347: Path

Path somewhere in Red Rock Canyon. Colorado Springs, Colorado. August 2010.

This week’s Photo Challenge is Path.  I have a fondness for photographing pathways and portals of all kinds, making this an easy challenge for me.  Although I prefer to use new photos for challenges, I’ll have to dig into the archives for this one because M and I are in Detroit for the Detroit Jazz Festival.  This is another scheduled post.

We’ll be home sometime today.  I’m not sure how late or early we’ll be.  It will depend on the weather, the music, our moods.

The photos in this post were taken in August of 2010 at Red Rock Canyon in Colorado Springs.  It was a foggy morning so we were unable to see Pike’s Peak from the park.

The initial mystery that attends any journey is:  How did the traveler reach his starting point in the first place?

~ Louise Bogan, U.S. poet, 1897-1970

There is an expression — walking with beauty.  And I believe that this endless search for beauty in surroundings, in people and one’s personal life, is the headstone of travel.

~ Juliette de Bairacli Levy, Traveler’s Joy, 1979

The thing to remember when traveling is that the trail is the thing, not the end of the trail.  Travel too fast and you miss all you are traveling for.

~ Louis L’Amour, Western writer, 1908-1988

The big question is whether you are going to be able to say a hearty yes to your adventure.

~ Joseph Campbell

There’s some end at last for the man who follows a path:  mere rambling is interminable.

~ Seneca

Travelers, there is no path, paths are made by walking.

~ Antonio Machado

To find new things, take the path you took yesterday.

~ John Burroughs

How can you explain that you need to know that the trees are still there, and the hills and the sky?  Anyone knows they are.  How can you say it is time your pulse responded to another rhythm, the rhythm of the day and the season instead of the hour and the minute?  No, you cannot explain.  So you walk.

~ Source Unknown

32 Comments on “347: Path”

  1. Beautiful! You’re not too far from me right now! Enjoy the festival, at least it’s not too hot!! 🙂

  2. Enjoy the music – I sure enjoyed your photos today!

  3. carlaat says:

    Love the Louis L’Amour quote, especially. Thank you!

  4. ElizOF says:

    Have fun at the festival and bring photos.. I love the various pathways featured here; especially the red rock roads… gorgeous. Love pathways. 🙂

  5. I love the Joseph Campbell quote. I’m not familiar with that one. Hope your path home is a safe one!
    Kathy

  6. Bo Mackison says:

    I’ve always loved the quote about taking the same path to see new things. SO true. I love photographing paths and portals too — the mystique or the adventure of not knowing what lies beyond maybe?

    Great header of the city. It is spectacular, love how it is symmetrical, yet asymmetrical.

  7. Chloe [Photographer] says:

    nice shots robin

  8. Anna says:

    Oh, I love pathways, roadways, trails… and portals too. Something about them… I love all these photos. Wow! I really like the way you process your photos giving them the glow and mystical feel. Great quotes.

    The city header is awesome! 🙂

  9. Pat Bean says:

    Your paths are calling to me. I want to walk them.

  10. jenna says:

    Did you buy any cds?

  11. tjfox says:

    Pathway and portal photos are some of my absolute favorites! There is just something about seeing this line going off into the distance that makes you want to find out where it will take you and what you will find at the end. They are mysterious and magical and absolutely beautiful.

  12. That sure does look like the perfect place for photography… and what a great selection of paths you’ve pulled together too…

  13. Hope you’re having a great time!
    When I saw these pictures, I knew this HAD to be Colorado, even before I read anything 🙂

  14. kenkiz says:

    j’aime cette couleur ocre de la terre !

  15. penpusherpen says:

    Paths, any paths are of interest, Robin, I love paintings of paths, fading into the distance, leading places that you can only visit in your imagination. “There are many roads to travel, but the best one, is the one leading homewards.” …. Lovely, lovely photo’s. xPenx
    (just catching up, been away…)


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

