Play date

Autumn reflections

It is raining here in the Bogs today.  Damp, chilly, gray.  The occasional gust of wind swings by and leaves come flying off the trees by the hundreds.  Or the thousands.  There are a lot of leaves out there.

I took some photos of the trees around the pond yesterday, and decided to play with them in Photoshop today.  I consider it my artist’s date for the week.  It was a delightful way to spend a rainy morning.

It beats doing laundry and cleaning house.  Eventually I did have to get started on those things, but it was nice to spend a couple of hours joyfully playing with colors.  And critters.

Preying on the deck

The preying mantises have moved out of the meadows and up to the deck and house.  It looks almost like a sci-fi movie out there.  Attack of the Preying Mantises.  Opening the patio door to come into the house, one very large mantis flew inside and looked ready to take up residence on the dining room wall.  He was easy enough to move.  All you have to do is give them something to grasp, then carry them to where you want them.  I’ve done that a few times now, to keep the cats from playing with them when they’re outside.

Playing with Preying on the deck.

After I finished with yesterday’s photos, I grabbed the camera and took a few more from inside the house and outside. I played with those, too.

The post I originally wrote today was a snarky look at my experiences so far with The Artist’s Way.  I put it aside for now.  I have discovered that snarkiness needs to sit by itself for a while.  Something good may come of it, but right now it is unattractive.

In spite of the snark and sarcasm, I did come to the conclusion that I will continue on with The Artist’s Way for now.  I am benefiting from some aspects of it, even those things I resist at first.  Especially those things I resist at first.

Looking out the kitchen window on a rainy fall day

My new commitments will be put to the test soon.  M and I will be traveling east to visit with family and friends.  I learned with my outdoor commitment that it’s easy enough to stick with a commitment at home, but not always easy when we’re traveling.  The daily yoga practice should be no problem.  Giving up meat, though, means I have given up hoagies and cheesesteaks, and might run into difficulties at family dinners where vegetables often play a small role if they show up at all.

It will certainly be interesting, that’s for sure.  In the meantime, I’m going to spend the next few days getting the house ready for our house-sitters, and preparing and freezing a few vegetarian dishes that I can take along for back-up.  Just in case.

That’s it from the Bogs for today.  Thanks for dropping by and joining me on my play date.  I’ll be back tomorrow with some hot air balloon photos.  🙂

41 Comments on “Play date”

  1. I love the work you did in Photoshop. They look like paintings. I’ll have to play around with it myself one day. Missing my camera though!

  2. chriscaff says:

    Love your work. The pictures are fab, so you musn’t stop doing it. Good luck on your travels.

  3. Your paintings are beautiful! I have Corel Painter Essentials 4 but can’t quite figure it out.

    • Robin says:

      Thanks, Michaela. 🙂

      I don’t think I’ll ever figure out Photoshop. I gave up on the reading and the tutorials for now. Instead I just sit and play.

  4. CMSmith says:

    It’s always hard for me to keep to a specific eating plan when traveling. It almost always throws me off course.

    I love your impressionistic photos today.

  5. tedgriffith says:

    Robin, these are beautiful! The colors are so vibrant and expressive of the season. Applause, applause, loud cheering! 😀

  6. Joanne says:

    I’m sure you can declare your play date a huge success, with such beautiful photos to show for it Robin! It’s like a double dose of autumn colours. And haven’t your little preying mantis friends posed beautifully for you? I love it when they visit my garden. 🙂

    It could be just gremlins in my computer, but the last photo here isn’t showing up, I have just a blank white frame! :/

    Have a safe trip to your family. 🙂

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Joanne. 🙂

      That happens to me sometimes with photos too. I think it’s a glitch in WordPress. (That’s my story and I’m stickin’ to it. lol!)

  7. Bless your heart, I know how hard the Artist Way can be. You have my empathy! However, what you did on your artist date with the fall photos is stunning–truly stunning. Did I mention that they’re stunning?
    Kathy

  8. ladyfi says:

    What a gorgeous effect – it makes everything looks like a beautiful Impressionist painting!

  9. afrankangle says:

    First-time visitor courtesy of DragonFae. Simply awesome pictures, so thanks for sharing your gift … and greetings from the SW corner of your state.

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, AFrankAngle. And thank you so much for stopping by and commenting. I appreciate it. 🙂

      It’s been a long time since I’ve been to the SW corner of the state. I used to live in southeast Ohio (the southern most point of the state, in fact, along the Ohio River), and Cincinnati was one of our go-to cities at the time.

  10. I also love what you did to make the images look like paintings – so pretty!!

  11. bearyweather says:

    The colors are magnificent! I have told you many times that I love when you get artsy and paint .. that is what first caught my eye when I found your blog.
    I think I am going to have my photography class look at yours pictures and then try one of their own .. it will give me an opportunity to “play”, too.
    Today’s photos are really extra special … thank you for sharing them.

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Bearyweather. 🙂

      It would be interesting to see how and what your class does with that assignment. Will you be able to show any of the photos?

  12. Pat Bean says:

    Day after day your photos continue to amaze and inspire me. Thanks

  13. nigel says:

    Beautiful photographs and fantastic PP.

  14. Thank you very very much for sharing all your fabulous pictures. they are all fantastic.

  15. Anna says:

    Gorgeous and artistic Photoshop painterly effects Autumn reflections!

  16. ElizOF says:

    You did a wonderful job with the Photoshop on the trees. It didn’t detract from the colors and beauty… I send you best wishes for your trip. I usually politely inform my host of my food restrictions before they even serve the first meal… It helps with the possible awkwardness that can arise when dinner is served and you can’t eat any of it… works like a charm. 🙂

  17. My loss for not visiting blogs as often as I should. What you have here is so delightful for the eyes. I love what you have been doing. These trees are out of this world good, wow…

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Preston. 🙂

      I know how busy life can get, making it difficult to get around to visiting other blogs. It was good to see you again.

  18. milkayphoto says:

    The bogs are lovely in any colors. 🙂 The praying mantises (manti??) are incredible. I also capture and move bugs outdoors. Just don’t have the heart to kill them.

    Yes, it is tough to keep committments up when travelling, but it IS doable. Just got back from a short trip to Florida and managed to hit the gym 3 times! (With all the food and drink we were consuming, this was not only necessary for the extra calories but also, for my peace of mind. PLUS, getting to use a new elliptical actually showed me that I am achieveing more than I thought since my machine has pitiful statistics).

    I think your plans for travel are very smart. You do what you can and the rest will work itself out. Have a great time!

    • Robin says:

      Thanks, Tracy. 🙂

      You’re right. It is doable. M and I have been walking, running, hiking, and biking to keep ourselves on track. Yoga every morning, first thing. The food is a little more difficult but so far, so good. 😀


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

