341: Wandering

Looking forward

Several posts ago (maybe more than several), Kathy, the fabulous woman who inspired me to take on the challenge of getting outside every single day for a year, asked in the comments if I’d given any thought to what I was going to do when this commitment ended.  I’ve gotten behind in answering comments and didn’t answer her question there, but I have been giving it a lot of thought since she asked.  Those of you who have been blogging for a while understand that giving something in the comments a lot of thought often means a blog post because it’s a) just too long to answer in the comments section, and b) too good to pass up when you get an idea for a blog post.  When you are blogging every single blessed day, an idea for a blog post is a gift from the gods.

My first thoughts about what I would do were related more to the blogging aspect of the commitment than the outdoors part.  I gave some consideration to taking a nice long break from blogging.  But it has become such a habit now that I expect I’ll keep going until I reach a point where I either need, want, or am forced to take a break.

It is said that a habit is formed in 21 days.  Or is it 28?  No matter.  Three or four weeks, give or take.  But I have learned there is a world of difference between a habit and a lifestyle change.  Quitting smoking taught me that it takes at least a year to adjust to the New State of Normal.  A full turn of the wheel of the year is needed to learn what it is to be comfortable in this new normality.  One must pass through each of the seasons and the things associated with the seasons.  Vacations, holidays, birthdays, anniversaries, busy days, lazy days, stressful days, every day.

Exploring new worlds

The wonderful thing (I have learned) about this year-long commitment to get outside every day is that it is now more than a habit.  It is a lifestyle change.  I cannot imagine letting a day go by without getting outside.

Full frontal flower

So when I think about what I’m going to do next, I also think about what I might want to change.  Exploring “what next?” has brought up many possibilities, not all of them realistic.  That’s okay.  It’s fun to explore, no matter how outrageous that exploration may be.  Sometimes those outrageous expeditions result in the seeds of sensible goals.

One of the what-ifs involved giving up photography for a full year.  Whoa!  Where did that come from?  I love photography.  It is something I’m very passionate about.  Give it up?  For a full year?  Ridiculous.

Yeah. Right.

But hold on a minute.  It’s worth looking into this idea.  What if I put down the camera for an entire year?  Where would that lead?  It would certainly free up some time for me.  Hours and hours and hours of time would become available for me to spend reading and writing, two aspects of my life that I have been neglecting during this past year.  My blogging methods would change.  I would have to rely on words to form the images I’m no longer capturing with a camera, something I used to do before I held a digital camera in my hot little hands.

To be honest, I find that idea somewhat frightening.  Like stepping into the woods on a moonless night, I also find it enticing and exciting.

A full year for such an experiment might not be the best of ideas, but I could start taking days off.  Or a week off here and there.  Pretend I don’t have a camera and live life without framing and capturing it.  Knowing myself as I do, I would find other ways to frame and capture some of the moments.  Mostly through writing, I suspect, but there is always the possibility I might take up learning to draw again.

There are other possibilities, changes, I’m exploring.  I’m not sure where they will lead, if anywhere, just yet.  But I do think one of them will lead to another commitment, one that will help me with some needed change.

Today’s Outdoor Adventures

Today's view of the pond

Summer is back, all very warm and fuzzy.  The temperature will be steadily climbing throughout the week until we get near 90 on Friday.  Then it looks like there’s another cool down arriving in time for the weekend.

There are all kinds of flowers blooming now, many  I’ve never seen before.  I’m having a tough time identifying them.  That’s okay.  I’ll just enjoy them.  Or maybe I’ll start making up my own names for them.

It seems quiet around the pond today.  The birds are not as vocal as they have been throughout the summer.  The chorus of the cicadas continues, but even their noise seems to have lessened.  Perhaps it’s the heat.

This one I know. Thistle.

That’s about it from the Bogs for today.  Thanks for dropping by and joining me in my rambles.

39 Comments on “341: Wandering”

  1. Bo Mackison says:

    Wow, you can even IMAGINE giving up your camera — a year, a month, a week. You sure would have a lot more time. But it’s not something I can even get my head around. No camera? What?????

    • Robin says:

      Don’t panic. It was just a thought, Bo. 😉

      But I do think I’ll give photography a rest every now and then. A break once in a while will do me good.

  2. Hallysann says:

    I can’t imagine giving up my camera either, It’s only in the last year or two that we’ve become pretty much inseperable and I’ve learned to see things in a completely different way, so much so that I’m venturing out on rainy days with no particular reason and am not even dreading the onslaught of winter this year.
    What about having definate camera and non-camera days ?

  3. I think it’s sheer genius that you would even entertain this idea. This tells me so much about you, Robin–your willingness to give up something so central to your way of seeing, for the sake learning to see in new ways. I think a brief experiment would be amazing. It’s hard to imagine your blog without the photos, but the notion of drawing is fascinating, as well.
    You are amazing, Robin–whatever you decide to do. (And thanks for noticing my post was featured on the Daily Post!)
    Kathy

    • Robin says:

      Thank you so much, Kathy M. 🙂 I think a brief experiment will be amazing, too. I think my photography starts to feel and look stale after a while. It will be nice to try something different or at least try to view life without the camera for a change.

