335: Karma’s August Photo Hunt

A rainbow of colors

Karma’s August Photo Hunt challenge is to show summer in a rainbow of colors, photos representing the prominent colors of the rainbow:  red, orange, yellow, green, blue, and purple.  I have all the colors covered in the one photo above.  Our spinners don’t come out until the summer months, and this one has all the colors of the rainbow included in its design.

Rainbows seem to be everywhere

I noticed when I was looking over photos I took this summer that the colors of the rainbow are often all represented in one photo.  Even those that don’t have them all often have two or three or more.

Green. Taken at the Village Greens Miniature Golf Course of Strasburg, PA.

Green, I think, is best represented by our trip to my favorite miniature golf course:  The Village Greens, in Strasburg, Pennsylvania.  Miniature golf is such a summertime activity, and the Village Greens has a wonderfully landscaped Gold course that provides shade from old trees, waterfalls, and plenty of color provided by flowers.

The first hole of the Gold Course at the Village Greens

See how green it is?

You can find almost all the colors of the rainbow in this spot. One of the waterfalls at the Village Greens.

There are so many greens of summer that it was almost impossible to pick.  Here are a few random shots of greens throughout this summer:

Summer blues, it seems to me, are best represented by blueberries which are, in my opinion (yours may vary), the ultimate summer fruit.  My first job, when I was nine years old, involved picking blueberries when they were in season.  The job didn’t pay much, but as a perk I got to eat some of the ripest, sweetest berries on the bushes.

These are blue berries, but they are not blueberries.

Unfortunately, I didn’t take any photos of blueberries this year so these blue berries will have to do.

A gnome at the Holden Arboretum

The blue gnome pictured above represents all the gardens I visited this summer.  You can find a rainbow of colors in that photo, too.

Other blues of summer include the blue-eyed grass and chickory, representing some of the wildflowers I’ve gotten to know on my daily outings.  The Crooked Man symbolizes our trip to Pittsburgh and Idlewild with our granddaughters and their parents.  The sunset is all about the blue skies of summer, and a nod at how I’ve been learning to use the manual settings, including the white balance (set to tungsten in that sunset photo), on my camera.  The dragonfly has become almost an emblem for me of this summer.  It seemed like we had more dragonflies than usual around the pond, and they were more than cooperative about having their picture taken.  And the hydrangea reminds me of our trip back to Pennsylvania to say goodbye to Jane.

It occurs to me that if I continue on in this vein, I may well post the longest blog post ever.  I think it best to go straight to collages to save us all some time and trouble.

I had a difficult time finding purples, with the exception of flowers, most of which bloom in the late summer (the purple coneflower, Joe Pye Weed, Ironweed, and our hydrangea which is more on the purple than blue side of colors).  There were purple sunrises and purple reflections on the pond.  Not much else, though, in the way of purple which is odd.  Purple is my favorite color and I usually take any opportunity I can to capture it.

Red is abundant in the foods and flowers of summer.  I also found it in birds at the National Aviary, my granddaughter’s feet, a sculpture at the Carnegie Science Center in Pittsburgh, and the red fox who doesn’t look so red next to all of these other reds.

The color orange has been showing up in sunrises and sunsets, in the Tiger lilies from earlier in the season, and in the jewelweed which is so prolific right now.  Even the sunflowers get an orange glow about them in the early morning and late evening hours.

There has been an abundance of yellow in my life this summer, from fish in a science center aquarium to the flowers in the garden.  Late summer means more yellows as the leaves start to change as we turn towards autumn.

A rainbow close-up

It has been a wonderfully colorful summer.  Thank you, Karma, for your great photo hunt idea which has given me a chance to see just how beautiful the season has been.  🙂

If you’d like to join the photo hunt, there’s still time.  The deadline is Sunday, August 28.

P.S.  I thought I’d go for the bonus points.  A self-portrait of me in the summertime:

Self-portrait in a rainbow of colors

In other news…

Today’s outdoor adventures were pretty tame.  Just another walk around the pond, and a brief visit to the garden.

That’s about it from the Bogs for today.  Thanks for dropping by and joining me on my photo hunt.  🙂

52 Comments on “335: Karma’s August Photo Hunt”

  1. Your pictures are truly gorgeous!

  2. tedgriffith says:

    An excellent rainbow series! 🙂

  3. Emad says:

    Excellent photos !

