328: Drifting

It’s another blue-sky day here in the Bogs.  Simply, wonderfully, beautiful.

I didn’t really walk today.  I drifted, going wherever the breeze took me.  Down the sledding hill, with a stop to say hello to the sunflowers.  Over to the rowboat where I sat for a while watching the clouds as they drifted.  As I watched, a visitor drifted over to the swim platform, not quite ready to go for a swim.

It was the Great Blue Heron’s call that caught my attention and caused me to look over.

He (or she) let me take a few photos before gracefully lifting into the air and flying over to the far side of the pond to wade and fish.

I watched the heron from the boat for a while, and then I left the boat and drifted by foot to the opposite side of the pond so as not to scare him (or her) off.

I watched the dragonflies for a little while, and the bulrushes swaying in the wind.

Then I went back to watching the heron, who was slowly making his (or her) way towards the rear of the pond.

Today was a good day to play hooky from chores, work, and other responsibilities.  It was a reminder that summer won’t last forever, and that I should enjoy it while it’s here.

Thank you, summer.  We’ve had some hot and humid days but all in all, it’s been a beautiful season here in the Bogs.

Eventually I drifted back up the sledding hill and into the house.  I did take care of a few chores and responsibilities, things that really can’t be put off.

And now I’m going to drift back outside to enjoy what’s left of this summer day.  I hope you found a little time to enjoy this day too, whatever the season wherever you happen to be.

(Did you see the fish jump?)

20 Comments on “328: Drifting”

  1. tedgriffith says:

    Thank you for the simple beauty of a summer day!! 🙂

  2. Emad says:

    Great photos !

  3. Glad to hear you had a lovely day. It’s been gorgeous here, as well! Hope you enjoy your evening, also!
    Kathy

  4. Christine Grote says:

    You’re living a vacation, but then I suspect you know that. (and you aren’t showing us the dirty pots and pans.)

  5. Lovely. Tranquil. Thanks for bringing us along…

  6. Christine says:

    Life on the water…ahhhhhh

  7. elmediat says:

    Beautiful work ! You capture the idyllic summer perfectly.

  8. TBM says:

    I need to visit

  9. Barbara Rodgers says:

    Thanks for taking us along, drifting across the pond to see the blue heron and the dragonfly surrounded by tiny orbs, so peaceful and inspired! I think I saw a disturbance in the water – was that the fish jumping? Love the sounds of your pond world…

  10. penpusherpen says:

    Now I feel all relaxed and lackadaisical, a wonderful feeling I hasten to add… and I don’t blame you one bit for playing hookey Robin, great sight and sounds from the video, and like Barbara I saw the break in the water. (just been to the hairdressers for my highlights, now that’s over for another six week’s so tiring you know 😉 ) xPenx

  11. I feel relaxed from these photos and video as I sit at my desk hundreds of miles away.

  12. ladyfi says:

    Wow – what an utterly perfect and magical day. Your photos are just gorgeous!

  13. I do love walking through your bogs!

  14. A fantastic day, blogged very well! Looks like the heron was enjoying a lazy day on the float 😉

  15. eof737 says:

    I love that the blue heron played along and the lake stays so still… 🙂

  16. Robin says:

    Thank you so much everyone. I’m so glad you enjoyed drifting along on the pond with me. 🙂

  17. carlaat says:

    What a lovely post. I did see the fish jump! And heard the wonderful whirr of the insects around the pond. I may show up at your doorstep one day to share a beautiful summer day like this!

  18. Hallysann says:

    Love the dragonfly 🙂

  19. […] 328: Drifting (bogsofohio.wordpress.com) Tags: Belfast, Bird, Laganside, nature, Pigeons, urban nature […]


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