      • Dana says:

        Can I just say how much I loved Kathy’s comment? It really does speak volumes about your ‘nature’ that you would even consider the idea of putting down your camera…. at all… let alone for a whole year! I’m really looking forward to catching up to the newer posts, post-commitment!

        • Robin says:

          Thank you, Dana. 🙂

          Well, I can tell you (since I think you’re far enough along now) that I did not put down the camera. But I will have a break from it coming up soon.

  4. Christine Grote says:

    I’m interested to see what you’ll do.

  5. Marcie says:

    It becomes a habit..doesn’t it? A one that is hard to break? At least – it’s a healthy and productive and creative one. Will be curious to see what is is you do..where you go from here.

    • Robin says:

      Very true, Marcie. As a healthy habit, I probably don’t need to break it, but I think a time-out once in a while might refresh things a bit for me. 🙂

  6. Norm says:

    Great post Robin with it formulating as you proceeded. Indeed, ‘what next’. Glad I caught this one as I’ve been absent a long time. Some nice shots here too. (We’re in for the same weather system for the weekend – intermittant showers.) Be back soon.

  7. tjfox says:

    Sometimes it takes really drastic changes to open up new things that we never thought possible or could even to imagine. I would absolutely miss all the beauty you share if you put your camera down, but I’m sure I’d enjoy what you shared in its place just as much. I’m very interested to see what changes you decide to make and where those changes take you. Some of the most interesting paths are the ones we didn’t plan on taking in the first place.

  8. Thought-provoking post…well done.
    And those beautiful sunflowers!

  9. milkayphoto says:

    You’ll think of something, I’m sure! The rowboat and blue leaf photos are fantastic. Moody and interesting…

    I know how you feel about the ‘what’s next?’ I’m sort of in that mode myself. Need to figure out what I want to be when I grow up. Gave myself the summer to figure it out. Summer is nearing completion and I can’t say that I’ve really given things the thought they need. Procrastination…it is a weakness of mine!

    • Robin says:

      Thanks, Tracy. 🙂

      Procrastination if a weakness of mine, as well. What’s weird about it is that I know procrastinating is more stressful than actually doing.

      I haven’t figured out what I want to be when I grow up either. Maybe by the time I’m 80…

  10. comingeast says:

    I would be sad indeed not to see your pictures for an entire year. How about this for an idea: have a second blog, one that is just photos. WordPress allows you to have more than one blog. Or you could just have a photo “page” and keep your home page for just writing, sans pictures. That way, we could still see your lovely photos that help me visualize your life so well.

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Susan. 🙂

      I used to have several blogs (and multiple blog disorder…lol!). I finally got them merged into two, one of which (Bountiful Healing) I don’t post at often. Bountiful Healing was geared more towards photography (with quotes) than Life in the Bogs originally. At one point I wanted to merge Bountiful Healing with Life in the Bogs, but they serve different purposes for me so I’ve had to leave them separate.

  11. After doing something every day for an entire year, it seems like it would be nearly impossible to stop! Why stop? You don’t have to blog every day, but it seems like “discovering” the outdoors has been wonderful! This will encourage you to really notice the beautiful days, and want to go outside, but appreciate a warm house on those freezing cold winter days that much more!!

  12. R–you won’t be able to do it, trust me! I have tried–works for a day or two but find that I drag that thing to Shop Rite too! Good luck with that though. That first photo taken from the undersides is fantastic–just enough light showing all the veining. ps I NEED to see the pond now–it soothes my soul.

    • Robin says:

      LOL, Teresita! I don’t think I’ll be able to do it for a full year, but I do think I’ll manage some breaks here and there. Just to keep life interesting. 🙂

      No worries, though. There will still be plenty of pond photos.

  13. eof737 says:

    Those yellow flowers are dynamite; vibrant with life!:-)

  14. Chloe [Photographer] says:

    why dont you alternate between writing & photography? it’s an even balance and by the sounds of things – you’d enjoy both

    beautiful series of photos

  15. ladyfi says:

    OK – now I’m scared! Not taking photos – help!

    You could however take fewer shots and post only a few times a week to free up chunks of time?

  16. […] was surprised by some of the reactions to my post about “what next?“   Let me put your minds to rest on this one:  I will not be giving up the camera for a […]

  17. Goodness, that first one deserved a post all to itself! 🙂 I like the angle you chose for the 4th one, too. (And I’m skipping the words again and just enjoying your pictures)

  18. Kel says:

    interesting thoughts you share here Robin
    perhaps a ‘camera sabbath’ each week, in the line of the Sabbath Manifesto guys http://www.sabbathmanifesto.org whose #1 principle is ‘avoid technology’
    however you choose to immerse yourself more in the moment and take a break its a great practice to establish


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

