Frosty and busy

It’s going to be a busy day.  Since I’m not ready to put aside PostADay2011 just yet (soon, soon, a voice keeps nagging whispering), I put this post together earlier in the day than usual and scheduled it to go out at my regular blog-posting time.

A frosty post

You didn’t realize I have a regular blog-posting time?  I do.  I bet you do too.  Or at least a close to a regular blog-posting time.  I’ve noticed that many of my favorites tend to post around the same time, even those who don’t post every day.

So what’s keeping me busy today?  (I’m just full of questions, and for once I have a few answers.)

Well, for one thing, I’m trying to get caught up.  Not online, but at home.  Being sick meant a vacation from the usual chores and things.  Now it’s time to make up for that.  I got a good start on it yesterday.

For another thing, M the Younger and his lovely wife will be visiting with us today.  We’re celebrating Thanksgiving.  We were supposed to do this last Friday, but I was stricken by the virus that has had me sick and it seemed best to postpone it.  I didn’t want to spread the illness.

Speaking of viruses, it seems my computer has once again managed to catch one.  I’m baffled.  I am doing everything I’m supposed to be doing, and malware still manages to get through.  I should have waited and saved up for a Mac instead of going with another PC and Windows.  Hindsight and all that, but two viruses since getting my new computer does not a happy camper make.

Until my in-house repairman (and all-around super guy) can help out and fix whatever ails my PC, I won’t have access to the photos I’d hoped to use for the rest of this post. Or any photos taken before today, for that matter.   Thank goodness for the old laptop.  At least it allowed me to finish this post.

Sometimes I think life would be much less stressful if I gave up on the internet and took up another hobby.  I’ve already pared my internet activity down to email and blogging.  Now that I have to be suspicious of both those activities, it might not be long before I do decide to give it all up.  (And no, I didn’t open any suspicious attachments, click on any suspicious links, etc.)

Ah well.  Stuff happens.

34 Comments on “Frosty and busy”

  1. Pat Bean says:

    Wow. The frost on the purple leaves makes each one look like a gem stone

  2. Ellen says:

    beautiful pictures!!!!!

    don´t give up on Internet and your blogging just because of viruses. everything you do comes with a risk, in this case, viruses.

  3. More cool pictures of frost–no pun intended.

    You know, I think your blog is teaching me to see better, to look at the world around me more closely. Ever since I’ve seen your photos of frost, I’ve been examining it quite closely in the mornings when I go outside. It really is lovely. Thanks for that gift, Robin.

    Kathy

  4. bearyweather says:

    Pretty frost … your frost was much more dramatic then mine.

    I hope you do not quit blogging … I would miss you and all of your pictures. Viruses are a pain .. I wish you would have gotten a Mac, too. Hope you have a great weekend.

  5. aFrankAngle says:

    Outstanding job of capturing the beauty of frost.

    A couple of blogging points.
    – I typically post around the same time: 9 PM Eastern, +/1 30 minutes.

    – When time is pressed or daily begins to feel like a burden or an obligation, cut back .. such as to 3 times per week.

    – Have a good weekend.

  6. ehpem says:

    That’s really nice frost (aesthetically). Frost in my part of the world rarely has such a nice form as this, and never such long crystals. Makes for some great photos!

  7. I loved your photos today.. lifted my spirits and who can do that if you stop blogging? Computers have and will always crash. I have a little “rugged lacie” that I plug in, leave alone and it backs up via my mac on a regular basis. I also have a recovery software that can locate anything that was permanently deleted. But stuff always happens… safe up for that mac.. I love mine and will never go back! I never worry about viruses with this new machine:)

  8. Hena says:

    Those pictures are really lovely! 🙂

  9. dragonfae says:

    Love the photos! There’s just something magical about ice crystals. 🙂

    BTW, Macs are not immune to viruses and there are more hackers taking up that challenge. ;( Do you have a good firewall? (and no, the Windows firewall doesn’t count) If you don’t get one … if you do, you can test how well it’s working at http://www.grc.com by using the “Leak Test” utility (under Freeware on the pull down menus).

    Good luck … I hope you get the computer healthy soon!

  10. Love the hoarfrost (isn’t that a great word?) We seldom see it that heavy…It makes such amazing photos.

  11. It would be much more considerate of those computer viruses to 1) announce themselves before they invade your computer, and 2) tell you exactly where they came from, wouldn’t it?
    You’ve probably done this already, but just in case you’ve overlooked something…. have you checked your firewall settings and Internet Security settings? Have the latest critical updates for Windows (if you’re running Windows), the latest browser updates? I’m assuming your anti-virus programs downloads and installs any updates automatically?
    It’s so frustrating when something like this happens, I’m glad you got it fixed again.

    Your frost pictures are so beautiful! My camera and I are ready for some frost, and we do have some cold weather in the forecast….. hopefully it will bring some frost, too!

    • Robin says:

      Thanks, Michaela. 🙂

      I’ve tried pretty much everything. And tried it again. Hopefully we can get it all figured out today. My computer expert (youngest son) is here trying to fix it for my birthday.

  12. Love the change in the header image as well – fabulous detail! Thank you for including me on your blog roll – I am honored! I’ve added a link to you as well.

  13. carlaat says:

    Beautiful frosty photos! Hope your computer woes are easily solved . . .

  14. David Hall says:

    You have captured the frost beautifully.

  15. Dana says:

    That first photo is BREATHTAKING, Robin. I just love it!

  16. Cmsmith says:

    I feel for you. Computers can be such a pain in the rumpus. I’ve often had the same thought about giving it all up and doing the real things. I’m too afraid I’d miss it terribly. I think the key is ib finding a balance.

  17. eof737 says:

    The frosty photos are awesome… as per your viruses, do you click on unknown links and do you have the necessary protections? FYI Macs are not 100% immune from viruses. You can start correcting the problem by running/updating your protection, and cleaning your pc regularly… as in daily. Best wishes!


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

