Scenes from Cleveland

Cleveland skyline

Thank you for all your well wishes.  They must have worked.  After an unprecedented (for me) amount of sleep, I am feeling much, much better.  It’s as if all that sleep resulted in a brand new me.  The contrast between how I felt yesterday and how I feel today is amazing.

A building near Lake Erie

One of the things we did while visiting with our friends in Cleveland was the Sparx City Hop.  It’s fun and it’s free.  You board a trolley at one of the main hubs and you can “hop” through the various neighborhoods.  We stayed in one neighborhood, Tremont, and only took one short trolley ride.

St. Theodosius Russian Orthodox Cathedral

Tremont is one of Cleveland’s oldest and most historic neighborhoods, and is home to a variety of restaurants, shops, galleries, and churches.  St. Theodosius Orthodox Cathedral, built in 1911, appeared in the 1978 film The Deer Hunter.

Lemko Hall (which I do not have a photo of), once a social gathering spot for a large concentration of immigrants from the Slavic region of Lemkovina who lived in Tremont, was also featured in the same movie.

In front of one of Tremont's many pubs

A Christmas Story House is also located in Tremont.  I did take photos of that, but you’ll have to wait for those to appear sometime in another post.  Not that they’re really worth waiting for other than as a novelty.  I’m afraid most of the photos I took that evening didn’t turn out well at all.

I enjoyed our stroll and short ride through Tremont.  It’s a great neighborhood, and looks like it would be a fun place to live.

One of the things that surprised me while on our walk was how many of the trees still have their leaves.  C said that’s due to the lake effect.  I am supposing it hasn’t gotten quite as cold up there as it has been here, and there is still some warmth coming off the lake.  I am also supposing (and know from experience) that once the lake freezes, it is mighty cold up in Cleveland.

We were told our visit to Tremont wouldn’t be complete without a cupcake so we stopped off at A Cookie and a Cupcake.

M had the PB Lovers cupcake, and I had the Salted Caramel.  We didn’t actually get around to eating them until the next day.  They were yummy.

Vine on a brick wall

I would like to go up for the Tremont Art Walk (which occurs on the 2nd Friday of each month) sometime.  I wasn’t keen on going into the galleries this time around as I wanted to see as much of the neighborhood as possible.  We would not have gotten very far if I’d started going into the galleries and looking at art, so I declined when asked if I wanted to go into any of the galleries (although I also deferred to the group and said I’d do whatever they wanted to do, and apparently they wanted to walk too).

Bridge over the highway

I’ll be back tomorrow with a few more scenes from Cleveland.  Thank you for stopping by and joining me for a brief glimpse of one of Cleveland’s neighborhoods.  🙂

Photo of St. Theodosius Orthodox Cathedral taken later in the evening. Heavily processed in Photoshop because it was not a good photo at all. Too much noise. I did this for fun.

34 Comments on “Scenes from Cleveland”

  1. So glad you’re feeling better! I think we’d all get well faster if we’d just give up and go to bed when we’re sick…

    The photos are lovely…and it sounds like a wonderful walk. That last one, with all you’ve done to it, looks like an early 20th century postcard…

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Marie. 🙂

      I have to agree. Usually I fight the illness and keep going for as long as I can. Surrender and sleep seem to do the trick.

  2. Isn’t it incredible what sleep can accomplish. It can be so restorative and healing. By the way the Orthodox Cathedral is amazing-looking.

    Glad you’re feeling better!

    Kathy

  3. Kathy says:

    Thank you for sharing your beautiful walk around Cleveland. Have never visited there, but am now inspired to know what a lovely place it is. Glad you are feeling more chipper.

  4. skip704 says:

    Your photos do a wonderful job of showing off the beauty of the Tremont neighborhood. If you return, there is a wonderful candy store…luscious chocolates made right on the premises. They are so rich that one is enough…even for chocolate-loving me! I think both pictures of St. Theodosius are amazing…much better than the one I took during a summer walk in Tremont. I’m inspired to go back and try again.

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Carolyn. 🙂

      And thanks for the tip on the candy store. Sounds wonderful! I’ll be sure to stop and try a chocolate the next time we’re up that way.

  5. thanks for sharing Cleveland with us. I’ve never been to that part of the country. I like the architecture–looks interesting. And that heavily photo-shopped photo–I love it!

  6. Kel says:

    cleveland looks like a fun place
    and that salted caramel cupcake looks delicious….and so cheap!
    we’d pay $4-5 for something like that

    glad you’re on the mend

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Kel. 🙂

      Cleveland is fun. Prior to moving up this way, I never thought of Cleveland as fun. If I thought of it at all, I suppose I was expecting a rundown city with not much going for it. I am happy to say I was wrong.

  7. dragonfae says:

    Yep, sleep is good! Need to get some of that myself. 🙄

    I love the shots of the the cathedral … gorgeous!

    Glad you’re feeling better! *hugs*

  8. eof737 says:

    Glad to read that you are feeling better. Cleveland looks gorgeous… What a beautiful city. Love all the photos and could use some of that caramel cupcake. 😉

  9. afrankangle says:

    I enjoys cathedrals and the architecture associated with Orthodox churches. This also reminds me of the strong Eastern European influence in Cleveland – which is a major difference with Cincinnati.

    Hope you are feeling better.

  10. ceceliafutch says:

    First, I an happy to hear that you are feeling better.

    Second, I am going to have to check out the Tremont area of Cleveland. It looks like a fascinating place. I love the photographs, especially of the buildings.

  11. I didn’t realize you were not well, I’m so glad to hear you’re feeling better. Your photos felt like I was walking along with you:)

  12. SAJ says:

    beautiful pics and I too am happy that you are feeling better!

  13. Glad to hear you’re feeling better, Robin. A kindly doctor once told me to never underestimate the healing power of sleep. Your photographs of Cleveland are great – I especially liked the lighting in the bridge over the highway.

  14. Bo Mackison says:

    Don’t think I’ve ever seen Cleveland, though we’ve driven through. Tremont really does look like a delightful neighborhood. I’d love to do an explore there.

  15. Dana says:

    LOVE the photos of the Orthodox Cathedral! Looks like a gorgeous place to visit.

  16. So glad you’re feeling better!
    Looks like a nice city.

  17. Yay! Glad you’re feeling better! I love what you did with the last photo.


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

