woman cold sad September rain

Serving raindrops

I’m borrowing from my blog’s search terms again.  Except for the fact that it’s October, it might not be too hard to come up with an image to go with the post title/search engine term.  It’s another cold and rainy day here in the Bogs.  I’m sure there must be a woman cold, sad, and standing in the October rain somewhere.  It’s too late for being cold and sad in the September rain.  Or too early, depending on your point of view.  (For the record:  The “Sock skating down the hallway” title the other day was not a search engine term.  It’s something I actually do.  No photos of that activity are currently available for viewing.)

Corn stalks blowing in the wind

The low pressure system that was sitting in Chicago and bringing us rain earlier in the week is now sitting out east and bringing us more rain.  It’s a nor’easter for us.  The rain and winds are coming from the northeast.  The weather prognosticators are saying it will be this way until Thursday, at which time the sun will shine and the temperature will rise up out of the 40s and into the 70s of Indian Summer.

I’m not particularly sad about the rain, the gusty winds, or the cold.  The weather has given me a good excuse to stay indoors and finish canning the tomatoes.  I also did a bit of shopping today and had lunch at a new-to-me restaurant, the Sahara Grille in Canton.  M and I shared an appetizer combo platter with good-sized servings of tabouli, humos, falafel, and their Mama Ghanoush (cauliflower dusted with spices and fried).  I had the Mujadara (lentils, rice, and caramelized onions) as my main course.  M had the green beans and tomatoes with rice.  Everything was fresh, delicious, and suited our new, mostly plant-based lifestyle.

This month’s NaBloPoMo theme is Between.

  1. in the space separating (two points, objects, etc.)
  2. intermediate to, in time, quantity, or degree
  3. linking; connecting
  4. in portions for each of (two people)
  5. among

(From Dictionary.com)

Wind in the willows

We are in a between time right now, transitioning from warm to cold.  In between, we’ll have a few more warm, sunny days to balance out these damp, chilly days.  October is like that here in the Bogs.

Black birds on a bare tree

This is when summer and winter battle it out.  During the truces, the space between battles, we have lovely, mild, good days for hiking, biking, and working outside.

Dogwood curves

It can be exhilarating at times, even on the gray, rainy days.

I will not officially participate in NaBloPoMo this month, but I think I’ll take a stab at exploring the theme of Between for a few posts.  I’ll keep it in mind as I go on my daily walks with my camera. I am sure there are many ways to interpret Between in images (such as the strips of mowed grass in between the areas left to go wild in the photo above or the pond between me and the meadows).

My blog stats took a huge jump upwards today.  I’m not sure why (I haven’t had time to look into it thoroughly).  I was not Freshly Pressed or anything of that nature.  Whatever the reason, hello to all of my new visitors.  I’m not sure I should say hello here since you are all visiting my last blog post, but just in case.  Hello.  🙂

Pond reflection

That’s about it from the Bogs for this first Saturday in October.  I’m heading back to the kitchen to work on the rest of the tomatoes.  Thank you for dropping by and joining me as I try to weave words between my images.

Day 6/365 of my yoga and food commitments.  As of this posting, I have not yet spent any time on my yoga mat today.  I will remedy that soon with an relaxing evening session of yoga.  (Just thought I would start tacking the updates to the bottom of my posts so I don’t spend whole blog posts yammering on about yoga or sudden cravings for meat.  Those cravings still puzzle me.)

24 Comments on “woman cold sad September rain”

  1. carlaat says:

    My favorite is the black birds in the tree.

  2. Actualy, the cool colors in the photos made me feel a bit chilly! Honest. Love the food you had–especially the Mujadara–yummy. Hope Sunday is sunny!

  3. The cravings are normal, but be sure you’re getting enough iron – red meat is a good source, even if you weren’t eating much of it before…
    You’re cold and rainy, we’re hot and rainy…it just needs to move on out, and be FALL…

  4. ladyfi says:

    It might be cold – but those photos are warming with their beauty!

  5. Anna says:

    Oh my, Robin, your blog looks so pretty with the colors and wonderful photo header! I just love each of the photos in this post–gorgeous. My goodness, you have a great creative flare with post processing! Well, what a neat idea using search engine terms. I’ve seen some doozys for our photo blog and wondered, ‘What the heck?’ LOL Ah, you are in the yoga. I haven’t started even though I had intended to do so on the first day of autumn. I really do need to start a yoga practice just for me (never too late to start). Anyway, I really enjoyed this post. Always a delight visiting your blog.

  6. Pat Bean says:

    Fantastic colors, especially the red and purple leaves… The first leaf with raindrops is definitely my favorite. Thanks for sharing.

  7. ElizOF says:

    I love the purple and blue colors behind some of the shots… These are truly lovely and cooling.. TY! 🙂

  8. Kathy says:

    Robin, I always sigh over the beauty of your photographs. You have such a natural touch. My blog had two wild & crazy days last week too, and I couldn’t figure out why. Maybe someone was just reading through old posts. Or maybe it was a wild & crazy spell in the blogosphere? Hope you were able to get on the yoga mat. I got down there last night and this morning and it felt soooo good. Are your tomatoes all done for the year now?

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Kathy. 🙂

      Tomatoes are still coming in here, although we’re nearing the end of the season. The weather has been kind to the vegetables this year.

  9. Marcie says:

    We are in that same cold..damp weather system. And – the photo of the birds on the bare tree is exquisite!

  10. Over here in Oz our weather is having trouble deciding what season to settle with too Robin. A couple of days ago we began with some heat and thunder at 9am, it then turned cool and windy, we had hail for about five minutes, then the sun came out again and it bacame warm again. The day ended with strong gusty wind and it was freezing cold again. Talk about all four seasons in a day!

    I would have written a blog post about our strange weather day, but couldn’t post anything as my website has been hacked, so maybe there IS something strange going on in the blogosphere!

    The colour of the dogwood leaves is just gorgeous and I’m sure your expertise with the camera has helped also, the way the light reflecting on the leaves shows so many different shades of red. 🙂

  11. Marianne says:

    The meal at the restaurant sounds really yummy, Robin. Photos are beautiful, as always. I especially like “serving raindrops” and “pond reflection”.

  12. Beautiful! Your “Black Birds on a Bare Tree” drew me in right away, love the processing on that one!

  13. Adore that first photo. Gorgeous!

  14. Such pretty photos again. The ones that stand out are the first one, the birds on the bare tree, and the last one.

  15. Barbara Rodgers says:

    Oh Robin, the deep blue-green color in the “Serving raindrops” pictures is stunning – it’s so rare to see that shade of color and I feel ecstatic whenever I do see it!

    The Sahara Grille sounds like my kind of restaurant – yummy! The Mujaddara sounds very good – found a recipe online and am thinking I will try making it soon. I finished reading the book you mentioned, “The China Study.” We’re going to give it a try – the information was life altering. Thank you so much for the suggestion!

  16. milkayphoto says:

    Black birds on a tree is a keeper! 🙂

  17. Robin says:

    Thank you so much everyone. 🙂

  18. Hallysann says:

    Lovely pictures again, I’m off in search of the sock skating ! 😀

  19. jane tims says:

    My favorite is ‘black birds on a bare tree’. The birds here are gathering too. Jane


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

