The hugeness of the ordinary

My yoga practice was teaching me how to pay attention to my everyday life in a way that was beneficial to myself and those around me.  I was getting a glimpse of the hugeness of the ordinary, the sacred beauty of the everyday.

~ Rolf Gates and Katrina Kenison, Meditations from the Mat

I read that yesterday and thought, “Yes!  That’s it!”  I have struggled with describing what a daily practice has done for me over the past year (and 70+ days), whether that practice is stepping onto the yoga mat or stepping outside every day.  The quote I began this post with sums it up well with “the hugeness of the ordinary” and “the sacred beauty of the everyday.”

Although I didn’t have those words for it until coming across them yesterday, that is what I have learned, and felt become a part of my daily practices.  The hugeness of the ordinary.  The sacred beauty of the everyday.

That is an amazing payoff or gift to be given simply for honoring a commitment to get outside every day.  It is akin to being given new eyes.  And now I cannot imagine not going outside every day, not experiencing the ordinary and the everyday with new eyes.

Since today is my birthday and everybody knows birthday wishes are extra special, I want to make a wish for you:  The gift of new eyes  so you, too, can see and experience  “the hugeness of the ordinary, the sacred beauty of the everyday,” with a daily practice of some kind.  Step outside, make a gratitude list, take up mindful cooking or cleaning or anything you can think of that you can practice every day.  Go out and discover for yourself “the hugeness of the ordinary, the sacred beauty of the everyday.”

And if you should take me up on it, please come back and let me know how it’s working out for you.  I know it can be a struggle to honor a long-term commitment like that, an everyday practice.  But we do that sort of thing all the time without thinking too much about it when we do our daily chores or go to work.

It is another gray and cloudy day here in the Bogs.  In case you’re wondering what it looked like around this time last year, you can find photos in this post.  We usually have snow by now.  The only snow I’ve seen lately has been falling on my blog and not in the Bogs.

Well, I guess that’s it from the Bogs on this date which will live in infamy.  Thanks for visiting.  I’ll bring some flowers with me tomorrow.  The LovelyMan (aka M) gave me some for my birthday.  🙂

57 Comments on “The hugeness of the ordinary”

  1. milkayphoto says:

    Aw, Happy Birthday, Robin! I think you’ve already received the very best gift! 🙂

  2. Happy Birthday, Robin!

    My practice is reading the Psalms, usually aloud. I began this in the mid-1990s, when I was coming to terms with the changes needed to fully recover from major surgery and a chronic illness. Everyday life is wonderful. My life is simple, and I am staying well. Lots of vegetables too!

    Blessings, Ellen

  3. ♪ ♫ ♪ HAPPY BIRTHDAY, ROBIN!! ♪ ♫ ♪
    I hope you are having a wonderful day!! You are an inspiration to many people (including me), staying strong with your commitments. I don’t get a chance to get out every day, but on the days I do get out, I enjoy them so much more now – being able to see the world in a different way. Including having a new appreciation for winter!!

  4. Happy birthday, my friend. And thank you for wishing us the gift of sight on your special day. You are dear!
    Kathy

  5. Marianne says:

    That’s awesome, Robin! Wonderful quote! Hope you’re having a fantastic birthday.

  6. What a wonderful wish for us all….thank you…and a very happy birthday wish to you! : )
    and a little birthday card for you, too….. http://pocketperspectives.wordpress.com/other/the-sacred-beauty-of-the-everyday/

  7. Pat Bean says:

    I walked in Bobcat Woods at San Bernard Wildlife Refuge, birdwatching with a son. Mother Nature put on a grand show for us, with the birds playing musical background music for her. I am grateful for the day, for your good wishes. Hope your birthday turned out great.

  8. Denise says:

    Happy Birthday, though I feel we have been given the birthday gift with all these lovely photographs!

  9. you touch my heart with these beautiful words. thank you!

  10. tjfox says:

    Happy Birthday, Robin! My you find beauty in everything.

