Throwback Tuesday

In the Garden of the Gods. Colorado Springs, Colorado. August 2010.

I’m not sure I like that title.  It sounds a bit like I’m throwing Tuesday back because I don’t like it or something.  Ah well.  Titles are not easy for me to come by so I’ll stick with it.

Today is a rather full day for me so I decided to mine the archives (hence the “throwback”) and see what I could come up with for a quick post.  Naturally I ended up in the Colorado section because I have ignored so many of the photos from our last trip out there that I can always come up with something that hasn’t yet appeared on Ye Olde Blogge.

Steamboat Rock

Garden of the Gods is a public park located in Colorado Springs, Colorado.  There are some incredible rock formations in Garden of the Gods.  It is also a very touristy place so you are likely to find quite a few people milling around.  I was surprised to find I have some photos with little or no people in them as it was quite busy the afternoon we visited the park.

Balanced Rock

Balanced Rock is a popular attraction in the park.  It’s near one of the entrances, which might account for some of the popularity.  If you look closely, you’ll see a few people in the above photo.  It does help to give you some idea of scale.

I am told (and have seen photos that corroborate the tales) you can see Pike’s Peak from the park.  We were unable to see it on either of the days we visited Garden of the Gods.  It reminds me of our visit to Yosemite.  It was a quick overnight trip (less than 24 hours) and in that time we were unable to see Half Dome because it was shrouded in clouds, fog, or snow squalls.

It has turned into a gorgeous day here in the Bogs today.  The clouds gradually moved east and we now have a big, beautiful, autumn-blue sky with lots of sunshine.  It is breezy and cool.  I’ve been rushing through my work this afternoon so I can get out there and play.  Hopefully by the time this post goes out, I will be out.  Outdoors, that is.

Thank you for visiting me here in the Bogs today.  Hopefully I’ll have some new photos for you tomorrow.  This day is a show-off kind of day, so pretty that it begs to have its picture taken.  Never let it be said that I didn’t heed the pleas of a pretty day.  🙂

P.S.  My apologies for not keeping up lately.  I’ve fallen behind in responding to comments on my blog, as well as reading and commenting on your blogs.  I hope to catch up soon.

13 Comments on “Throwback Tuesday”

  1. tedgriffith says:

    A lovely post, Robin. I understand totaly about falling behind! (I’m there myself).

  2. Thank God you pointed out the people in the photo of the balanced rock. It does provide an incredible sense of scale. Amazing! (I too have fallen behind on my reading, so I certainly understand.)
    Kathy

  3. Since my camera is off somewhere in Texas, I’m so lost. My point and shoot isn’t quite the same. Plus, I’m having a difficult time keeping up to postaday! Geesh.

  4. Christine Grote says:

    I love your last picture. I’ve never been there but my youngest son got to spend a day sketching there one summer when he attended the Marie Sharpe Walsh ( I’ve probably botched that name) summer art program.

    It’s hard to keep up isn’t it? I understand if you can’t stop by.

  5. Judith says:

    I have never been to Colorado but sure love your photos of that park. Perhaps one day…
    BTW I nominated you for the Versatile Bloggers Award. Enjoy!

  6. carlaat says:

    Western photos – those giant red rocks – always so majestic! Love it. I say take your time getting back online to read blogs – enjoy the time outside instead. Life is short.

  7. ElizOF says:

    I love the rocks; especially Balancing Act… What a stunning location. 🙂

  8. Kel says:

    wonderful rock formations

  9. Marcie says:

    Those rocks and their formations are so beautiful!! And yes – what a beautiful day!

  10. Colorado offers some spectacular views, the whole state is very photogenic – I can’t wait to get back there someday! I understand about not being able to keep up, I’m guilty of that myself lately….

  11. One of my favorite places for sure! When we were there, the girls loved Balanced Rock, and I have pictures of each of them “holding it up” 😀

  12. Pat Bean says:

    You brought back memories, very good ones of a very special place. Thanks

  13. Robin says:

    Thank you so much everyone for your lovely comments. 🙂


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

