286: Sky

Under the locust tree

Yesterday’s sky was so pretty that I set aside a few shots for today’s post.  The Weekly Photo Challenge this week is Sky.  It’s been a few weeks since I participated in a WordPress photo challenge.

Under the willows

The inner — what is it?
if not intensified sky,
hurled through with birds
and deep with
the winds of homecoming.

~ Rainer Marie Rilke

Baby bird in the nest.

While I was looking up, I checked on the babies in the nest built in one of the small maple trees.  The mama wasn’t too happy about me being there.  I took a quick shot, and left them in peace.

Mama Bird

Under the locust tree II

The greens of summer are deepening, becoming darker than the light, spring greens of a few months ago.  I like the way the sunlight plays in the leaves of the trees, turning them various shades of green.

Today's view of the pond

Today’s sky isn’t nearly as clear and blue as yesterday’s.  It’s warmer today, with more humidity hanging in the air.  There are some high, thin clouds to go with the haze created by the humidity.  Still, it’s a pretty day.  You just have to walk a little slower today in order to stay cooler.  The wind is warm and brisk.

Sunflower with focal zoom effect. Processed in Picnik.

Our volunteer sunflower will be blooming soon.  The newly planted sunflowers are barely a foot high.  It’s not likely we’ll see them bloom until sometime in August (and that’s only if the critters don’t eat them).

Looking at the sun through the locust trees.

This would be a good day to lie in a hammock (if I had a hammock), reading or napping or just watching the sky, listening to the birds, and enjoying the breeze.

Window to the sky

No napping or reading for me, so far.  Perhaps this evening, when I’ve finished what needs to be done today.  It will be nice, after a full and productive day, to sit out on the deck, sip on a cold drink, and watch whatever show nature decides to put on for us.  The clouds will probably add some drama to the sunset tonight.

Street light and sky

That’s it from the Bogs for today.  Thank you for visiting with me.   🙂

27 Comments on “286: Sky”

  1. Bo Mackison says:

    Isn’t it lovely to see blue sky rather than gray clouds? 🙂

  2. Eden says:

    I like the zoomed sunflower Robin 🙂 I’ve been playing around a little with doing that myself.

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Eden. 🙂

      I got the effect through processing in Picnik. My camera is a P&S and won’t do that sort of thing. Still saving up for the camera I really want.

  3. I love the nest photo and the zoomed in sunflower! In fact, the sunflower is incredible! Hope you have a lovely evening!
    Kathy

  4. that mama bird in the tree top is the epitome of summer-the green and the blue sky–ah!

  5. Hallysann says:

    I love your picture of the baby bird, but the lampost photo is wonderful 😀

  6. Karma says:

    It was exactly that kind of day here yesterday too! I love the way you’ve expressed it. I was floating in my pool with a book and looking up at the sky and having the same sort of thoughts.

  7. TBM says:

    Love the photos. The baby bird is so cute.

  8. eof737 says:

    Lovely… the bird in the nest is fantastic. Loved it! 🙂

  9. milkayphoto says:

    Cool sunflower shot. In-camera or post-process filter?

    • Robin says:

      Post-processing, Tracy. My camera won’t do that sort of thing (unless I put it on a dolly — that might work). I’ve learned how to do it in-camera (and have done it using a borrowed camera). Now all I need is the camera. 🙂

  10. penpusherpen says:

    I always wanted to lie in a hammock, but it looks to be a fine art whenever I’ve seen anyone using one Robin, (I’m sure I’d be swaddled in no time at all 😉 )
    The Sky, a wonderful subject, even when it’s turning grey (gray?) the clouds have so much formation and differing shades of colour, and looking out now, there’s a silver one tucked in amongst the lighter greys, and what a show of temper to come. I think it’s about to pour down. . All photo’s were so lovely, esp, the sun shining through the locust trees. hide and seek methinks. xPenx

    • Robin says:

      Gray here in the U.S., Pen, where we speak and spell funny English (so says one of my friends from England). I know what you mean about hammocks. I don’t think I’ve ever successfully managed to get in one and not end up either on the ground or swaddled. lol!

  11. Christine Grote says:

    Your pictures are always so sharp and beautiful. The bird in the nest is fabulous.

  12. WOW, love the sunflower photo!

  13. Marianne says:

    As usual the photos are stunning, Robin. Today’s view of the pond particularly caught my eye today.


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

