361: Seasonal fire and rain

The rain has returned, and it looks like it’s here until tomorrow morning.  It’s chilly too.  It would be a good day to light a fire in the fireplace.  I have been slightly (just oh-so-slightly) tempted to turn on the heat to take the edge off the chill and damp, but I can’t bring myself to do it on a day that is still counted, according to the calendar, as a summer day.  Besides, we recently pre-paid our heating fuel bill for this upcoming season of cold, and that stuff ain’t cheap.  I’m going to be investing in fleece and other things to keep warm this winter.

The first fire

Over the weekend, M the Elder and M the Younger built a fire ring not too far from the deck out back.  Far enough to be safe, of course, but close enough we don’t have to walk half a mile to stand by the fire.  I exaggerate a little.  The spot where we usually have our fires is only about a tenth of a mile from the house.  Maybe not even that far.

They used leftover flagstones from Project Patio (you can see and read a little about that project here), and rocks from the creek.  I think they did a fine job.  We had our first fire in the new fire ring last night, and all went well.  The sky was relatively clear, with lots of stars visible.  We could even see the Milky Way.  It was a great night to sit outside and watch the flames dancing with the logs.

Except for the two shots of the fire, the photos in this post are leftovers from the weekend.  It is not a good day for taking photographs outside.  I took my walk outside sans camera.  I could have posed my breakfast and lunch for some food photography practice to post, but I do have a plethora of leftovers from this past year of getting outside every day and taking far too many pictures.

Broken, revisited.

I originally tried to set a limit of 15 photos per outing, but that got thrown out sometime during the winter months.  Probably when we took that hike to the Blue Wall.  It might have happened early on in the commitment, though.  Perhaps when we took the bike ride that helped M and I decide to buy bicycles as part of our apparent mid-life crises in which we purchased cross-country skis and bicycles in less than a year’s time.  I’m surprised we didn’t add kayaks to that mix.

Lady bug, lady bug...

Or it could have been the Mum Fest and my attempts at portraiture.  I am fairly certain it was long before I became Mesmerized with winter.

It was in the Mesmerized post I mentioned that I fell in love with winter, and hoped to feel that way about all four seasons by the end of this commitment.

An autumn bouquet

It did happen.  At some point in each season, I had not only learned to appreciate the season, but came to love it.  Here is where it happened in the spring.  I ran out of time looking for the autumn and summer posts.  I’ll see if I can find them tomorrow.

Spring passes and one remembers one’s innocence
Summer passes and one remember one’s exuberance
Autumn passes and one remembers one’s reverence
Winter passes and one remember one’s perseverance.

~ Yoko Ono, Season of Glass

That’s about it from the Bogs for today.  Thank you for dropping by.  I ‘ll be back tomorrow with another edition of the Great Outdoor Adventures.


30 Comments on “361: Seasonal fire and rain”

  1. Someday, I want to learn to take good night pictures like you…
    Just lovely!

  2. Marianne says:

    Very excellent that your outdoor commitment brought new perspective. That is so cool! Kudos to you for keeping up with the challenge also. Robin, you amaze me. Great photos as well.

  3. Martina says:

    Love the fire shot. Great autumn colors in your photos. I admire your commitment of being outside everday. It’s a good idea for all, if possible.

  4. Another WOW collection for me Robin, but I’m ever so slightly disappointed not to see a shot of the Milky Way though… lol… Must have been real nice out there around the fire though… 🙂

  5. Do you find it addicting to take pictures of fires (inbetween roasting marshmallows and making s’mores 😉 )? I know I do. It’s so much fun, seeing how they turn out and how no two are ever the same.
    We bought a little fire pit last spring, but only got to use it a couple of times, because it’s just not safe with the straw growing where the grass used to be.

  6. bearyweather says:

    For some reason, Fall is my favorite time for outdoor campfires … maybe it is a way to hang on to some heat of summer, the dryness and stillness (or the fact that the mosquitoes do not chase me in the house).
    😉

    Great collection of pictures …. sigh …. by the look and smell of things here in the woods, I guess Fall is really here … and there. Where did the summer go?

  7. ElizOF says:

    How did I miss this post? I never got it Robin… odd! Anyway, I love that fire shot…. Summer has let town in my area. 🙂

  8. Marcie says:

    Love that image of the fire burning. And – yes – it is feeling cool and damp and wet..and very autumnal!!!

  9. giselzitrone says:

    Ein lieber Gruss von mir und der Winter lässt nich mehr lange auf sich warten lieber Gruss Gislinde

  10. Norm says:

    Tho you say you were shooting in less than ideal lighting circumstance you certainly came away with a terrific selection of shots.

    Great minds think alike I suppose – Lynda and I sat out Sat & Sun nights having fires in our cast iron chimenia. Nice and still, not even a whisper of a breeze.

    Lovely Robin.

  11. Karma says:

    I love the quote you found about the seasons. It is perfect! Did you try taking any shots of the milky way? I live far too close to “civilization” and all the lights that go with it to be able to see something as wonderful as that in the sky.

  12. Kathy says:

    We pre-paid our fuel, too, Ms. Robin. I feel like we’re all running toward the finish line with you. It’s almost there!

    • Robin says:

      Yep, almost there, Kathy. It feels good. But a little sad, too. Not too sad, though, since I made the decision to keep going. Not the blogging part. The getting outside part. 🙂

      • Karma says:

        Hey wait a second – you are part of post-a-day 2011, so you’ve got to keep blogging daily, at least through the end of this year, right?

        PS Is your socky-feet avatar part of of the changing seasons?

        • Robin says:

          Well, theoretically that’s true, Karma. In actuality… I dunno. I’ll keep going as long as it doesn’t feel like a burden to do so. If I make it to the end of the year, great. If not, oh well. Sometimes it’s okay to give up. 🙂

          And yep, the socky-feet are part of the changes. My feet were getting cold. We’ve had a warm-up recently so I might go barefoot for a day or two.

  13. boy that leaf photo with the yellow veining and the gold shimmering in the background–nice!

  14. Hallysann says:

    Your fire pictures are wonderful !
    I followed the link to your pictures of snow and ice too. You put them up before I started blogging, I’m so glad I didn’t miss them.
    Thanks. 🙂


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

