Leaves

How beautifully leaves grow old.  How full of light and color are their last days. 

~John Burroughs

If all has gone as planned, M and I should be in New Jersey by the time this post goes out.  Hopefully I’ll have time and internet access to do some live and in person blogging tomorrow.

The "artsy" version

That was the scheduled post.  It’s Saturday evening and we are relaxing in Breezewood, Pennsylvania after completing half of the drive today.

Somewhere on the Pennsylvania Turnpike. (One of the very few sections where there is no construction going on.)

We arrived in Breezewood around 3:00pm.  After checking in at our hotel, we hopped back in the car and took a short drive to Hancock, Maryland.

View from our hotel in Breezewood.

What’s in Hancock, Maryland?  The Western Maryland Rail Trail, of course.  As you may or may not recall, we brought our bikes with us on this trip in hopes of taking a long bike ride around Amish country in Lancaster County, Pennsylvania.  (Quick note:  Please excuse typos and the quality of this post and photos.  I’m going to be rushing through my posts while we’re traveling.)

On the Western Maryland Rail Trail.

The weather when we left home was cloudy, chilly, and very windy.  The wind stayed with us as we traveled, but the clouds must have gone on ahead.  The sky cleared and even with the strong winds, it was a gorgeous day.  We decided to ride into the wind for the first half of our ride.

It was a short bike ride (a little over 8 miles).  The scenery along the trail is beautiful.  The trees out this way don’t have as much color as at home, although there do seem to be quite a few leaves on the ground.  The nice thing about rail trails is that they are relatively flat.  On the Western Maryland Rail Trail you can ride through the mountains instead of climbing up and down them.

The Potomac River

The trail, built on the abandoned Western Maryland Railway, follows the Potomac River’s route through the mountains.  We had glimpses of it occasionally, and stopped to have a good look once we finished our ride.  The ride back, by the way, was much easier without having to fight against the wind.  It was a great workout after all that car time.

I’m still on track with my yoga and food commitments.  The food choices were interesting.  We stopped at a favorite diner where they have amazing cheeseburgers.  Having given up that sort of food, no cheeseburger for me.  I considered having a slice of their fabulous coconut custard pie, but reason prevailed to some degree.  I had a grilled cheese and tomato sandwich with coleslaw and fries.  M and I split the fries.  Veggies at this particular diner are sparse, and most people don’t stop there for a vegetarian meal.

For dinner I had a small salad, broccoli, and six  butterflied shrimp, breaded (with panko) and deep fried.  It was delicious (as was lunch), and in this area, the best I could do.  The one vegetarian restaurant we knew about (where we hoped to have lunch) has gone out of business.  It was a raw food type of place in the middle of deer hunting country in Pennsylvania.  I don’t think it stood much of a chance in that location even if they did have the occasional celebrity stop by.  (We were told on our last visit that one of the guitar players from Yes ate there.  You don’t accidentally find this place.  You have to be seeking it.)

Tomorrow (which is today by the time this post goes out) we will continue on to New Jersey to visit with my family.  We might even surprise a friend along the way.  That’s the hope.  There is a possibility we may have to change our plans.

Thanks for dropping by today and joining me on my travels.  🙂

19 Comments on “Leaves”

  1. Oh how I miss Maryland! I lived there for only two years, but they were VERY happy years and since then, I’ve considered Maryland “home”. Wish we could move back.
    Sounds like you’re enjoying your trip so far. The leaves are beautiful.

  2. giselzitrone says:

    Lieber Gruss und einen schönen Wochenstart Gislinde

  3. carlaat says:

    I grew up in New Jersey! I’ll look forward to fall photos you post from my home state. Hope you’re enjoying your trip!

  4. ElizOF says:

    Stunning! You captured the best leaves and the colors are amazing.TY! 🙂
    Eliz

  5. rail trails are wonderful for biking, hiking, or even strolling at times.

  6. Lovely post!
    Enjoy the trip…

  7. afrankangle says:

    The pics are fine because you have the eye for it. Thanks for capturing the beauties of biking in the fall. Meanwhile, passing on a good cheeseburger isn’t easy, well done. Have a safe trip.

  8. What lovely photos of the changing leaves. Makes me miss Pennsylvania in the fall. Looking forward to hearing more about your trip.
    Kathy

  9. Pat Bean says:

    Beautiful leaves, great quote.

  10. Looks like you’ve got some real nice colours there right now, hope you find plenty more in Maryland too… Have a great trip Robin.. 🙂

  11. nigel says:

    what wonderful colours.

  12. If you’re in North Jersey–you’ll see more color. The fall colors haven’t quite reached near peaking yet. Enjoy your stay in my home state!!

    • Robin says:

      We’re in South Jersey, Teresita. I grew up here, spending part of my summers at the shore. In fact, my husband and I met in Wildwood, over 36 years ago. (Boy, we’re old! lol!) I’m a Jersey girl. 😀

  13. Kathy says:

    It looks like there are colorful leaves all along your way. What a nice trip! I know some of the challenges of finding good vegetarian/vegan food when traveling. It can be really challenging. Wishing you much luck to find good, healthy food as you continue to travel.

  14. Robin says:

    Thank you, thank you, and thank you everyone. Sorry to have to do these hit and run, all-for-one, one-for-all responses to your wonderful comments. My days are filled with family right now. 🙂

  15. Christine Grote says:

    It’s hard to stay on a strict diet regiment while traveling. Sometimes you just have to make do. My problem is that too much making do usually knocks me completely off course.

    Have a great trip.

  16. Judith says:

    Thanks for sharing your travels. The pics are amazing as always.

  17. […] trail is 22.5 miles and paved.  As mentioned in this previous post, the trail winds through the mountains of western Maryland, following the curves of the Potomac […]

  18. Robin says:

    Thank you, Christine and Judith. 🙂


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