  11. Debbie says:

    Happy Birthday, Robin!
    Oh, how the years are rushing by.
    I wish you the best of health, your choice of wealth, and most of all, unending happiness.
    Love,
    Debbie

  12. Ellen says:

    Happy birthday!!! Feliz cumpleaños!!!!
    I hope you have a wonderful day !!!

    And thank you very much for your wish 🙂

  13. Kel says:

    i receive your wish with gratitude
    new eyes
    yes

  14. TBM says:

    Love the photos. It is grey and cloudy in London today as well.

  15. ladyfi says:

    Your exquisite shots really capture the sacred beauty of the ordinary!

  16. aFrankAngle says:

    OH … so you are missing snow! Just heard this … only 40% of the US has snow cover at this moment. Thanks for the photos!

  17. Robin, I do believe you gave me the gift of new eyes when I first found your blog; funny thing though, I’m sure they are renewed again, every time I visit your page! Thank you for the many gifts you share here, each and every day. ❤

    I've already said it elsewhere, but at the risk of repeating myself, Happy Birthday! I hope your birthday this year has been your best day ever!

  18. Hallysann says:

    A little late, but I hope you had a very Happy Birthday. 🙂

  19. boatacrosstheriver says:

    Beautiful post — and happy belated! Hope it’s a great year for you!

  20. dragonfae says:

    I’m late too. 😦

    Hope you had a wonderful day dear! *smooches*

  21. I love these shots! They’re absolutely breathtaking!

  22. bearyweather says:

    Sorry I am late sending birthday wishes your way, my life is drowning in “busy-ness”. I hope your birthday was extra special this year and that you did something extremely fun.

    I love this post. I live where I do so that I have a place to escape to that allows me to really appreciate the “hugeness of the ordinary”. The thought of adding a daily commitment to my life right now makes me feel rather ill inside because I am stretched to the max … you are right, though … we take on commitments all the time without thinking about it (that is how I got stretched to the max). We definitely need to be more mindful about our commitments.

    Happy Birthday.

  23. Ronja says:

    Happy belated birthday Robin! I hope you had a wonderful day 🙂

    …. A very lovely post, thank you for sharing it 🙂

  24. Dana says:

    Aw, happy belated birthday, Robin! You’re too generous to be giving gifts to ALL OF US on your birthday! I hope you had a great day and that the year ahead is enriching for you on every level. 🙂

  25. ElizOF says:

    Happy Belated Birthday Robin!
    ˜”*°•.˜”*°•.˜”*°•.★★.•°*”˜.•°*”˜.•°*”˜
    ¸¸.•*¨*•░H░A░P░P░Y░(¯`’•.¸ *♥♥♥* ¸.•’´¯) ░B░I░R░ T░H░D░A░Y░ (¯`’•.¸*♥♥♥*¸.•’´¯) Hope you enjoyed YOUR special day!
    ║╚╦═╦═╦═╦╦╗ ║╚╦═╦═╦═╦╦╗ ║╚╦╦═╣╚╣╚╦╝╠═╦╦╗
    ║║║╬║╬║╬║║║ ║║║╬║╬║╬║║║ ║╬║║╔╣╔╣║║╬║╬║║║
    ╚╩╩╩╣╔╣╔╩╗║ ╚╩╩╩╣╔╣╔╩╗║ ╚═╩╩╝╚═╩╩╩═╩╩╩╗║
    ¸.•*¨*•.♪♫♫♪Happy Birthday .♪♫•*¨*•.¸¸ ♥Happy Birthday to youuuuu ♪♫•*¨*•.¸.•*¨*•♫
    ˜”*°•.˜”*°•.˜”*°•.★★.•°*”˜.•°*”˜.•°*”˜

  26. carlaat says:

    Happy belated birthday! I am right there with you trying to embrace the “hugeness of the ordinary” every day. Sometimes it overwhelms me with emotion. I feel so very lucky. Have you ever read Annie Dillard’s Pilgrim at Tinker Creek? If not, I think you would like it. She writes about this so beautifully. My favorite chapter is “Seeing”.

    Beautiful post, as always! 🙂

  27. sdiekmannphotography says:

    so beautiful!


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

