Peaceful

A peaceful winter's sunset by the pond

This week’s WP Weekly Photo Challenge is Peaceful.  It’s a beautiful word:  peaceful.  Tranquil, calm, not involving violence.  Peaceful happens frequently here at Breezy Acres, especially by the pond, in all seasons.  (Violence happens too, but that’s not today’s theme.)  Winter’s peace has a hush or stillness to it that you don’t find during the more active seasons.  Once the storms that deliver the snow and arctic temperatures move through, sounds are muted and the landscape is softened and whitened.  Even the occasional traffic noises from the road seem like they come from faraway.

Winter waits.  Even on its brightest, sunniest days.  It waits.

Winter hibernates deep in the forest.

Winter, even when it’s late in arriving, asks us to wait, to rest by the fire, to go within.

All but the first photo in this post are from a cross-country ski trip M and I took last winter where we were awed by the peace of winter in the deep woods after a heavy snowfall.  These photos have been waiting, hibernating in the archives.  I’ll have some new photos of our new snow for you soon.

Winter isn’t all about waiting.  Winter is playful, too.  I’ve learned that getting outside and enjoying winter keeps the winter blues at bay.

After a day of invigorating play with winter, when the sun goes down, rest is easy and deep.

Thanks for stopping by the Bogs today.  Wishing you a peaceful, restful, and playful winter (or summer for those of you enjoying it) season.  🙂

46 Comments on “Peaceful”

  1. QuoinMonkey says:

    Beautiful, Robin. We have next to now snow on the ground in the Twin Cities. There are days I miss Winter….because of the peace & silence.

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, QM. I miss that peace of winter, too. I also think it’s difficult to acclimate and accept winter when it keeps changing from warm to cold the way it has been this season. I keep reminding myself that Mother Nature knows what she’s doing, and this warm-cold winter is probably benefiting the land and the outdoor creatures. 🙂

  2. carlaat says:

    Thank you for the sunny snow pics, and the peaceful glowing pond. I think that’s one thing we don’t get here in “winter” – the waiting and the going within – it’s Carnival time and already some of the spring blooming magnolias are flowering! But as I look out at green grass, red peppers, gold cosmos, purple petunias, orange aloe flowers and pink roses, I will not complain! 🙂

  3. Bo Mackison says:

    You’re making me re think my travels. But then your snow looks so pure white, not bitter cold at all. Glad you pulled those out of last years archives — it’s a gorgeous ski view.

  4. The second photo is stunning, Robin! I love winter———–

    Hope you are having a great weekend. Stay warm, my friend.

    Hugs,
    Kathy

  5. milkayphoto says:

    You really make winter look and sound wonderful but for those of us who live through it each year (and is it just me or are they getting worse as time goes on?) it is not that enjoyable! MUCH better to live it in photos than in person!

    • Robin says:

      I rather enjoy it, Tracy, even when it’s terribly cold. I lived in the south (South Carolina and Georgia) for a while. I found the winters there to be depressing. Usually rainy. The summers were awful (hot, humid). I like being in a place that has such obvious change in the seasons. Plus I like to play in the snow. Not that you can’t play in the rain, but snow (to me) is much more fun. 🙂

  6. Oh my goodness, that first one is so, so beautiful! I didn’t wantto scroll down to the rest, but I did it anyway… and it was worth it, because i LOVE the snow pictures, too!

  7. eldy says:

    Always such lovely photos and yes peaceful very peaceful! On dial-up internet the wait is tiresome but oh my, so very worth it each and every time. Thank you for sharing.

    • Robin says:

      Thank you so much, Eldy. 🙂

      I try to resize the photos to help with the wait time for those with dial-up. I’m also cutting back on the number of photos per post (although sometimes I forget that and keep adding them!). I really appreciate your visits and your patience.

  8. Dana says:

    The first photo feels like the very embodiment of the word “peaceful”– so beautiful!

  9. The first photo I love. I’d call it tranquil. But that is peaceful. Nice images Robin.

  10. All so beautiful..but a winter’s sunset…so touched me!!

  11. Great work! I love all of these pictures but the second one is my favourite! x

  12. bearyweather says:

    Love the warmness of your sunset over the pond. Your words capture the peacefulness of the winter woods very well … sometimes it is so quiet here in the winter you would think that you were the only living thing in the area .. there is such a muffled hush about it all. And it is very peaceful.

  13. Chloe says:

    mesmorising photographs, perfect for the challenge

  14. TBM says:

    Great photos! Make me miss the snow and winter.

  15. cidnlars says:

    Wow, great shots!! The first one is magic…just perfect.

  16. maenamor says:

    brilliant… love the photo’s

  17. So lovely…nothing beats the serenity of a snowy wood.
    I have to admit, I’m missing it this year!

  18. Hallysann says:

    I’m still undecided about snow, it’s very pretty and good to play in but last year it froze and stayed around for so long as ice that I don’t think I’m looking forward to any this year.
    Your photos are wonderfully peaceful though, so maybe if we do get some I’ll go and play with the camera.
    Thanks for sharing your peaceful snow. 🙂

  19. i enjoyed looking at the snowy scenes.I especially like that last sepia-colored one. We haven’t had any snow yet. I do want one deep snow this winter. 🙂

  20. David Hall says:

    Beautiful and peaceful images. Love the split tone effect on the first and last photos.

  21. nigel says:

    Your lighting is always perfect

  22. jakesprinter says:

    Great entry for the challenge
    Ilove to invite you here http://wp.me/P1Dwwo-jn

  23. eof737 says:

    All gorgeous shots… 🙂


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

