A walk into winter

A walk into winter

Jack Frost paid us a visit last night and gave us a taste of things to come.

Portal into winter. (Focal zoom on frost.)

I went out early and set the white balance on the camera to tungsten.  The series of photos I came back with are a tad on the cold side.  You might want to bundle up and grab a hot drink to keep you warm.

When I went to bed last night, I was sure we would have frost this morning.  Not because of predictions by the local weather prognosticators.  And not because I have magical powers (although I might… you never know).  I knew about the frost the same way I knew where to go this morning to find the heaviest, prettiest frost.

Over the winter last year, while getting outside every day during the first half of my outdoor challenge, I learned (without realizing it until today) what weather conditions will bring Jack Frost to the Bogs, and where the moisture off the pond will help create the best frost and ice formations.  How cool is that?

I have to admit, it might have been pretty much a no-brainer as well.  Combining an overnight temperature in the 20s with the rain-saturated land was bound to kick up some frosty conditions.

Wood pile in the meadow

I noticed, too, that I don’t have to think twice about what to wear outside on frosty mornings.  I learned the hard way last year that my fingers will suffer the most so I now have a pair of thin, fleece gloves that I wear under my mitten-gloves.  In case you’re unfamiliar with them, a photo of mitten-gloves (as I call them), also known as convertible or fliptop gloves, can be found here.  I’m going to put them on my Christmas list this year.  I could use a new pair.  They’ll come in handy (ha) for those winter hikes and visits to ice caves.

The sun has been shining today, and the frost didn’t stick around for too long.  With overnight lows in the 20s again tonight, I expect we’ll see more frost tomorrow.

For those caring and inquiring minds that want to know, I’m feeling much better today.  I’m still congested and have a cough, but I had the best night’s sleep ever last night and woke up feeling revitalized.  The body and joint aches and pains were banished with sleep.  Thank you all for the well-wishes and hugs.  I’m sure that contributed to my healing.

There were ice crystals starting to form around the edge of the pond.  I often wonder how the ducks can stand it when it gets cold.  They must be well insulated to be able to swim around in the chilly water.

Ice forming at the edge of the pond

Speaking of chilly, I am actually getting cold looking at these photos.  I’ll have to remember to take them out again next August when we’re sweltering in the heat.  Hopefully they will have the same chilling effect.

Winter is my time of year.  When I go out to explore frost, ice, and snow, I feel as though I’m in my element.  Maybe it’s because I was born in December.  I have never liked the heat and humidity of summer.  Spring and fall are beautiful, but winter is, to me, a magical season.  I don’t often do any sort of memoir writing.  On the occasions I have, it involved winter.  (If interested, Dancing With the Snow Queen is one of the few memoir pieces I’ve written.  For those that don’t know, Bountiful Healing is my other blog.  I haven’t done much with it lately.)

That’s it from the Bogs for today.  Thank you for dropping by to visit with me and old Jack Frost.  I hope he wasn’t nipping at your nose as he’s wont to do.  As always, help yourself to some hot tea, hot cider, or hot cocoa.  For those who want something a little more spirited, we recently bottled some hard cider.  Very tasty stuff.

56 Comments on “A walk into winter”

  1. Kel says:

    that winter portal is delicious!

  2. Beauty frozen in time. Sheer elegance. You have a great eye. I’m getting chilly just looking at these.

  3. Those are really pretty, Robin, and I’m SO glad that you’re feeling better!
    Btw. I had some time yesterday to try some abstracts like the ones you posted recently. What fun! (A bit addicting, too! Can’t wait to make more! 🙂 )

    • Robin says:

      Thanks, Michaela. 🙂

      I have to agree with you. Those abstracts can be very addicting. I made more than I know what to do with before I finally had to practice a little self control. lol!

  4. milkayphoto says:

    Brrrrrrrr….. too cold too soon! Love the blue tint on the frost shots – really drives the feeling of bitterness home.

    I think I may be coming down with what has been ailing you, Robin. 😦 I feel yucky, achy, throat hurts, muscles hurt, etc. I’m trying my best to ‘sweat it out’ on the elliptical because sometimes that actually helps. I’m also looking to the ‘healing power of poultry’ with a dinner of turkey pot pie. I’m already exhausted and it is only 5:30pm! Not good times at all. Good thing the weekend is only 1 day away…

  5. mjray926 says:

    wow these pics are amazing!

  6. Denise says:

    Incredible photos, cold yes but absolutely beautiful! I like those flip-flop mittens, think I’m putting those on my Christmas list for Santa. Glad you’re feeling better now.

