317: The goldenrod is blooming

There is a patch of goldenrod in the timothy grass meadow that decided to bloom today.  I’m not sure if that is early or not for the goldenrod as I’ve never really paid attention in the past.  Next year I’ll have a date to compare it to.  The yellow looks very pretty out there amongst the greens and purples.

Today's view of the pond

If you look carefully at today’s view of the pond, you will see people out there boating and fishing.  M’s family (his sister, brother, and his brother’s wife) arrived safe and sound yesterday afternoon.  We’ve been catching up, although it hasn’t been all that long since we last saw them.  At least this is a happier occasion.

Today's view of the creek

M’s sister and I went for a bike ride early this morning.  She’s an experienced cyclist, having gone on many long bike rides for fun and for charity.  We set out to do the 6-mile loop of the neighborhood, but I missed a turned somewhere and we ended up taking the long road home.  We got in a grand total of 8.8 miles in 52 minutes.  It was a nice ride.  C gave me a few tips and hints on how to make the riding a little easier.

We had a blueberry pancake breakfast when we returned.  Then everyone went out to the pond to fish, to pedal around in the pedal boat, or (in my case) to take a walk.  It’s hot as the dickens out there today.  Extremely humid as well.  Rumor has it we’ll be having a cool down next week.  I’m not sure I believe it.  It’s like this every August.  The weather people put a cool down somewhere in the future, such as “we’ll have 72 degrees for a high on Tuesday.”  By Monday the forecast is “86 degrees tomorrow, but we’ll be cooling down to 72 degrees for a high on Saturday.”  Yeah.  Right.  It’ll probably be well into September before we see highs that low.

I should get back to socializing with my family.  Thanks for dropping by the Bogs today.  I hope your weekend is going as well as mine.  🙂

18 Comments on “317: The goldenrod is blooming”

  1. bearyweather says:

    Wow, I love your sky picture … it is biblical 😉

  2. The goldenrod looks so shimmery, like gold! Mine doesn’t bloom until late August, but I noticed that it had already bloomed in Kentucky when we were there a few weeks ago. Have a good visit with your family.

    • Robin says:

      Thanks, Teresita. 🙂

      I’m not sure when ours usually blooms, but I did think it was later in August, about the same time the asters start blooming. Perhaps the goldenrod has always gotten a slightly early start, hanging around for a while to keep the asters company.

  3. hugmamma says:

    My favorite flowers are the wild ones. Where I am, I don’t see an abundance. So thanks so much for sharing beautiful photos of them. I can never see too many…

    hugs… 🙂

    • Robin says:

      I enjoy the wild flowers too, HugMamma. They grow and thrive without any help from me or M, and their beauty, I think, is as good as, if not better than, cultivated flowers.

  4. penpusherpen says:

    Oh Flip, Robin, you mentioned blueberry pancakes, and my mind instantly stopped reading and switched to food mode. almost tasting them..Oh Yes!!… *cough* not that I’m a foodaholic mind you, just sweet things send my thoughts awandering… anywho….back to the reading, and weather highs and lows, (dolly pepper came to mind? why?) … I never trust forecasters, seems a hit and miss affair at best, and too many let down plans at worst. Have a great time with your guests, and um.. if you don’t mind I’m off paddling in the creek.. a wonderful occupation and no mistake!! (I forgot the towel, um. got one handy at all?) 😉 xPenx

    • Robin says:

      Be glad I didn’t take up food photography again, Pen. lol! (My daughter-in-law thinks I’m very good at it so I’m considering it. Just letting you know so you’ll be forewarned.) Enjoy the creek. 🙂

  5. jenna says:

    OMG, I want b-berry pancakes!

    I wish the weather people would just be honest with all of us. Get on the TV, stand in front of your map, and say, “Look, it’s going to suck like this until past Labor Day, so get over it, and quit complaining. It’s summer.” Instead, they keep trying to fill our heads with lies and get our hopes up. I don’t even watch them anymore.

    • Robin says:

      Get that driver’s license so you can head on out here, sit by the pond, and eat blueberry pancakes, J. 🙂

      I agree. They ought to just ‘fess up.

  6. I pointed out the newly-blooming goldenrod to Hubby last night as we left to go out for dinner…Right on time, around here. I expect to see the swallows starting to flock in the next week or so. The weather may be hot and sticky, but the signs are starting to point toward fall.

    Enjoy your visit!

    • Robin says:

      I saw a flock of swallows swooping over the trees last night, Marie. The birds and goldenrod are getting ready for the next season, it seems.

  7. tedgriffith says:

    Lovely, Robin, especially those clouds!! 🙂

  8. eof737 says:

    I love the glow over the pond and those wonderful clouds… 😉


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

