A touch of warmth

We had our first fire in the wood-burning fireplace last night.  With the temperature in the 40s and the dampness from the rain, it was a good way to warm things up without resorting to turning on the heat.  It seems too early to be turning on the heat.

Gazing into the embers

One of the things M and I were shopping for yesterday was an insert for our gas fireplace (located in the living room).  As it stands now, the gas fireplace sucks the warm air out of the house without giving back much in the way of heat.  It also produces a great deal of soot.  It’s time for a change.  The inserts we looked at will provide more heat, and draw the air for combustion from the outside rather than from the house.  We’ll be leaving the wood-burning fireplace (in the basement) as it is for now.

One can enjoy a wood fire worthily only when he warms his thoughts by it as well as his hands and feet.

~ Odell Shepherd

The latest photo of the giant mushroom

This is another scheduled post.  M the Younger and his lovely wife, Merdi, will be spending part of the day with us.  The plan is to play board games and have fun inside since it’s supposed to rain for most of the day.  I’ll be making a pumpkin hummus, butternut squash soup, and a vegetarian jambalaya.  If we ask nicely, M (the Elder) will make some cornbread.  It should be a fun day.

March of the Pumpkins

Thanks for visiting.  I hope you’re having a fun filled Sunday, too.  🙂

34 Comments on “A touch of warmth”

  1. nigel says:

    Great photographs, like the fire photos very much and those pumpkins look amazing.

  2. carlaat says:

    Love the puddle on the mushroom and the pumpkins in rows. It’s only gone down into the low 60s here and we’ve popped the heat on to take the chill out of the house – but that’s because it’s so uninsulated! Love your cozy embers pics too. 🙂

  3. The mushroom has become a giant bird-bath Robin! The colour has changed too, or is that just a different light reflection changing the colour in the photo? And where did you find those pumpkins? Are they all yours?

    Sounds like a fun family day you have planned, cozy and warm indoors, and your food desciptions has now made me very hungry! 🙂

    • Robin says:

      The mushroom has been changing color, Joanne, but the lighting makes a difference too. If I’m out there around sunrise or sunset, the light is warmer and the mushroom takes on that warmer tone. I think it is resembling a bird bath now, too. 🙂

      The pumpkins were at a local market. It was one of those times I wished for a ladder. There were so many pumpkins that I needed to be higher up to capture them all in one photo.

  4. Judith says:

    How big will that mushroom get and will you eat it eventually? May I please be a ‘ring in’ family member and share your day?

    • Robin says:

      You certain may, Judith. 🙂

      I’m not sure how big the mushroom will get. I think it may be at its peak now. As for eating it, no. I don’t know what kind of mushroom it is, but I suspect it isn’t edible. The pretty ones usually aren’t good for you.

  5. Kala says:

    Those pumpkins look awesome. I’d love to take one home and put it by my front door.

  6. penpusherpen says:

    Love the march of the pumpkins Robin, tho’ it’s looks like a couple of soldiers broke ranks… (mash time methinks…can’t have sloppy lines 😉 ) … and the giant mushroom is magical…I bet the fairy community are bathing well.. (noticed any bath bubbles at all?) …. Have a wonderful family time together. and great to catch up, I do love my visit to the Bogs.. energizing..(not sure is that should have an ‘s’ or a ‘z’ for Brit spelling???? I do wonder if I’m becoming un-grammatical…like ) xPenx

  7. Lovely, cozy post, all full-up with Fall… I can smell the wood smoke from here!

  8. ladyfi says:

    Oh, I love pumpkins. They are so cheerful!

  9. Barbara Rodgers says:

    Mmmmmm… Scrumptious food and board games with loved ones by the fire – delights to be savored on a rainy autumn day! Love the photos – the fire, the mushroom and the pumpkins…

  10. I would love to warm my hands over that fire, I’ve been cold all day.
    Am I hearng things, or are those pumpkins just BEGGING to be carved?

  11. Kathy says:

    Beautiful woodstove! But the march of those pumpkins is exquisite.

  12. ElizOF says:

    Love the photos especially of the burning fires… warmed my heart. 🙂

  13. Christine Grote says:

    We turned on our heat the other night. I was freezing.

    Our family loves board games. It sounds like a fun time.

  14. ceceliafutch says:

    I liked March of the Pumpkins the most! 🙂

  15. Derrick says:

    We’ve had our first campfire of the season down here as well. There’s just something so magical about a little campfire that draws you in and relaxes you. These images really evoke that feeling – nicely done!

  16. Hallysann says:

    I do love the fire pictures, they’re beautiful. 🙂

  17. jane tims says:

    Hi. Wood stoves are one of the gifts of autumn. Your photos capture the first fire so well. When I look into the flames, time stands still. Jane


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

