In transit

On the Pennsylvania Turnpike at the beginning of our trip.

I do a lot of shooting out the windows during our car trips.  It helps me occupy the time when I am tired of, or don’t feel like, reading.  M does the driving as it’s not something I like to do.  I will drive if I must.  I just don’t like it.  Most of the drive-by shootings I take end up deleted.  But every now and then I get what I consider an interesting shot.

Raining leaves

It was quite blustery on our drive out to New Jersey and Pennsylvania.  There was an area of low pressure moving through at the time.  A family member referred to it as “that inland hurricane.”   I don’t know if you can see it well in this photo, but there were leaves flying everywhere.  (You can click on the photos to see the slightly larger versions.)  It is not a phenomenon that is easily captured so I spent more time watching the leaves as they danced and twirled than I did trying to take photos of them.

Some of the autumn hues, particularly the yellows, were almost glowing when we made the journey east.  The reds were more prominent on the ride back.

With over 600 photos taken on this trip, it’s going to take me a while to sort through them all.  Today’s weather is helping me with the sorting project.  It is gray, rainy, and chilly.  In other words, a good day to sit inside and wade through all the photos.  We had a brief moment of sunshine early this morning.  The colors on the trees were bright against the background of the dark gray sky.  It was quite a beautiful sight.  I’ll show it to you later in this post.

31/365:  It is day 31 of my yoga and food commitments.  It is still going well and on plan.  I am much more flexible than when I started, and continue to learn how far I can or should push myself.  The daily yoga practice makes me feel taller.  Of course I am not taller, but I have the illusion of tallness for a little while after I finish.

I just finished reading (and enjoying) The Year of Living Biblically: One Man’s Humble Quest to Follow the Bible as Literally as Possible and it brought to mind the possibility of engaging in yoga in a way that involves more than just the practice on the mat.  I am thinking of getting a few books on yoga regarding both the practice and the philosophy.  If you happen to have any recommendations, please leave them in the comments section.  There are so many books to choose from that I would welcome any and all suggestions.  I won’t be immersing myself quite the way A. J. Jacobs did in his book, but would like to take the time to learn more during my year-long challenge.

As seen on today's walk: The little sugar maple near the wildflower meadow.

That’s about it from the Bogs for today.  It is so good to be home even with a long to-do list looming over the next few days (weeks).  This last trip reminded me that I need to really buckle down on my de-cluttering project.  I don’t want my children or grandchildren to have to sort through so much stuff when I die.

This morning's view of the pond.

Thanks for dropping by and joining me as I get settled back in to life and my daily routine here in the Bogs.  🙂

30 Comments on “In transit”

  1. Mimo.on says:

    …the Pennsylvania Turnpike remainds to me one shot from The Road movie…

    • Robin says:

      I haven’t seen The Road yet. I read the book a few months ago, and keep meaning to order the DVD from NetFlix. Thanks for the reminder, Mimo. 🙂

  2. anhinga says:

    The fifth picture up has something spooky in the dark portion. 🙂 Love the sugar maple! You certainly have it all over Florida in the fall. Beautiful shots.

  3. milkayphoto says:

    Gorgeous sugar maple image!

  4. looking at to the pond on a day like this must bring you a moment of serenity.

  5. Kel says:

    never heard of that book Robin, but the reviews paint it as a hilarious non-put-down-able book

    your own year of yogini living sounds like an interesting adventure too

    • Robin says:

      The book was pretty good, Kel. It surprised me. As for my year of yogini living, it’s been interesting for me, but not in ways I can put into words on the blog. I’ll have to work on that. 🙂

  6. afrankangle says:

    Hey hey … the hotel view pic makes it to header status. Cheers … I remembered the shot!

    Something about having green trees in the mix that give the fall colors an interesting contrast. I favor the sixth one. Well done on all.

  7. Karma says:

    Welcome back Robin. That tree is quite beautiful. I feel like I missed out on the vibrant colors this year so it is nice to see yours!

    • Robin says:

      Thanks, Karma. I’m surprised you didn’t get more color eventually. There wasn’t much at the beginning of our trip but it turned pretty colorful, pretty quickly during the week we were gone.

  8. Robin, your last sentence made my laugh, so true. I’ve been de-cluttering myself. I’m a collector of boxes, so when I through them out it looks like we just spent a lot of money, when I foolishly think I’m going use them for something or re-package to sell, I never do, I just give the stuff away. I love all your fall photos. It brings back memories of living in the East coast area. Safe travels.

  9. eof737 says:

    You captured the changing hues of the leaves to its current vibrancy… Love those colorful trees. Fall totally rocks! 🙂

  10. LOL I do the same thing! At least on the longer trips, I always have the camera in the car with me (on my lap!) for those out-of-the-window-shots. I don’t like to drive either, and when I do, it’s usually only for an hour or so, so hubby can rest. And, I REFUSE to drive through big cities!
    Gorgeous photos!

  11. I loved that book…AJ’s a riot.

    Welcome home!

  12. carlaat says:

    Hi Robin,
    I like Meditations from the Mat by Rolf Gates and Katrina Kenison. Check out the online reviews and see what you think. Beautiful photos as always! I miss the sugar maples . . .

    • Robin says:

      Carla: Interesting coincidence. I ordered Meditations from the Mat before posting yesterday. I’m glad you recommended it. That reinforces my decision. 🙂

  13. sherri says:

    i’ve been on that turnpike many times. looks like you’re having fabulous colors.

  14. skip704 says:

    Love that sugar maple and the view of your pond. Wonderful-both of them. Can’t say the same for the Pennsylvania turnpike though. I don’t like it at all (the turnpike that is, not your pictures. They are just fine.)!

  15. jane tims says:

    Hi. I like to take photos as we drive. When I return home, they are often the ones that capture the landscape best. The ‘flying leaves’ came out well! Jane


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

