Awe

Awe enables us to see in the world intimations of the divine, to sense in small things the beginning of infinite significance, to sense the ultimate in the common and simple, to feel in the rush of the passing the stillness of the eternal.

~ Abraham Joshua Heschel

This little flower surprised and awed me last spring.  It’s probably been residing in the meadows near the pond the entire time we’ve lived here, but I never noticed it until I started going outside and walking the same paths day after day.

Happy Saturday!  I hope your weekend is filled with awe and good surprises.  🙂

19 Comments on “Awe”

  1. Kathy says:

    I hope your weekend also has moments of awe, Robin. Blessings…

  2. What a startling blue they are. I found this little blue-eyed grass in the woods behind my home and transplanted it–then it multiplied quite nicely. However, I can’t grow it here in sandy soil. Nice photo for a cold winter day!

  3. Just a beautiful photo. What a sweet little flower. 🙂

  4. That flower is awefully amazing, isn’t it? Hope you are enjoying your weekend with your family. Stay warm, my friend.
    Kathy

  5. I think it’s so startling blue because of the way you’ve captured it in photograph… perfect!!

  6. jane tims says:

    Hi. This is one of my favorite flowers. The blue is beautiful in your photo. Jane

  7. How pretty! Is it blue eyed grass??
    A wonderful week-end to you. too!

  8. bearyweather says:

    I found the same blue-eyed grass for the first time about 2 years ago. I am sure it had been growing here way before that. My camera has awakened me to so many new things.

  9. Awwwe- I just love those Blue-eyed Grass flowers! Great shot. And Heschel is one of my favorites. Happy weekend to you too!

  10. Marcie says:

    Spring – aah yes…I remember that season..:-)! What a wonderful sweet image!

  11. Robin says:

    Thank you so much everyone. 🙂

    For those that asked, yes it is blue-eyed grass. Pretty little thing, isn’t it?

  12. carlaat says:

    Love blue eyed grass. Love the name and the flower and how it really does seem to sit atop a stalk of grass. Thanks for sharing this spring pic, Robin! 🙂


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

