Frosted Queen Anne’s Lace

In the sheltered heart of the clumps last year’s foliage still clings to the lower branches, tatters of orange that mutter with the passage of the wind, the talk of old women warning the green generation of what they, too, must come to when the sap runs back.

~ Jacquetta Hawkes

The grim frost is at hand, when apples will fall thick, almost thunderous, on the hardened earth.

~ D. H. Lawrence

How can those who do not garden, who have no lot in the great fraternity of those who watch the changing year as it affects the earth and its growth, how can they keep warm their hearts in winter?

~ Francis King

I’m still sorting through the photos from last Saturday morning’s walk through the frosty meadows.  The little Christmas lights (bokeh) continue to surprise me here and there.  The golden light from the sun (and the “open shade” white balance setting on the camera) really helped to bring out the sparkle.

Queen Anne’s Lace is a beautiful summer flower that also shows off its beauty in the winter months.

I tend to photograph these a lot in the winter.  I think that’s because they still look like flowers, especially with raindrops, frost, or snow settled in and on them.

There are snow showers in the forecast for today, but no sign of it as of this writing.  The Lake Erie snow machine will be cranking it out.  From what I’ve seen and read, most the snow will head east so I don’t expect we’ll get much in the way of accumulation here at Breezy Acres.

I’ll be up in Cleveland tonight where it is more likely to snow.  Let’s hope the snow showers aren’t too bad.  Last year around this time M and I were up that way and just missed getting stuck in Cleveland for hours while the snow squalls had traffic stopped.

That’s about it from the Bogs for today.  Thank you so much for dropping by, and for all the lovely comments I’ve been receiving lately.  Hopefully I will get caught up with everyone soon.  Have a great weekend!

46 Comments on “Frosted Queen Anne’s Lace”

  1. Denise says:

    Oh my, stunning photos of nature, just gorgeous!

  2. Wow…the definition in the designs of the frost are magical!….I can see why you like photographing them. Isn’t it interesting that there is such beauty in something that we might just cut off or dead head….as you say….”the hugeness of the ordinary.”..and learning how to see things with “new eyes”…thank you for helping my eyes see such beauty.

  3. rachel jane says:

    I have just started to play around with dew and water droplets on plants. I think it is so beautiful. It doesn’t snow where I live, in Australia – I would so much like to be able to capture snow on plant like you have. Very beautiful.

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Rachel Jane. And thank you so much for stopping by and commenting. I appreciate it. 🙂

      Dew and water droplets are as good as frost, in my opinion. especially if you have some spider webs to go with them. 😀

  4. Beautiful!!
    Would you believe we had TWO frosty mornings here this week? I only went outside to take pictures on one morning, though. Our frost wasn’t as pretty as yours, either.

  5. Kel says:

    always enjoy these plants when you share them
    something we don’t have here, so a bit exotic

  6. Kel has just confirmed for me what I had suspected, we don’t have Queen Anne’s Lace here in Australia. Isn’t it just beautiful though? And the way the frost clings to it. So delicate.

    Enjoy your weekend, Robin. 🙂

  7. Tammy says:

    Been loving these frosty photos.

  8. Skip220 says:

    Lovely images, especially the last two. We had light snow here east of Cleveland this afternoon as I took my walk in the park, but no real accumulation yet. we have had so much rain this year, but so far, no real snow. All very unusual.

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Carolyn. 🙂

      When we were at A Christmas Story House the tour guide mentioned that in 1983 (1982?… the year the movie was made) Cleveland did not get any snow during the month of January. It was cold, apparently too cold to snow.

  9. I know this might sound crazy, but I can’t wait for it to snow here. Stay warm, and good luck with the weather.
    Kathy

  10. Kala says:

    Gorgeous tones, light, and bokeh in these images of the frosted Queen Anne’s Lace.

  11. Excellent images bringing out the season’s beauty! Great job, Robin!

  12. Just beautiful…
    Got up this mornig, expecting frost…and found instead MORE RAIN…
    *sigh*

    • Robin says:

      Thanks, Marie. 🙂

      It’s been bitterly cold here (in the teens this morning). But we have another warm-up on the way later in the week, bringing with it MORE RAIN.

  13. Karma says:

    Are the photos at the top also Queen Anne’s lace, or just the last couple of shots? I’ve seen a lot of that plant at the the top on my walks in the woods and wondered what it was. I love your header photo! Reminds me of one I took a few blog posts back! 🙂

  14. bearyweather says:

    You sure have been blessed with a lot of beautiful frost this year. We are in limbo here .. just a dusting of snow and cold temperatures. It is not Fall, but except for the cold nights, winter is not really here, either. (I love it this way- no shoveling, clear icy lakes, and good roads)
    Don’t rush the snow … it will be there soon enough and probably over-stay it’s welcome.

    • Robin says:

      So true, Bearyweather. But I’d rather have snow than rain, and we’ve been getting an awful lot of rain lately. We have another round coming later this week. It’s so mushy outside, even with the freeze we just had.

  15. Kathy says:

    How I love Queen Anne’s Lace when it gets all dried and frosted and even when snow decorates it like frosting on cupcakes. I am never satisfied with my winter photos, though. You’ve done a darn good job of capturing their beauty, though.

    • Robin says:

      I think your winter photos are beautiful, Kathy. Why aren’t you satisfied with them? I know it’s difficult to capture some of the beauty of winter (the shimmer, glitter, and sparkle, for instance).

      • Kathy says:

        OK, maybe I’m sometimes satisfied. But there also often seems to be that disconnect because the sparkle & shine doesn’t sparkle and shine as beautifully as the eye sees it. Maybe that’s it!

  16. Norm says:

    I’m still wondering how Queen Anne’s Lace got designated as a weed. Just not right. I love seeing them in the summer and just as much in the winter poking up through the snow. You’ve done a wonderful job of capturing their frosty beauty here Robin. Nice job.

    I recall when you were going shopping for your new camera but don’t remember ever hearing what you settled on. Maybe you could drop me an email about make, model and features… or maybe just a product link.

    • Robin says:

      I would agree with you, Norm, except that Queen Anne’s Lace is a big pain in the tokus to pull out of the ground once it’s well rooted in the garden. It’s one of my favorite flowers, but not when it’s growing in the veggie garden.

      I’ll email you about the camera. 🙂

  17. Ronja says:

    Oh I love the pictures!

  18. It’s amazing how beautiful they are even in their last stages of life. Nice photos, Robin.

  19. ElizOF says:

    Your frosted shots are magnificent. 🙂

  20. Stunning! LOVE the bokeh.

  21. […] Frosted Queen Anne’s Lace (bogsofohio.wordpress.com) […]

  22. krismerino says:

    So beautiful. I love Queen Anne’s Lace, and these photos are just gorgeous.

  23. […] white” nature photography, explore Robin’s post on frosted Queen Ann’s Lace in Life in the Bogs. To read a beautiful modern fairy tale about the Queen of Air and Storm, visit Elizabeth […]

  24. […] Frosted Queen Anne’s Lace (bogsofohio.wordpress.com) […]


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

