304: Sunday signage

Ain't that the truth?

This week’s sign was seen on a store in Lancaster County, Pennsylvania.  The store is called The Outhouse.  They sell a lot of joke items as well as knickknacks and an assortment of other things you probably don’t need.

On the run

Since I was already sorting through the photos from our last trip to Lancaster, I thought I’d bring you a few more.  The Amish boy pictured above was running alongside a major road (U.S. Route 30, also known as the Lincoln Highway).  We were stopped in traffic on said road when I did my best to catch him with my camera.

Laundry day in Amish country

Among the things that bring people to my blog via search engines is Amish laundry.  I try to update this once in a great while with some new Amish laundry photographs, but they are not always easy to come by.  Most of the time I spot it while riding along in the car and it often isn’t convenient to stop.

Parked at the hardware store

Because the summer months are prime tourist season in Lancaster County (lots of people want to see the Amish), it’s difficult to get a shot of an authentic, driven by an Amish person, horse and buggy.  Most of the horse and buggies we saw on this particular day were the tourist type, designed to carry tourists around on (what else?) a tour of Amish country.

Tourist buggy

The trouble is that by the time you figure out it’s a tourist buggy and not an authentic Amish buggy, it’s too late.  I have taken more than my fair share of photos of tourist buggies.

Vegetable stand

You will see a lot of these throughout Lancaster County, mostly operating on the honor system.  In other words, no one is there to take your money or to make sure you pay the correct amount (or pay at all, for that matter).

There is usually a box or a jar for you to insert your money into.  Not only are you being trusted to pay, you are also being trusted not to steal the box or jar of money.

A Lancaster County cricket

Isn’t he cute?  He reminds me a little of Jiminy Cricket.  He’s not specifically a Lancaster County cricket.  I just happened to find him there.

I want to stay here someday

Here is The Red Caboose Motel in Strasburg, Pennsylvania, a town that is also home to my favorite miniature golf course, The Village Greens and some of the best ice cream in the county, found at The Strasburg Creamery.

That’s it for the quick tour of a very small part of Lancaster County.  As for today’s outdoor adventures, if all is going as planned I am out on the deck with friends having fish tacos and a beer (or possibly a margarita if anyone thought to bring limes).

31 Comments on “304: Sunday signage”

  1. You sure do get some odd search criteria bringing blog traffic your way eh.. lol.. That said though, you always offer up a great selection of shots to make them worthwhile… Love the slice of the simpler life you’ve captured here…

    • Robin says:

      lol, Brian! It gets odder. I am the unofficial sponsor of the call out number (that associates have to call when they can’t make it to work) for Wal-Mart. They ought to be paying me for that. But the oddest one (to me) is “ice cream truck phobia.” I have yet to figure out how the first search for that ended up here as I have never blogged about ice cream trucks, much less ice cream truck phobias.

  2. jenna says:

    When I lived in Reading, I used an honor system vegetable stand sometimes. It always amazed me that the money box was still there, but I guess that’s the difference between a more rural area, and where I grew up.

    I want to stay in one of those rail cars too – how cool would that be?

    • Robin says:

      I think it would be mucho cool, J.

      There are honor system veggie stands here in Ohio, too. Not as many as I’ve seen in Lancaster, but here and there.

  3. Christine Grote says:

    That red caboose motel looks like fun. I want to take a train ride out west and stay overnight on a moving train.

    We visited Amish country near us earlier this year. I took a photo of the clothes on the line as well. It’s a different life style.

    • Robin says:

      Completely different lifestyle, Christine. I am amazed that they are able to maintain it, and that the younger generations continue to stay within the confines of that lifestyle. I can see how it would be appealing.

  4. That is a lot of trust, isn’t it!

    And the cricket is cute–though to me it looks like a grasshopper. I thought crickets were black–shows how much I know! Hope you had a great weekend!

    Kathy

  5. I’m always amazed at how much beauty surrounds us on any given day. you do a great job of capturing that.

  6. penpusherpen says:

    Love the Blue Hydrangea photo to finish Robin, such a lovely colour. .. and interesting to see the Trust Stall, gives you a feeling of warmth that the trust is justified. (Oh I do hope so!!) … and an Amish way of life does appeal, but I wonder for how long. before a longing for easier and helpful modern technology raises it’s head… Still, I do dream of taking a Narrow Boat and chug chugging away down the Canal system of Britain, now that’s s. l. o. w. 😀 … Lovely post and photo’s… thank you… xPenx

    • Robin says:

      I would love to take one of those Narrow Boats, too, Pen. A friend did that a few years ago and really enjoyed it. Maybe someday… 🙂

  7. eof737 says:

    These photos hark back to a time past when life was easy and chaos was low. I paused at that veggie stand and said a prayer… honestly, I prayed that those who pass by will honor the code; the system of payment… I hope. 🙂
    Dreamy…

  8. I love that sign! It ranks right up there with “Martha don’t live here!”.
    Hope you’ve cooled off some!

  9. starbear says:

    Thanks for reminding me – I’ve been there. My dad was born in Tamaqua and just met some people from that area, visiting here! Small world. Nice sign!

  10. Tammy says:

    Love your Amish Laundry photo and how much fun. Among my funny search terms are ant farm, triple chin and right to petition.

  11. Wow – talk about an honor system! Leave your money in the box? I don’t know anywhere around here where something like that would be safe…. too bad, really, that we can’t seem to trust anyone anymore. Thanks for the tour!! 🙂

    • Robin says:

      We have a few honor system veggie stands here in Ohio, Holly, but it’s not the norm. They must be doing okay because the same stands are there year after year. I guess there is still some trust (and honor). 🙂

  12. tedgriffith says:

    Thanks for the tour of the county! The Red Caboose looks like a lot of fun. Isn’t it refreshing to find people that still have a measure of trust for others?

  13. mewithmycamera says:

    great photos!

  14. I wonder how the Amish feel during “tourist season”…. like a roadside attraction?
    That motel looks sooo cool, I wnat to stay there, too, some day!! And the miniature golf course looks beautiful, very well taken care of.

    • Robin says:

      I’ve often wondered that too, Michaela. 🙂

      If you ever get to Lancaster County, PA, you should definitely check out the miniature golf course. There are lots of trees, waterfalls, babbling brooks, and flowers throughout the Gold Course. They have a regular mini golf course too, with the usual obstacles.

  15. One thing I am most attracted to in Lancaster are the clothes lines!! Great travel post–makes me want to visit again. (It’s 2+ hours away.)

    • Robin says:

      Me too, Teresita. I wish my barn was tall enough to accommodate an Amish type clothes line. I had to settle for a regular old clothes line out back instead.

  16. Dana says:

    What a gorgeous post, Robin! I’d love to stay in that Red Caboose Motel one day, too– it looks so quaint! 🙂


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

