Insomnolence

Dream walking through the woods

I’ve been sleeping surprisingly well since the anti-viral medication kicked in.  The pain meds help with sleep, too.  They knock me out, but I still dream.  The dreams have been a mixture of the wonderful, the wild, and the weird, which is the usual way of dreams except when they’re nightmares, but then, those are not dreams at all, but little horrorfests that take place in the darkest nights of the mind and soul.

I have had dreams about family members, particularly my youngest brother.  They were more like memories than dreams, of when he was little.  He is in need of lots of thoughts and prayers right now so it’s good that some of those thoughts happen even in sleep.

Last night sleep was difficult to come by, and when I did sleep it was in short bursts, broken up by long periods of insomnia.  It’s funny how the nighttime hours stretch out into forever when you can’t sleep.

Thoughts rolled through my head, one after another, although I’m not sure they should be called thoughts.  Words, words, words, flashes of images, more words, all a-jumble and a-tumble, twirling around like the snowflakes outside being blown hither and thither by the gusty wind.  A mind-blizzard mirroring winter conditions.

In the dream meadow

Outside the snow fell in big, fat, wet flakes but had stopped before I went to bed last night.  Perhaps it was the time I spent watching the snow before settling into bed that caused all the twirling and whirling in my head.  The wind howled and boomed.  A cold front moved through and was already off the east coast by the time I gave up on sleep and decided to begin my day.

Looking for the way through. Could there be a good night's sleep on the other side?

Everything in the way of snow coming to us now is courtesy of Lake Erie and the lake effect snow machine.  Cleveland is supposed to get 8-12 inches.  Being in the secondary snowbelt, you never know what we’ll get when the lake effect squalls come to visit.  Sometimes more.  Sometimes less.

This morning's view of the pond

Not much else going on in the Bogs today.  Just watching the snow fall as I continue to rest and recuperate.  We’ve had some pretty good squalls this afternoon, creating almost white-out conditions.  The snow is mesmerizing when it’s dancing with the wind.  Thank you for visiting and watching the snow with me.  🙂

In the beginning, there was a dusting...

Letting Go:  Of catching up.  Instead, I’ll start from where I am.  I’m hoping to let go of the insomnia as well, but we all know that any pressure to do so will only result in the insomnia digging in and staying for a while.  Instead, I’ll use that wakeful time as meditation time.  And if all else fails, I’ll read.  I can always use some extra reading time.

... and then the squalls came.

41 Comments on “Insomnolence”

  1. Bo Mackison says:

    Meds can really screw sleep cycles. Good idea to not fight it. Reading always puts me to sleep, especially tech manuals about Lightroom or a camera manual!!! LOL.

  2. Again, I love the title, Robin! Another word I hadn’t thought about in a while. Hope you get some rest tonight, my friend!
    Hugs,
    Kathy
    P.S. I love the paragraph describing your dreams–nice writing.

  3. Kel says:

    ‘in the beginning there was a dusting’
    what a magical shot – despite lack of sleep you still have a good eye
    if you don’t have to be at work or show up anywhere else, hopefully you can catch up with some daytime naps

  4. Love these. Great composition.

  5. Try drinking some earl grey tea about 15 minutes before you lay down. Be sure to use one that has only tea and 100% bergamot oil in it. I use Bigelow brand. With honey if you like.
    Also an apache tear, howlite or sodalite (gemstones) under your pillow will help with insomnia as well.

  6. Kieran Hamilton says:

    Awesome pics Robin, I hope you manage to get your sleep sorted out soon!

  7. Kathy says:

    Meditating with you, friend. Letting go of what is no longer needed…

  8. “Letting go of catching up..instead I’ll start from where I am”. Yes, Robin, we can all learn from that!

    Thinking of you as you watch the snow fall, and recouperate. Get Well Soon! ❤

  9. cfbookchick says:

    Oh, I am so glad that you are getting some rest – this kind of weather is perfect to get that rest in too. I particularly love the sweet little holly leaf with the delicate snow cupped in the leaves.
    I will make sure that I include a prayer for your brother when I talk to God.
    God speed to you and yours, Robin.

  10. Oh, I just hate it when I can’t sleep. What do you do, get out of bed or stay there and hope that you fall asleep at some point? I tend to stay in bed… at least until 4 or 4:30 am, then I might as well get up.
    Thank you for showing us some snow pictures today (although the pond view was enough to make me dizzy 😉 )

    • Robin says:

      Sorry about that, Michaela. I was trying for a shot that pictured how I felt on that anti-viral medication. If it made you dizzy, it worked. 😉

      I usually stay in bed, hoping for sleep, especially if it’s cold. We keep the heat turned way down at night so getting out of bed isn’t an attractive option. But if it goes on for too long, I eventually do get up and read or meditate or sit with the cats.

  11. love the abstractness of the first few images. Very cool.

  12. Beautiful images, as usual, Robin. In the dream meadow is especially lovely. Feel better and sweet dreams.

  13. Dana says:

    I’ll send some healing thoughts to your brother along with the healing thoughts I’m still sending to you! I wish the very best for both of you.

    I admire your commitment to letting go of catching up. I struggled with this one myself over the summer, as work prevented me from checking my inbox for days, weeks, or months at a time. When I was finally able to confront my stuffed-to-the-brim inbox, part of me wanted to start up again from where I was at the present moment, but I knew how many beautifully written posts I would be missing if I didn’t “catch up” from where I started losing track. I ended up resolving the dilemma by catching up only on my favourite blogs and starting afresh with everything else in my inbox. Good luck letting go of that urge to backtrack. When it comes to sleep, especially, there’s no real way to catch up on lost zzzzs or stockpile extra zzzzs for the future. 🙂

    • Robin says:

      Thanks, Dana. I appreciate that. 🙂

      To be honest, I do the same thing, catching up only on my favorite blogs and letting the rest go. I can’t seem to come up with an efficient way to keep up with everything blog related.

  14. Hallysann says:

    Lovely dusting of snow on the holly leaves, and the berries in your heading picture are beautiful.
    If I can’t sleep, which I have to admit is very rarely, I conciously stir all the thoughts in my head like stiring a cup of tea with a teaspoon, then when everything is caught up in the whirlpool I just let it drain away. I’m not sure where it goes … I’m usually alseep before it all drains away. 🙂

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Hally.

      I love your idea of stirring thoughts around and letting them drain away. I’ll give that a try the next time my thoughts are keeping me awake. 🙂

      • Robin says:

        Ooops. That should have been “Hally.” I’ve fixed it. Sorry about that. That’s what happens when I rush through things. (Making a mental note to slow down!)

  15. TBM says:

    Thanks for the photos! I wish you well and I hope you can conquer your insomnia.

  16. Marcie says:

    As I scroll down and thru your images..I feel as if you’re taking me thru your rem dream cycles. Feel better soon…

  17. Marianne says:

    Great photos of this wintery weather, Robin! Hope you’re feeling better soon. I too, will keep you and your brother in my thoughts and prayers.

  18. Gracie says:

    Great captures despite that insomnia. Hope the new year brings you lots of good rest and peaceful nights.

  19. Adding my healing thoughts and prayers for you and your brother to the ones above…

    I often play catch up with blogs, too. Your photos are very dreamy – especially love “In the beginning, there was a dusting…” We’re still waiting for snow here!

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Barbara. 🙂

      It’s been an odd winter, hasn’t it? We normally have a good snowpack by now, and have been out cross-country skiing a few times. I’m thinking someone ought to invent mud skiing or mudshoeing. Seems more appropriate. 😉


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