  7. Such dazzling photos–the frosted grass is incredible.. I also read your Dancing with Snow Queen–what a sprightly child you were! Great photos, Robin.

  8. There’s something almost magical about frost. You did some great work with these shots. brrrrrrrrrrrrrrr.
    glad you are feeling better. Here’s to another great night’s sleep tonight.

  9. The frost and ice crystals are so beautiful….what a wonderful way to start your day! And I just linked into your other blog and took a look around…it’s wonderful! : )

  10. anhinga says:

    You make the cold look magical. Beautiful job.

  11. Good God, those frost photos are stunning! It’s been cold here too, and, like you, I love winter, so I’m happy. Just wish I could manage to get pictures like yours. Damn, I love them.
    Kathy

  12. Bo Mackison says:

    Wow! Those blues are cold! And beautiful, too.

  13. Norm says:

    Glad you’re feeling closer to par. Jaw dropping frosty shots. Love ’em.

  14. nigel says:

    Lovely patterns and colouring

  15. TBM says:

    Love the photos, especially the first one. I’ll have to visit your lovely part of the world someday.

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, TBM. 🙂

      Not many people put Ohio on their list of places to visit. lol! I think we tend to get overlooked. All kidding aside, there are some beautiful places to visit in this state.

  16. afrankangle says:

    Cold? Yes! Fantastic? Yes! Glad you’re feeling better? Absolutely! Thanks for displaying what the camera can do with a knowledgeable handler.

  17. tjfox says:

    Those are all just lovely! I love frosty, snowy or icy images, though I do prefer to appreciate them from the warmth of inside as I think I must be your polar opposite when it comes to temperatures. I much prefer the warmer and hot days of summer, but that may just be because I really love to be in the water. Sorry your cold and ickies are hanging on so long! I have a wonderful recipe for an herbal tea that does wonders for congestion and cough if you’d like it. {{{hugs}}}

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Fox. I’d love the recipe. 🙂

      • tjfox says:

        Well, I really have to give DragonFae the credit for this as she is the one that gave it to me. 😀

        Use about a teaspoon of each…
        Marshmallow Root
        *Meadowsweet
        Rose Hips
        Lungwort
        Skullcap
        Pepperment

        *Do not use the meadowsweet if you are allergic to asprin!

        • Robin says:

          Thank you, Fox. 🙂

          And thanks to DragonFae too. 😀

          • dragonfae says:

            Hope you find it helpful Robin! I add a tablespoon of honey to my mug when I make this. (Fox is weird and doesn’t like honey 😆 )

            If you have a sore throat you can also add an equal measure of Mullein to help soothe it. I keep a batch of this tea on hand so I don’t have to pull a bunch of herbs out when I’m feeling crummy. 😉

  18. Tammy says:

    These are fabulous!! So intricate and graceful! Glad you’re feeling better. Love your new header.

  19. Robin, I don’t find these images cold, I find them awesome cool is a warm way. These are really neat. I love the blue look. I’ve used the fingerless gloves for several years to photograph in the cold, now they are marketed for smartphone users too! Another December friend, Happy Birthday, mine is approaching next week. 😉

  20. Marcie says:

    Exquisitely beautiful ‘first frost’ images. WOW!

  21. jane tims says:

    Hi. It’s like a winter wonderland.. my favorite photo is of the frost crystals on the blue seed pods… Jane

  22. dragonfae says:

    Simply gorgeous! We don’t get any of that here so thanks for letting me get a taste of winter! And I’m soooo glad you’re feeling better! 🙂

  23. Kathy says:

    What beautiful blue frosty photos! (Does the camera having a setting called Tungsten? You know so much about photography, you do.) There is something so beautiful about frost and snow. Yet it also leaves me with a vague feeling of…could it be dissatisfaction? That it is so impermanent, that it disappears so quickly, that it really can’t be captured, even though we try.(And I think you’ve done a mighty fine job.) It teaches me about Buddha’s impermanence more than anything, I think.

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Kathy. 🙂

      Look for the white balance setting on your camera. You can find tungsten (and other settings such as shade, daylight, etc.) there. It’s fun to play around with the white balance.

      You are right about the frost and snow. Trying to capture it is very difficult, and I’ve yet to see any photo that is as beautiful as the real thing. And, as you mentioned, it’s a good lesson in impermanence.

  24. carlaat says:

    Thank you for sharing the frost photos – beautiful! Love them especially because frost is rare here. Glad you’re feeling better! 🙂

  25. eof737 says:

    Gorgeous… and the falling WP snow makes all the more beautiful. 🙂


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

