Old Man Winter returns

Old Man Winter made a blustery return overnight.  We woke up to white-out conditions this morning.  The frenzied wind is blowing snow in all directions, drifting is some areas and little to no accumulation in others.  Lake effect snow will kick in tonight and we never know what that will bring.  It’s usually an all or nothing situation with lake effect.

I captured this poor dove at the feeder trying not to get blown off by the 30mph winds.  It took a little work in Photoshop, playing with the contrast, to be able to see the bird through the blizzard.

The words on the photo opening this post are my second small stone for today.  My first was a silly thing about scrambled superstitions, this being Friday the 13th and all.  The second small stone dropped into the river that is my mind shortly after I finished posting the first over at my other blog so I decided to see what I could do with it by combining the words with the photo in a postcard format.  The wind kept me awake for a good part of the night, and it really did sound like a giant on the rampage out there.  Still does.  The wind hasn’t let up yet.

Blizzard at the back of the pond

As of this writing, I have not stepped outside today.  I did stick my head out the door to take a few photos.  It’s cold.  Bitterly cold with the kind of arctic wind that bites right to the bone no matter how many layers you’re wearing.  I will go out soon just to meet my personal commitment to continue getting outside everyday, but I don’t expect I’ll stay out long.

Snow blowing

Plans for skiing, sledding, or otherwise enjoying the snow have been put on hold until tomorrow.  It won’t be nearly as windy.

Blizzard in the pines

Thanks for dropping by and watching the snow with me.  The best place to watch is from the patio doors in the dining room.  The wind tends to drive down at the back of the pond, near the entrance to the woods, where it is turned into snow dervishes who then twirl across the pond.  It’s particularly interesting to watch this phenomenon today because the pond thawed, and I’m used to seeing the snow dance over the frozen surface of the pond rather than waves whipped up by the wind.  Cold, yes.  But still beautiful.

Have a great weekend!  🙂

55 Comments on “Old Man Winter returns”

  1. What a dramatic change in weather….wow, powerful storms there! And wonderful photos…

  2. anhinga says:

    The art you (and nature) make with shades of white is beautiful.
    Stay warm.

  3. cfbookchick says:

    You are soooo good at this!

  4. Kieran Hamilton says:

    Great pictures! Wouldn’t mind some snow over here.

    • Robin says:

      Thanks, Kieran. I’d try to send you some, but the last time I sent snow to a friend the snow outstayed its welcome. Sometimes it doesn’t know when to leave. 😀

  5. Love the snow photos, Robin, We had a bit of the white stuff here, as well, last night, Stay warm, my friend.
    Kathy

  6. Kala says:

    Love the composition of and tones in that last photo!

  7. You’re the second to post a winter storm.. looks like the cold weather is finally arriving around the country. We’re supposed to have a temperature drop tomorrow. Your poor little dove… but what a stunning photo!

  8. ladyfi says:

    Keep warm! Love the white-out shots. My world looks very much like yours!

  9. Gilraen says:

    Poor little bird, but it does make an awesome picture

  10. aFrankAngle says:

    I too found a sadness in the bird pick … then the blurs seemed so fitting for the day, only to end with a clear image. Well done.

  11. Karma says:

    I hope you weathered the storm okay! I’ll be interested to see your photos of how much snow you ended up getting. Still waiting for the first “real” snow of winter around here.

  12. Bo Mackison says:

    Yep, It looks like winter. Don’t blame you for taking photos from protection of your home. Make me cold just looking–very effective!!!

    • Robin says:

      It sure took its time getting here, Bo. I don’t mind the snow as much as I do all the rain we’ve had. It’s much more fun to play in the snow than in a chilly rain. 🙂

  13. Marianne says:

    Great photos, Robin. I especially like the Dove. I wonder how birds and animals experience a blizzard. Would it be anything like how we experience it.Hmmmm…..

    • Robin says:

      Thanks, Marianne. 🙂

      Interesting musings. I’ve often wondered the same thing about the birds and other animals having to weather the storms and the seasons.

  14. Brrrrr! Poor dove – I hope she found enough food to keep her warm… Wonderful pictures – I felt a little chill from looking at them. 🙂

  15. Wow! ♥ Wish I was looking out your window right now.

  16. Kathy says:

    I would like to be sitting with you watching the storm, as long as we didn’t have to go anywhere. What a sweet sad little predicament for that dove. I am glad you were able to Photoshop her through the snow. That lake-effect snow is somethin’, isn’t it? It’s fun knowing that we share that, too, Robin.

    • Robin says:

      Come on over, Kath. We have a fire going and it’s nice and toasty in here, watching the snow fall. The lake effect snow will be with us until sometime tomorrow, so they say. I know I’d enjoy your company. 🙂

  17. Ah, you are far braver than me! I went outside only to take my dog out – not brave enough to remove gloves for photos! Brrrrrrrr. . . My idea of winter sports is a game of chess in front of the fireplace.

  18. cidnlars says:

    Great shots Robin….I particularly like the ones with the bird. So beautiful!

  19. Marcie says:

    I’m so missing old man winter. Lucky you!!

  20. ceciliag says:

    Fantastic pics, i loved them. We all got a bit of a plastering! But it is calm here now, i hope your weather will settle again soon! love celi

  21. carlaat says:

    beautiful blizzard pics, especially since I can enjoy them without being cold! Stay safe and cozy! 🙂

  22. My God, that does look cold – that poor bird! We’ve just had our first cold snap this year – in January – quite unbelievably late for Britain after the 3 very severe winters we’ve just had! I prefer a mild winter actually, even when it is dull and damp – I’m just soft I suppose!
    Carol.

    • Robin says:

      Our weather has been waffling back and forth, Carol. Warm for a few days, then bitterly cold for a few days. It’s hard to get used to it, one way or the other.

  23. eof737 says:

    WoW! That is a blustery return… So far, we have only had a whimpering return but I’m not complaining as the warmer days are allowing me to get some fresh air outside without dressing like an Eskimo. Dear Robin, I haven’t forgotten you as I’m still catching up on blog posts I missed when I was sick… 🙂

  24. Anna says:

    Wowzers! What fabulous blizzard photos and quite lovely. Well, in our area, we’ve had unseasonably warm temps and no snow. I’ve been waiting so I can get some snow pics!

  25. milkayphoto says:

    WOW – did it ever! And you captured it wonderfully which is extremely difficult to do!

  26. Dana says:

    Brrrr!! I hope the blizzard has let up a bit since this post and that you’re able to get out more today. 🙂

  27. giselzitrone says:

    Wundeschöne Bilder Robin Grüsse dich ganz Herzlich und wünsche dir einen schönen Tag Grüsse an dich Gislinde. http://zitroneblog.wordpress.com

  28. […] Old Man Winter returns (bogsofohio.wordpress.com) […]


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

