A quick trip to Philadelphia

Driving in to Philly

Sometimes the best laid plans of mice, men, and women do work out.  That was the case yesterday.  On our way to New Jersey to visit with my family, we stopped to see Jenna, our artist friend.  She sent us an invitation to POST and we decided to surprise her by showing up since we planned to be nearby.  Regular visitors to Life in the Bogs may recall that we took a tour of Jenna’s studio back in June.  For those who didn’t see the post or want a refresher, click here.

Since this isn’t time-sensitive (the event is over), and I want to do this visit justice, with photos and all, my main post on our experience with POST will have to wait until I am home.  In the meantime, I would like to point you in the direction of the website of another artist we met while there, Michael Morgan’s  BRICKWORKS.  The work he does with bricks is brilliant.  Rather than have me try to describe it, I think it’s best if you go have a look for yourself.  I have to tell you, I covet this silo.  Isn’t it incredible?

On the Schuykill River Trail in Manayunk, Pennsylvania.

Before leaving Philadelphia, M and I decided to take a short bicycle ride.  We crossed over the Schuykill River to Manayunk where we got on the Schuykill River Trail which uses the Manayunk Canal Towpath for that section of the trail.

It was a short ride (4 miles round trip), but very nice.  We had dinner at a restaurant near the trail and then finished our trip to New Jersey.

It has been a long day.  A long trip already in some ways.  I’ll explain about that tomorrow.  Thanks for dropping by and joining me on our quick jaunt to one of my favorite cities.

15 Comments on “A quick trip to Philadelphia”

  1. carlaat says:

    Thanks for posting the Brickworks link – you’re right – incredible work with bricks!
    Hope the rest of your trip is enjoyable.

  2. ladyfi says:

    Love the light on that path! Hope you had a great day.

  3. Kala says:

    The light on the river trail path looks gorgeous!

  4. ElizOF says:

    Will checkout the link… Hope you had a lovely time. I was going to mention that there is a bakery in Manayunk that makes the best bread… Yummy. 🙂

  5. jenna says:

    That was big time fun! I’m really glad you snuck out to my studio neighborhood.

    I had a feeling you would like Michael’s stuff. He’s a good studio mate in addition to being a good artist.

  6. jenna says:

    Did you like the towpath? I like that section of the river trail. I keep meaning to start around there and follow it through Conshohocken to Norristown when the weather’s nice, but life tends to get in the way.

  7. afrankangle says:

    Seeing the work of the artists you mentioned serves as another reminder of the collective, genius work of artists is extra impressive. I think of all the type of media and all the styles … simply endless and a tribute to the human expression. Hope the rest of your trip is safe.

  8. Goodness–the silo is stunning! Did I mention that it’s stunning? S. T. U. N. N. I. N. G.
    Kathy

  9. Marianne says:

    Sounds like a fun adventure, Robin. I love the view of the city. It’s beautiful!

    The canal looks like a nice place for a bicycle ride as well. I think I’d enjoy the dinner part the most having not rode a bicycle in many, many years.

    Have fun!

  10. Pat Bean says:

    I love that path. It beckons me to follow it. Thanks for sharing.

  11. Robin says:

    Thank you everyone. I’m glad you enjoyed our little adventure, and that you’re taking the time to visit Michael’s website. 🙂

  12. So nice that you took the time to stop and spend some time in Philly. We drove through a couple of years ago and I wished that we had been able to stay a day and see the city.

    • Robin says:

      If you ever get the chance, Michaela, you should definitely take some time to explore Philadelphia. It’s a great city. One of my faves. 🙂

  13. […] in a series of Histo-portraits which you can read about here.)  Since I wrote about the visit here, I’ll just move on and ramble about something else […]


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