  4. Joceline says:

    a winner for sure. just gorgeous.

  5. Dawn says:

    LOVE the collages! And the colors and the photos, especially the red feet!!

  6. What a fun post, Robin! I especially love the self-portrait at the end———
    Kathy

  7. Nye says:

    Your summer is so colorful, love all the vivid colors of the rainbow and the self portrait is well done. 🙂

  8. Siannaphey says:

    Love being dipped into my senses, you do such a wonderful job with your photographs…thank you!!!

  9. penpusherpen says:

    a veritable rainbow of treasures and treats Robin, Natures colours are so awe inspiring,… I do love the way she paints so naturally and with so much feeling it seems to me… You wonder sometimes why the variety? why the splendour?… but then you realise… why-ever not? Vibrant colour speaks to us as nothing else can, the sun glinting through a mist creating a rainbow cannot fail to lift the most sorrowful of hearts. I for one was lifted by your photo’s today. thank you xPenx

  10. Kel says:

    superb slide down every colour of the rainbow

    great treasure at the end of the rainbow with a photo of you 🙂

  11. A truly amazing post, among the best I’ve ever seen…

    And seriously? That’s a MINI-golf course? Wow…

    • Robin says:

      Thanks, Marie. 🙂

      The Village Greens is the most amazing mini-golf course I’ve ever visited. If you’re ever in the Lancaster County area, you should check it out. The landscaping is wonderful.

  12. Karma says:

    Oh my goodness Robin! This post is above-and-beyond! It must have been a ton of work but WOW!!!!!! The collages are amazing. I’m feeling like my own post will never measure up! Even the self-portrait in the rainbow – wicked cool!

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Karma. 🙂

      I actually started this post shortly after you announced the photo hunt. I’ve been working on it a little at a time so it didn’t seem like a lot of work.

  13. Karma says:

    PS – do you make your collages at an online site? I’ve felt some of the sites I’ve tried – Picnik, BigHugeLabs – are limited in what they allow for collages, for the free ones anyway.

  14. Barbara Rodgers says:

    Wonderful selections! I love the collages and am wondering how you created them… The dragonfly and the sky-scape in the blue one were my favorites, of course!

  15. bearyweather says:

    Thanks for sharing your rainbow of color pictures …. this is a beautiful post.

  16. I admit, I didn’t read anything in this post….. but I really enjoyed your beautiful photo rainbow.

  17. milkayphoto says:

    My, aren’t you the over achiever!! You make the rest of us look bad! 😉 VERY nice entry for the photo hunt…colorful and creative!

    • Robin says:

      Sorry about that, Tracy. I’m not normally the over achiever type. But Karma gave us plenty of time so I took advantage of it by starting to work on it early. I’ll try not to over achieve next time. 😉

      Thank you. 🙂

  18. Ellen Finch says:

    I like the self-portrait color collage!

  19. ElizOF says:

    You’ve done an amazing job. Love them all but especially the bright hues of the first photo… Hope you are safe and dry where you are… We are deluged. TY! 🙂

  20. There’s me struggling to pull together 2 or 3 shots of a single colour, and you throw together a complete collage for every single one… lol… They look amazing Robin… 🙂

    • Robin says:

      lol, Brian! I couldn’t help it. Karma gave us lots of time. In all fairness I should also mention that I once did a colour series for my other blog so I’m experienced at working with rainbows.

      Thank you. 🙂

  21. mylifeincny says:

    Longest blog or not – your shots are gorgeous. I love your collages!

  22. […] did an absolutely amazing job with the photo hunt by presenting us with a collage for each color of the rainbow!  It looks like she spent a huge amount of time on this post and the collages are just gorgeous.  […]

  23. Such an original idea, and gorgeous photos! Sneaky, is what I’d call your self-portrait – you are there, in your rainbow of colors, but yet you are quite obscure.

    • Robin says:

      lol, Carol! Yes, it was a little sneaky. To be honest, I don’t like the self-portrait as it tends to make me look just as you described — sneaky. I’ll have to work on a better one soon.

      Thanks so much for stopping by and commenting. I appreciate it. 🙂

  24. Dana says:

    What an excellent way to meet the August Photo Hunt Challenge. I like getting to see so many of your photos together in the collages. Really beautiful work.


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

