Looking for more hours in the day

Frozen feather

The craziness of the holidaze has officially slammed into me today.  I’ve been moving along, thinking I had everything scheduled and in order and this was going to be a piece of cake this year.

Instead I find myself running behind, pretty sure that I’m going to eventually pass myself somewhere along the way and wonder who that crazed woman is I just cruised by.

Things are not really out of control just yet.  Otherwise I wouldn’t be sitting here working on today’s post.  That might not be true.  I might be sitting here procrastinating because that’s often my reaction when I start to feel overwhelmed.

We’re having an early Christmas celebration this year.  The kids and grandkids will all be here this weekend.  It will be fun.  So here’s what I’m going to do…

I’m going to chill for a minute.  Take a few deep breaths.  Relax.  Release the feeling of stress I am creating for myself.  Just…  let go.

There.  That’s much better.

Now I’m ready to get on with the rest of my to-do list.  I bet I’ll have most of it finished before Thursday.  I usually do finish up ahead of time which is nice because it gives me time to sit back and relax.  So why the stress and panic?  Who knows.  Habit, I suppose.

Thanks for dropping by the Bogs today.  Sorry if it seems a little hectic.  I’ll be back to normal soon.  I hope your holiday preparations — if you’re in the midst of holiday preparations — are smooth and easy.

55 Comments on “Looking for more hours in the day”

  1. I know the feeling, Robin. I think I, too, often stress out of habit. Sad, isn’t it? Hoping you have a more peaceful week to come.
    Kathy

  2. Stefan says:

    Excellent pictures, as always 🙂

  3. ceceliafutch says:

    I love the color! Great post. And I really like our header . . . it’s new since I was last here. School is out so I’ll be back more often now. 🙂

  4. intomind says:

    Wow, these pictures are so cool!

  5. bearyweather says:

    Really cool! If I had ice formations like that around here, I think I would call in sick and hangout with my camera all day … it looks like so much fun, I am envious.

    • Robin says:

      Thanks, Bearyweather. 🙂

      In a way, I did call in sick. I spent more time hanging out with the ice and camera than doing stuff I probably should have been doing. Oh well. The ice doesn’t last long, and the other stuff didn’t seem to suffer for the waiting.

  6. Dana says:

    Well, at least you’re getting a head start on your “Letting Go” resolution! Letting go of stress should be so easy, but why does it usually feel so difficult? Good luck getting everything prepped in time for the weekend– I’m sure you’ll do just fine! 😉

  7. The textures, colors, and reflections in these pix are amazing ( and chilling..brrrrr…freezing a moment in time) Good job

  8. Me, too!!! The last couple of days have been just crazy here, and very little of it had to do with the holiday craziness. There’s so much I need to do, and a few things I WANT to do, but I don’t know where to find the time to do it all…. no wonder I’m passed out cold on the couch by 8:30 pm!
    Gorgeous pictures, Robin. I love the frozen lines and patterns.

    • Robin says:

      Thanks, Michaela. 🙂

      My husband has this idea for a 28 hour day, but I don’t quite understand what he has in mind. I ought to give it a try for a few weeks (once I figure it out).

      • Hmm… not sure what I would do with a 28-hour day, even though I NEED more hours in the day. I think I’d much prefer being able to stop time around me when needed 🙂
        Sorry I’m so far behind on your blog. Trying to play catch-up with everyone today.

  9. That feather pic is just stunning. And the last photo–how cool!–looks like a ballerina.

  10. Dad says:

    LIKE THE DEW ON THE GRASS AND THE FLASH OF YOUR CAMERA IT WILL ALL BE GONE
    AND YOU WILL WONDER WHERE DID IT GO LIKE THE PEAL OF THUNDER ROLLING AND
    FADING INTO THE PAST.

    RELAX AND PEACE OF CHRIST BE WITH YOU. DAD

  11. cfbookchick says:

    Oh! That glorious gorgeous Blue! I could bury myself in these photos for hours just for the beauty and for the peace that the blue gives me.
    I hope you get a few moments to just breathe…

  12. aFrankAngle says:

    The blue looks great … and it is calming (although icy). Good suggestions as well. After two days of work, I can’t recommend it as it takes away from the things I enjoy the most.

  13. ehpem says:

    Lovely blues, great ice, fantastic feather, terrific lines like stranded beaches seen from the air.

    And, you know the grandkids could care less about how organised/prepared/etc you are, they will just be happy to be there and to be starting the holidays.

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Ehpem. 🙂

      You’re right. The grandkids won’t mind a disorganized mess at all. In fact, my house is likely to look like that within a few moments of their arrival. lol!

  14. kerryl29 says:

    What a terrific series of abstracts. Bravo!

  15. dragonfae says:

    When you figure out how to get those extra few hours, share with me will ya? Been trying to figure that one out for months now. 😆

    Have a wonderful early holiday with the family Robin! *hugs*

    • Robin says:

      Thanks, DragonFae. 🙂

      As I was just mentioning to Michaela in a comment up above, my husband has an idea for a 28 hour day. If I ever figure it out, I might give it a try. I’ll let you know how that works out. (Not well, I suspect. lol!)

  16. I can’t imagine someone who can create such a place of calm with photos could get stressed! But hoping you get lots accomplished today!

  17. Sounds like you’re in a good place – you remembered to breathe, and let go…
    Thanks for the reminder.

  18. TBM says:

    It’s good that you remember to take deep breaths. Good luck with everything! This is a crazy time of year, but don’t forget to enjoy it!

  19. Gracie says:

    I’m not feeling the holiday craze yet, but I’m sure it’s just around the corner. Love the photos, especially the “Frozen feather” one. Great composition, the deep blue color and the reflection of the feather.

  20. David Hall says:

    Love the contrast between the white feather and the deep blue background in the first photo.

  21. Joni says:

    Beautiful photos with which to take a “visual” break…and, thanks for the “like”!

  22. Breathe deep. Go to the mat. The photos are beautiful. Everything else will fall into place . . . Peace . . . (it’s working for me 🙂 )

  23. skip704 says:

    Your abstract images are beautiful. I love the shade of blue…very soothing.

  24. jane tims says:

    Hi Robin. When we were kids, we used to use those flats of new ice as windows in our snow houses. You have captured their fragility, perhaps a metaphor for our own. Jane

  25. Robin says:

    WordPress seems to think the comments are closed on this post, a small glitch that is making it impossible for me to reply to the rest of the comments. So I’ll try this as a work-around…

    Thank you Jane, Carolyn, Lynn, Joni, David, Gracie, and TBM. 🙂

  26. carlaat says:

    Nice to see ice – we won’t see much of that here in NOLA! Enjoy this weekend with your family! 🙂

  27. Kathy says:

    I think a lot of people can relate to what you’ve described here. I like where you said it was “habit” to stress. And yet you are easily calmed, too. I think it’s important that we can express all of what we feel and perceive without feeling that we’re somehow “wrong” for being stressed. I find myself being better able to be with whatever a person is feeling these days without wanting to change it. (Ummm, well, not always…)

  28. Excellent picture , art of nature , like the colours !


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

