning up in the kitchen, a run around the house with the vacuum.  The mild winter has me tempted to start spring cleaning soon.  If it should get warm enough to open the windows, I’m going to be painting the living room and dining room.  It’s time for a change.

That should do it from the Bogs for today.  Thanks for visiting.  With nothing much happening, I’m at a loss for words and something to write about.  That’s okay.  It’s nice to have ordinary days doing ordinary things.  How was your day?  Ordinary or extraordinary?

38 Comments on “Six more weeks”

  1. My day, too, has been ordinary–doing laundry here, as well. Now I need to follow your good example and take a run around the house with the vacuum.
    Hugs,
    Kathy

  2. Anita Mac says:

    Love it – you are so right – 6 more weeks of what!!! Not sure that we really had winter here either – guessing on giving up for this year – maybe next year will be a true winter season. Happy early spring!

  3. Love that first image!! The shadows and light are awesome.

  4. Well, it just figures! 6 more weeks of winter and here I was, looking forward to a short 42 days left!
    I wonder what type of seeds those white fluffy poofs are for – I shot some of the same this fall at Bonneyville Mill, IN and they have intrigued me ever since.

    • Robin says:

      I’m not sure what they are, Cyndi. I came around a corner on the trail, saw them, oooh’d and aahhh’d, and laughed when my husband said he knew I’d want to stop and photograph them. Anything fluffy or shiny is guaranteed to catch my eye. 🙂

  5. I’m certainly ready for winter!!
    I’ve always wanted to take pictures of whatever those thingies are in your 2nd and 3rd photo, but have never seen them around here.

  6. Our Rhode Island groundhog didn’t see his…maybe I should plant my peas now?
    Great photos!

  7. aFrankAngle says:

    Yesterday was an ordinary day, and today could be more of the same. However, starting this evening our weekend will have activities!

    Yep … 6 more weeks of winter implies winter is in progress! It sure has been mild. Meanwhile, the opening pic is awesome. Have a good weekend.

  8. jeanne says:

    I do think the birds are intuitive…yesterday the yard and feeders were being attacked by dozens of visitors…Today, the yard and feedres are extremely quiet…I can hear them talking to one another but they are staying put in the trees. We are expecting a rainy weekend. hmmmm

  9. munchow says:

    These are some amazing photographs. In particular I love the two first pictures of the series. Wonderful light in the first, which reminds me of Eugene Smith’s Walk to Paradise, but of course very different. The second has amazing colours and a great tight composition. The whole series fits well together. Good work!

  10. Indeed, what winter? I’m not complaining too much though as we’re getting a break on the heating bill. Maybe your birds are harbingers of a little more excitement – the weather has been so boring! Love the way Quail Hollow looks in your photos. My ordinary day has two slow cookers simmering away with food for tonight and the weekend – it smells so nice but would smell even better if there was a storm brewing outside. 🙂

  11. Marcie says:

    Six more weeks of which winter? The one that we’re not having this year?? Gorgeous images!

  12. Margie says:

    Great photos of your winter that isn’t. The ground hog in our part of the world says 6 more weeks of winter. If it is anything like last year when we had the heaviest snow in April, winter is going to be another 10 or 12 weeks long!

  13. We are asking the same question, opposite season ~ what summer? (Mind you, I’m not complaining!) I’ve just taken some early morning “mist” photos, which I haven’t looked at yet, but hope they captured the beauty as I saw it myself. If they turned out as I hoped, I’ll add them to my blog. The eerie morning mist doesn’t usually begin until around April.

    I love the image you portray, hiking during the winter, on frozen ground. Quail Hollow looks like a lovely hiking area. 🙂

  14. 6 more weeks of spring-like temperatures. I am so tempted to put in some early vegetables!! I love how delicate those seed pod photos are–nice lighting too. ps My daffodils are up 9 inches.

  15. cidnlars says:

    Love the yellow behind the fuzzy things…very appealing to me. Great shots!

  16. jane tims says:

    Hi. The first Clematis shot, with the whispy seeds, is ethereal. Jane

  17. eof737 says:

    The clematis look so exotic… 6 more weeks of? 😦

    • Robin says:

      That’s what I’m wondering, Elizabeth. From the looks of things, it will be six more weeks of warm followed by cold followed by warm. Pretty much what it has been this winter. It’s not so bad, really. 🙂

  18. Dana says:

    We’ve had about 4 days of winter up here, so I can only imagine what 6 more weeks will bring. 🙂 I really like the pics of the fuzzy seeds in this post– not sure what they’re called, but they sure are beautiful!


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

