Winter

Let us love winter, for it is the spring of genius.

~ Pietro Aretino

The gazebo and main trail at Quail Hollow State Park

Most of the snow is gone now.  The first photo is from my walk back to the woods here at Breezy Acres a day or two after our first big snow of the season.  The warm (for January) sunny days have banished most of the signs of winter.

The Woodland Trail. Quail Hollow State Park.

You can still find patches of snow and ice here and there.  The pond remains icy on the surface, but I’m not going to show you that right now.  (If you REALLY want to see a photo of the pond, visit my small stone for today here.)  M and I went for hike at nearby Quail Hollow State Park this morning and I’d rather show you some of that.

On the Peatland Trail, making our way over the icy boardwalk towards the woods.

It’s been a gorgeous day with lots of sunshine.  The light in the forest was amazing, almost a little magically misty from the thawing of the snow and ice.

A patch of snow

The trails at Quail Hollow are very familiar to us.  We’ve walked them many times.  Yet it looks different to me each time we visit.

Today’s hike took us almost twice as long as usual.  I’m still easing back into things so I took my time.  Plus it was so lovely out there I saw no reason to race through the woods just to finish the hike.  Where’s the fun in that?  Unless, of course, your purpose is a cardio workout.  Then you should speed along fast enough to get your heart rate up.

That’s it from the Bogs for today.  Thank you for stopping by and joining M and me on our hike.  I’ll bring you some more photos from Quail Hollow over the next few days.

Letting Go:  Of the need to hurry, hurry, hurry.  I think all that rushing around speeds up time.  I’m going to practice slow living for a while.

41 Comments on “Winter”

  1. It’s been really warm here, as well. Can we say, “Climate change?” Hope you are having a great weekend, Robin———
    Kathy

    • Robin says:

      It sure does seem like climate change, and may well be, Kathy M. But then again, we’ve had mild winters in past years. It could just be the year for it. 🙂

  2. Yes, I think we can definitely say “climate change”… I was out riding my bike yesterday! The selfish part of me rejoices, the globally conscious part of me is wringing her hands…

    These pictures were lovely, Robin. I particularly liked the last one. I’m so glad to hear you’re back up and out on the trail!

    Melissa

  3. Bo Mackison says:

    Yes, slow living. I am a big fan of a no hurry policy. Slow looking for photography. Slow food for healthier eating. Our society is so busy rushing around they’ve lost their scruples! Nice arch — what a lovely park.

  4. QuoinMonkey says:

    S-L-O-W and steady, like the Turtle. Beautiful photos.

  5. We have had lovely warm temperatures here as well… beautiful walking with you!

  6. Martina says:

    Thanks for the snow. We are having such a mild winter when all the press told us otherwise. Huh? Thanks for the walk.

  7. Dana says:

    Slow is the way to go, I think. Beautiful photos from today’s hike!

  8. Kel says:

    astonishing
    how fast that snow goes
    we sure chose the right year to have a white xmas
    last year

    would have been a write off this year

  9. cfbookchick says:

    What a beautiful hike!

  10. I got cold just looking at the first photo. It is beautiful and so are the rest.

  11. Hallysann says:

    I’m with you on the slow walking through such beautiful surroundings, if I really wanted a cardio workout instead I could have stayed home and run up and down the stairs. 😀

  12. Corina says:

    I’m glad someone is having warm weather. I’m not. Not too much rain but very cold, and foggy, and icy. Not very conducive to much activity. On the bright side, I’ve been cuddling with my Kindle a lot lately.

    Once again, you’ve brought us along on your day. Thank you for that. That’s the only way I am going to see the outside world til it warms up here!

  13. carlaat says:

    Love the plan for slow. And I know what you mean about a familiar trail being different every time! 🙂

  14. cidnlars says:

    Beautiful! I love the one with the person walking ahead…very cool!

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Cindy. 🙂

      That’s the reluctant M (my husband) who doesn’t want to appear on the blog, but it’s okay if I make sure people really can’t see him all that well.

  15. ceceliafutch says:

    Beautiful photos. Yes, I think we are seeing climate change. Still, it is beautiful.

    • Robin says:

      Thanks, Cecelia. 🙂

      I’m pretty sure we’ll see a real winter at some point this season. I just hope it isn’t in March and April when we’re all ready for spring.

  16. Pat Bean says:

    As always, I enjoyed our walk together.

  17. Kathy says:

    Beautiful winter photos! You always inspire me, Robin. Always.

  18. nigel says:

    You really do make your photos look magical.

  19. Love the long winter shadows in *The Woodland Trail. Quail Hollow State Park.* Gorgeous photos! (It’s more fun to hike than to get on the treadmill…)

  20. […] Winter (bogsofohio.wordpress.com) […]


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

