316: Praying with tall ironweed

Today is much like yesterday in terms of the weather.  Hot, humid, clouds floating around in the sky trying to look and keep cool.  The wind is supposed to shift sometime this afternoon, bringing up more heat and humidity from the south.  The dog days are here.

Cattails and Joe Pye Weed

I took another slow walk today as part of my outdoor commitment.  It’s amazing how much you see when you take the time to not just look but be present and aware in the moment rather than looking ahead, to the side, or behind.  All photos in this post were taken yesterday.  I left the camera at the house while I was out today so I could spend time in the walk rather than looking through the camera.

I’ve noticed that I approach and look at the evergreen trees on the property in a seasonal way.  I have virtually (and literally) ignored them throughout the warmer months, yet during the winter they become a source of focus for me.  I was reminded of that when I started sorting through the rest of the photos from yesterday.  I stopped by to see each one today, just to say hello.

I mentioned yesterday that the ironweed is blooming and dotting the fields and meadows with purple.  The particular species of ironweed we have growing on our property is Tall Ironweed.  It is a native of North America.  The plant likes to grow in meadows and pastures where the soil is fertile and conditions are moderately damp.  No wonder it does so well around here.

All of my chores are done for the day.  The house is ready for our next round of visitors.  It’s nice to have a little time in which I have nothing in particular to do other than get this blog post written up and published.

I haven’t been keeping up well with all of you.  My apologies for that.  I hope to make it up to you soon.  In the meantime, please accept the flowers and scenes from my walk as a small thank you to you all for visiting and keeping up with me.

Another interesting factoid about ironweed is that it is difficult to dig up with a shovel and its stem is tough.  Hence the name, Ironweed.  (Sounds like it should be a superhero of some kind, doesn’t it?  Tall Ironweed, mightier than Goldenrod.  Taller than Joe Pye Weed.  Able to leap, errr, stretch above tall cattails in a single bound… )

Now we get to the part of the post where the title fits in.  Look closely at the photo above.  Someone is praying in the ironweed blossoms.  (As always, you can click on the photo — any photo —  to see the slightly larger version.)

And now there are two who appear to be praying.  The Bumble Bee and the Praying Mantis.  I almost missed the mantid, thinking it was a dead leaf strung like a hammock across the flowers of the ironweed plant.  In the first photo he is looking behind and back, checking out the bumble bee.  In this one, he seems to be looking at me.

The aura of Queen Anne's Lace

That’s about it from the Bogs for today.  Posts for the next few days will be on the short side as I’ll be enjoying the company of my in-laws.  (Believe it or not, I mean that.  I really do enjoy their company.  In-laws get an often-undeserved bad rep.  Or I got lucky.  Probably some of both.)

Wishing you all a fun-filled and magical weekend!  🙂

27 Comments on “316: Praying with tall ironweed”

  1. tedgriffith says:

    Beautiful images as always, Robin. A lovely walk! Have a wonderful time with the family.:)

  2. lindayoga says:

    Stunning…Simply stunning.

  3. comingeast says:

    Too pretty to be called weeds. Since I live in the city, I love visiting your blog and taking a walk in the country. I miss that about visiting my grandparents in Ohio. It’s so peaceful in the country and we all could use some peace, once in awhile. Thanks, Robin.

  4. Emad says:

    Amazing Photos !

  5. bearyweather says:

    I have never seen a praying mantis out in the wilds … they are hard to see. If you would not have mentioned that he was in your pictures I would have missed him, too … love the picture of him/her looking at you.

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Bearyweather. 🙂

      They are very difficult to see. I’ve been lucky enough to capture two out in the wild, hanging in some plants I was photographing. It was pure luck, though. I didn’t notice them right away and might have passed right on by without seeing them if I hadn’t noticed the flower or plant that drew my eye in the first place.

  6. Christine says:

    All that green! The colors are so vivid. Summer in Ohio is magical.

  7. Kel says:

    oh my goodness
    that praying mantis is so checking you out

    :-)))

  8. penpusherpen says:

    As usual, a wonderful mixture of photo’s and a descriptive walk along with you Robin, the Praying mantis and the Bee appear to be in deep contemplative mood, mayhap discussing the main topic of the next general meeting of Insects and Creepy Crawlies.. (ICC) …..Wish I could listen in… 🙂
    Catch up with you soon, have a wonderful time with your lucky next guests…xPenx

  9. and a wonderful weekend to you too. I love Queen Anne’s Lace and your shot of it is magical.
    walk in beauty.

  10. I don’t know that I’ve ever seen ironweed before. Rather, I have seen purple-blooming weeds growing along the side of the road and just didn’t know what they were.

    But goodness–the queen Anne’s lace is stunning!

    Enjoy your weekend, Robin, and your in-laws, as well!

    Kathy

    • Robin says:

      Thanks, Kathy. 🙂

      I’m just starting to learn (and retain) the names of the flowers around here. Otherwise, they would be described by me as the purple-blooming weeds growing in the meadow.

  11. Karma says:

    Love the praying mantis – I’ve always been fascinated by those creatures. And I’ve never seen a bumble bee in that position before; how curious!

  12. CMSmith says:

    Thanks for the flowers. I can only speak for myself, but I understand that people’s schedules get busy. I’m just happy if you can stop by every now and then. It takes a lot of time to follow blogs. I get behind frequently.

    I agree about the in-laws—they get a bad rap. I sure hope my daughter-in-law doesn’t feel that way.

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Christine. 🙂

      I think the Post-A-Day has made it more difficult than it used to be to keep up with blogs. Between my commitment to post every day and following others who are doing the same, there’s a whole lotta blogging going on.

  13. hugmamma says:

    Viewing your photos is like spending a few moments in quiet prayer. They make me reflect…upon nature’s beauty…and God’s hand in all of creation.

    hugs for sharing… 🙂 btw…i also love my in-laws…to pieces 🙂

  14. eof737 says:

    These are such meditative pieces for the eyes… I loved the richness, color and settings… so soothing. 🙂

  15. Robin says:

    Thank you HugMamma and Elizabeth. 🙂


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

