Laptop dance

Sunset

My computer, at the ripe old age of 5 months, is broken.  The poor thing is so sick that it stops working after a few clicks here and there.  It is still under warranty and after exhausting all at-home repair possibilities (including cleaning out the virus that started this round of computer illness), I have concluded that it will have to go back to the place where it was born to be looked at, diagnosed, and fixed.

Today's view of the pond

Rather than stress, get angry, and throw a tantrum, I have decided to pretend I am traveling.  The laptop is not always appreciated here at home, but I always feel grateful (and fortunate) to have it while we’re traveling because it means I can post about our travels.  I will look at the problems with my PC as a creative journey, and be thankful that the laptop is here to help me share my travels to wherever this break with the usual will take me.

Another frosty morning

The birthplace of my computer is a good distance away so we will not be taking it back until Friday.  I’m guessing that means a minimum of two weeks without it.  I might hook up the old computer again.  Then again, I might just enjoy the at-home travels with the laptop.

The sun was shining when I woke up this morning.  The world outside of our windows was sparkling with hoarfrost.  I dressed as quickly as possible, bundling up for the cold (it was in the 20s), grabbed my camera and walked around for about an hour admiring Mother Nature’s handiwork and creativity.  Nobody can create the way she does.  The frost, it seems to me, is a winter version of flowers scattered across the landscape.  Those winter flowers even grow in the trees, on fallen branches, rocks, old leaves, and logs.

I wish the camera could capture the sparkliness of these frosty mornings.  I may have caught a little of it in some of the photos I took, but I’ll have to wait until I can see them on a better monitor to be sure.  In the meantime, I’ll post the photos that seem to be okay and save the rest for posting after I’ve really had a good look at them.

I played with the white balance again, using the “open shade” setting today.  I wanted to bring out the warmth of the sunlight, hoping it would combine well with the coolness of the frost.   Once again, I’ll have to wait and see if that worked.  The laptop isn’t quite like working blind, but it’s close.  Colors, light, shade, contrast… they don’t show up well.  I kind of like the guesswork of the process, even if it does tend to be hit or miss.  There’s an element of surprise to it when I finally get to see the photos on a bigger monitor.

The best part about using the laptop is that I can sit here by the fire, warming my toes, while occasionally looking out the window at the pond and the bonfire M has going this afternoon.  As soon as I finish this post, I’m going to stop admiring the bonfire from the confines of the house and go out to marvel at it up close.

That’s it from the Bogs for today.  Thank you for dropping by.  You are welcome to join me by the bonfire.  I’ll bring along some marshmallows to roast.  I don’t have all the makings for s’mores, but toasted marshmallows are a treat in and of themselves, don’t you think?  🙂

36 Comments on “Laptop dance”

  1. skip704 says:

    I like all of these images immensely, but especially the second and third ones from the end. That was a very productive walk. The idea of the bonfire sounds good too.

  2. Your photo’s are excellent! I love the frost ones, may have to go out over christmas and steal your idea and get a few myself 😛 the photo at the end is by far my favourite, the light catches it just right and refracts around the plant. good effort 🙂

  3. mjray926 says:

    Wow such incredible photos!!

  4. Kel says:

    may your pc be well soon
    how lucky you are to have both a pc and a laptop

  5. Giiid says:

    Wow! Very beautiful photos!!

  6. bearyweather says:

    I tried capturing the frost several weeks ago … some of the pictures were very nice and I posted them, but I totally understand … there is really no way to capture all the sparkle and sun except to be there in person.
    Hope your computer woes work out cheaply …

  7. The second photo is incredibly beautiful! May your laptop rest in peace.

  8. So beautiful! That open shade setting really worked well for these.

    Seems that we should appreciate our laptops more… ours was somewhat of a life saver today, upgrading my iPad to the new OS, after not being able to uprade iTunes on my desktop.

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Michaela. 🙂

      As I just mentioned to Bearyweather, the laptop we have is old, but you’re right. I should appreciate it more. Without it, I wouldn’t have been able to post to my blog this week.

  9. I like the one entitled “another frost morning” such great frost! we don’t often have frost here–makes for great photos I can see.

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Teresita. 🙂

      Frost certainly does make for great photos if you can withstand the conditions. Last year I learned the hard way that I really need to protect my fingers on frosty mornings.

  10. So sorry to hear your laptop is sick. It must have caught the flu from you. Ha, ha. No, seriously, I don’t always have the kind of patience I should for computer trouble, so I commend you for your good attitude, Robin. Hope you stay warm this weekend!
    Kathy

    • Robin says:

      Thanks, Kathy M. 🙂

      I don’t really have a lot of patience with computer woes, either. That’s why I have to walk away from it and pretend I don’t have a computer. Otherwise, I might throw it into the pond out of frustration.

  11. dragonfae says:

    I love all the photos Robin! Thanks for letting me get a little winter, at least visually. 🙂 Hope the computer gets fixed quickly.

  12. ladyfi says:

    Oh, I love frost! These pictures are delightful.

  13. Know what you mean about capturing the sparkle…it looks so magical to the eye, but the camera can’t see it…
    Wishing your pc a speedy recovery!

  14. Karma says:

    You’ve done a lovely job “working blind” – there is some evidence of sparkle too. I actually love my laptop much more than the old PC.

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Karma. 🙂

      Sounds like it’s new vs. old. Our laptop is old and everything looks so dark and dismal on the screen, whereas my PC is new with a shiny happy flat screen. However, prior to getting the new PC, things looked better on the laptop than they did the old monitor because the laptop was newer.

  15. Pat Bean says:

    Beautiful colors, sparkling with life. And of course I love the ever present pond.

  16. Kathy says:

    I hated to press “like” because I am really dismayed about your computer woes, Robin. Hopefully everything is fixed up sooner than later. It can be so challenging when our technology (sob!) fails us. Sometimes I think the Universe is announcing that I need to cut back even more when that happens…. (sometimes it’s hard to listen…)

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Kathy. 🙂

      Believe it or not, not having my PC in good working order has been a good thing. I’ve been reading, knitting, and doing other things instead so I know what you mean about the Universe announcing it’s time for a break. I may have inadvertently asked for this break by announcing I needed to find a way to balance my blogging/computer time with everything else in life.

  17. Hallysann says:

    I spend most of my computer time on my laptop, the computersaurus is getting very old now and needs a lot of “TLC” just to help it to go. I have to admit, I would feel very lost without it. 🙂

  18. eof737 says:

    Aside from the beautiful pictures, I send you virtual hugs for your struggle. Return the pc, it might be a manufacturer’s glitch and may not even be a virus problem…

    • Robin says:

      Thanks, Elizabeth. 🙂

      I’m happy to say it didn’t come to that. It turned out to be two AV programs fighting each other. It’s all fixed now. Yay!


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

