Rain and frost

Saturday morning sun salutation

We’re on our third day of rain here in Ohio.  That seems to be the pattern lately.  A warm day or two, then three days of rain.  The Bogs are turning into ponds and lakes.

It is not a good day to take photos outside.  It is gray, wet, and chilly.  You can almost float away on the mushy ground.  Fortunately, I still have images from Saturday morning’s beautiful frost event and didn’t need to take the camera with me on my walk today.

I mentioned in my previous post that I found a surprise when I looked at some of the frost photos.  I hope you can see it in the above two photos.  It’s the bokeh.  Not that the bokeh was a surprise, but that the sun hitting the frost turned it into colored lights.  Very festive.

The colored lights show in the backgrounds of quite a few of the photos, but you’ll have to look for them.  As always, you can click on any of the photos to see the slightly larger version.

No colored lights bokeh in this shot, though.

I bet you’re wondering where I went on Sunday.  M and I took a quick trip to Columbus to watch our oldest granddaughter perform in her dance school’s Christmas recital.  She is brilliant and talented, of course.  It was wonderful to watch her dance, and to be able to visit with her and her sister for a short while.

I can’t believe how quickly my granddaughters are growing up.  I don’t know why I’m surprised since it seems as though the older I get, the faster time speeds by.

I have a birthday coming up.  Tomorrow, in fact.  I will celebrate at home tomorrow, and then again on Friday with family and friends.  I’m looking forward to both celebrations.

Well, I think that’s about it from the Bogs for today.  Thank you so much for dropping by and having a look at the lights.  Mother Nature really does a good job of seasonal decorating, doesn’t she?

I’ll bring some gifts with me tomorrow so we can all celebrate.  🙂

44 Comments on “Rain and frost”

  1. Coming East says:

    Loved the pictures. Happy birthday!

  2. Very nice!! Every season has a different beauty to offer – in the Winter, everything sparkles!

  3. It’s still raining here as well. We may float away before morning.

    At any rate, happy birthday, my friend!

    Hugs,
    Kathy

  4. Karma says:

    Your frost and your sparkle and your bokeh are fabulous! I hope you have a great day tomorrow, in case I don’t get back here to say “happy birthday” on the official day! 🙂

  5. I think that’s the same storm tha came through here between Friday and Monday, and left us with 4 inches of rain. I much prefer frost!
    Love the Christmas lights bokeh 🙂

  6. the silvers and blues in the next to last one are really nice. ( still drippy and gray here – ready for sun!)

  7. localbonnie says:

    These are beautiful as can be. Great work 🙂

  8. Mike says:

    Happy Birthday!

  9. Marianne says:

    I too, think frost creates more beauty than rain….at least at this time of year. Spring rains bring beautiful flowers though.

    I’ve been lying low lately….reading not commenting much. Not sure why exactly, just lots going on I think and lots to deal with.

    We had our first snowfall of a couple of inches overnight after it rained for three solid days. Thankful the rain wasn’t snow. We’d be snowed in for a month.

    Hope you have a most wonderful birthday, Robin. 🙂

  10. Love the golden light and water reflection of the first one!

  11. Kel says:

    fancy frostings on nature
    delicious

  12. ElizOF says:

    Such gorgeous shots… love the sepia ones too. Happy Birthday!
    TY for your patience as I have been adjusting to a changed schedule in my life … Glad to comment again. 🙂

  13. Happy Birthday! Wishing you a rain (and snow) free weekend for celebrating…

  14. aFrankAngle says:

    Happy Birthday! Hope you have a bountiful day that brings smiles.

    BTW – Time is not going faster as we get older. Remember – it’s seems slower during our youth because one is living in anticipation of something. As adults, we are living to complete something so we can move on to the next.

    FYI: In my corner of our state we had 4 inches … and my backyard is now a bog. Thanks for the photos.

  15. Happy Birthday….. I would sing…but I don’t want to crash WordPress’ server….. 🙂

  16. Frost sure does make for a very picturesque scene doesn’t it… It’s just a shame you can’t photograph it from indoors eh… Beautiful shots Robin..

  17. jane tims says:

    Hi Robin. I have never seen the word ‘bokeh’ before. The colored lights in the photos are a lovely surprise. Very good post. Jane

  18. Hallysann says:

    Wow ! Looks like Jack Frost posed for another perfect portrait for you. 🙂

  19. All of the rain is getting a bit old, isn’t it? And then when it clears up for a bit, hiking on wet ground can be an obstacle. We need more sun. Happy belated birthday, Robin!

  20. Derrick says:

    I’m always a sucker for those great reflection images. Nice capture!!


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

