Finding beauty on a gray day

Today's view of the pond

I normally wouldn’t lead a post with such a dull, gray-day of a photo.  I wanted you to see what it looks like here in the Bogs today.  It’s a damp, becoming chilly, kind of day.  The sort of day when you might look outside and think, “I don’t want to go out there today.”

But if you put on your boots, bundle up a bit (it’s not so cold that you need a hat or gloves, but a warm jacket wouldn’t go amiss). and ignore the voice that doesn’t want to go out, you will discover that there is still beauty to be found on days like today.

The color hasn’t totally faded to browns and grays just yet.

In fact, some of the color is beginning to come into its season.  The holly bushes, for example, are exploding with red berries and showing off their shiny green leaves.  They are going to look lovely in the snow.

You can still find the occasional flower hiding out in the dried, brown grasses around the pond and in the meadows.  Across the lawn the dandelions thought the warm weather we had recently was a signal to put out a few blooms.

The ground is squishy.  Somewhere back in the woods a great flock of birds (probably blackbirds of various kinds) have gathered.  You can hear them clicking, whistling, and chattering.  You can also hear the sound of the pond draining into the creek.  We’ve had a great deal of rain lately.  The creek has taken over a large portion of the woods.

There is still some color to be found in the woods.  You’ll want to watch your footing.  It’s very soggy and boggy, and going down the hill into the woods gets a little slippery due to all the wet leaves.  I ended up sliding down half the hill.  It’s faster than walking, but wasn’t exactly what I had in mind.

The sounds from the blackbird convention are louder in the woods, but you can’t see the birds.  The sound is carrying well today because it’s misty/foggy, and the birds could be way over in the next woods.

The mosses and lichens are lending their green to the woods now that most of the leaves are brown and fallen.

(That’s my favorite photo from today’s walk.  ↑)  Leaving the woods and heading back to the pond, you’ll find the ducks have returned.  A pair of mallards are swimming around near the cattails.  Every year around this time a pair of mallards arrives and hangs around for a while.  Once the pond freezes over, they move to the creek in the woods.  We’ll see them at the pond again once it thaws.

They are shy ducks and it’s difficult to get close enough for a decent shot of them.

I find the browns to be worth admiring this time of year.  There are so many different shades of it in the landscape as a whole and in the small details.

I know we were supposed to go back to the Twinsburg Ledges today, but I ended up following the beauty around the pond, walking farther than intended.  I’ll save the Ledges for another day.

Time to head back to the house and warm up with some tea or hot chocolate.  I bought some Scharffen Berger unsweetened natural cocoa powder, and it’s fantastic mixed with hot milk (cows milk, almond milk, soy milk) and a small amount of sugar (or sweetener of your choice).

Thank you for stopping by the Bogs and joining me in a walk around the pond and into the woods on this gray day.  I enjoyed your company.  I hope you found some beauty out there, too.  🙂

39 Comments on “Finding beauty on a gray day”

  1. kroepfli says:

    beautiful pictures!!!

  2. obrienspix says:

    Very beautiful shots.

  3. So glad I brought my boots! And thanks for the hot chocolate. Sooooooo goooooooood! I love the second photo, the one of the single red leaf–stunning, Robin!
    Kathy

  4. tedgriffith says:

    A beautiful walk today, Robin! Those mushrooms are wonderful, as is the moss and lichen. I love how dmp weather brings out the fullness of the colors in nature. 🙂

  5. Hallysann says:

    Thank you so much … Just what I needed. 🙂

  6. You found plenty of beauty on that gray day 🙂

  7. […] After just visiting “Life in the Bogs” and reading through a post about “Finding beauty on a gray day” I came away with a smile and decided to pull my socks up and take another look at the photos […]

  8. afrankangle says:

    Although a gray day, leave it to a photographer to find so much beauty. Well done Robin.

  9. Oh Robin, thank you so much for that wonderful walk..I really, really needed that right now…thank you. And the moss photo?…oh, that’s my favorite too….and of course the mushrooms….but all of it was wonderful. : )

  10. skip704 says:

    Wonderful pictures, Robin. Our blogs had a similar theme today. It may be cloudy and look grey and uninviting, but there is much to be seen in the woods and the bogs, including some vibrant colors. I was in the Holden Arboretum today.

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Carolyn. I have to agree. Mother Nature keeps putting on a good show. You just have to know where to look. The Arboretum is a good place to start. 🙂

  11. milkayphoto says:

    The last shot of the mushrooms…gorgeous!

  12. TBM says:

    I love gray days! Some of my favorite days are cold, rainy, gray days. But I may be weird. As always, I love the photos!

  13. dragonfae says:

    Just lovely Robin! Thanks for sharing the wonder with us. 🙂

  14. jane tims says:

    Hi. You always make me feel like I am taking the walk too! I like the mosses, especially the one on the log. Jane

  15. Rain, rain, rain here as well, but no lovely mushrooms like those!

  16. ladyfi says:

    What beautiful and vibrant shots! I ‘d say that it wasn’t a grey day at all out there!

  17. Gracie says:

    Beautiful series. And I completely agree, sometimes, we just need to brave the cold to find the most amazing shapes and colors to photograph.

  18. That last shot is my favourite. such rich colours. You turned a grey day into a wander of beauty. Blessings.

  19. eof737 says:

    i love how you found bits of color on a gray day… The red berries were popping. 🙂


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

