322: Gone Gnoming

Sunrise sunbeams

I was up bright and early this today, watching the sunrise through the morning mist.  The pond was creating its own cloud system, the warm water reacting with the cool (in the 50s) air.  Last night we had, as they say, great sleeping weather.

Oompa Loompa Gnome. Artist: Angela Oster

Today I had the pleasure of hunting for gnomes at the Holden Arboretum.  When we finished there, we had a picnic lunch near Lake Erie and then went for a bike ride.  I have spent almost the entire day outside.  It was the perfect day for it.  Clear, blue sky, lovely and moderate temperature (low to mid 70s), with a fresh breeze keeping everything cool and comfortable.

I walked about 2 miles.  Biked about 4 miles.  We would like to have biked more, but it turned out part of the bike route was on a major road with no lake view so we skipped that part of it.

This will have to be a short and quick post.  We picked up our CSA box of veggies today and I need to do something with some of them.  I see a big salad in our immediate future (dinner tonight) as well as some grilled veggies.  I’m also going to make a bean and barley salad to meet our protein and grain requirements for the day.

More about my Gnoming Adventures tomorrow.  Thanks for stopping by to visit me here in the Bogs.  🙂

34 Comments on “322: Gone Gnoming”

  1. tedgriffith says:

    Love the mist shot, Robin, and I can almost here the oompa loompa gnome singing in the chocolate factory! The meal sounds great. 🙂

  2. Great, great title for this post, Robin! That has got to be the biggest gnome I have ever seen!
    Kathy

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Kathy. 🙂

      They were the biggest gnomes I’ve ever seen, too. It was a fund raising art project much like the cows in Chicago.

  3. Christine says:

    That gnome looks terrifying! The first photo has a lovely golden glow.

  4. jenna says:

    I think that gnome comes alive at night and eats brains.

  5. Love the first photo, great light and look. That gnome doesn’t look so bad from here, maybe a bit too red. Funny.

  6. Kel says:

    lovely shot of the sunrise sunbeams
    a movie i just watched “Evelyn” calls them ‘angel rays’

  7. ladyfi says:

    Wow – that first shot is amazing!

  8. milkayphoto says:

    The gnome cracked me up! The angle of view is fantastic!

  9. penpusherpen says:

    I’m sure that Gnome looks as if he’d like to ask a question, Robin, very inquiring look on his face… and I love his circling eyes, …. and loving the sunrise shot too, shame we’re overcast here, but your photo made my day… short and sweet, and well worth the visit. xPenx

  10. Kala says:

    Glorious light in the top image. 🙂

  11. Going Gnoming – I love it!

  12. Chloe [Photographer] says:

    robin, that first photo is sensational

  13. I love the first shot, Robin, it’s magical!

  14. eof737 says:

    Interesting… gnoming eh? I’d like to read more on that. As always the bog is serene and beautiful. TY! 🙂


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

