Retrospective Part 2

On the rails in Marietta

I got to thinking after posting yesterday that I should have mentioned that the photos I’m picking are not necessarily photos I deem to be some of my best.  When I decided to do this, I concluded that the best approach for me would be to choose images that are either my favorites or I just plain like for some reason or another even though they may not make a top ten favorites list.

Dogwood evolution

I have such a difficult time with the idea of “best” when it comes to images (or art, for that matter).  Anyone’s images, not just my own.  My taste changes all the time.  What speaks to me one day may be silent the next.

Frilly fire tulip

Going through the archives, I don’t remember taking much time with some of these photos.  I took so many images this past year that many languished in the archives, sad and neglected.  Well, okay.  Maybe they aren’t sad.  Some look quite happy.  They’re just waiting.  Patiently.

All aglow

The happy couple

Mama Bird

The rain of the past few days has finally moved on.

Looking out the kitchen window on a rainy Wednesday afternoon.

The rain took the darkness and the clouds with it.

Looking out the dining room window as the clouds start to clear on a Thursday afternoon.

We even saw the sun for a little this morning.

Sunshine lighting up the trees at the back of the pond on a Friday morning.

It is cold outside, and the clouds have come back.  Lake Erie likes to keep us under a cloud cover for a good part of the beginning of winter.  I’ve noticed we do see some sunshine in the morning and often again at sunset during this period.  You have to be paying attention if you want to see the sun this time of year.

That’s it from the Bogs for today.  Thank you so much for visiting.  I am once again falling behind in returning those visits, and hope to catch up with you all next week.  I have scheduled some posts for the weekend.  Have a wonder-filled weekend and I’ll see you next week.  🙂

40 Comments on “Retrospective Part 2”

  1. obrienspix says:

    Wonderful shots.

  2. Bright, shiny photos are a balm on a cold, grey day…

  3. Gracie says:

    Wonderful photos, Robin! Love the colors.

  4. Gosh, I love the frilly tulip image! Hope you have a great weekend with your family, Robin.
    Kathy

  5. Oh, wow, gorgeous photos. My favorite is the dogwood one. Just beautiful. I love the soft light, the detail of it, and yet the softness too. Perfection. 🙂

  6. Great shots, I like your work 🙂

  7. Dana says:

    Beautiful as always. Happy weekending to you and your family! 🙂

  8. Not the best? Robin, I would love to achieve the level of your “not the best” work. On the other hand, I can fully understand holding oneself to one’s personal standards. And your work is wonderful!

  9. cfbookchick says:

    Such a collection of beautiful images! My favorite is “Looking out the kitchen window on a rainy Wednesday afternoon.”

  10. cidnlars says:

    Love the flower shots!! Beautiful!

  11. dragonfae says:

    I too really like the dogwood. 🙂

    Have an awesome weekend with the family! 😀

  12. MORE gorgeous photos! 🙂
    Love the dogwood and “all aglow”, but my absolute favorite is the “looking out the kitchen window” ♥

  13. aFrankAngle says:

    Great pics for the gloomy day. Meanwhile, off to the shower. 🙂 … thanks for the morning treat!

  14. Karma says:

    Your view of the pond is just gorgeous; I love the color of the trees and the way the pond looks like glass. Beautiful.

  15. munchow says:

    What is best? I think it changes over time. And really one needs not pick out the best when they are all as good as this. Of the ones you show here, still, the “All aglow” is one of my favourite, such a delicat beauty. Also the last “Sunshine lighting up the trees” is gorgeous, lovely light and a great compisition.

  16. carlaat says:

    Today the dogwood and the dandelion spoke to me. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

  17. Corina says:

    Beautiful. Thank you for taking us along on your trips all year and for letting us peek at the parts of your year you didn’t previously share with us.

  18. Judy says:

    Beautiful shots. You make a good point that rainy day photos can be lovely; that we don’t always have to think of fair weather for shooting.

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Judy. 🙂

      I like all kinds of weather, although it’s not always easy to shoot on a rainy day. I usually end up with raindrops on the lens.

      Thank you for stopping by and commenting. I appreciate it.

  19. jane tims says:

    I love the ‘rainy Wednesday afternoon’! Jane

  20. milkayphoto says:

    “All Aglow” and the Red House image are wonderful!


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

