255: Cycling ’round the neighborhood

Country road

Exploration comes easy on a bicycle, the unknown is everywhere.

~ Daniel Behrman

If you take a right out of our driveway and go half way around our country block (about 2 miles or so), you’ll come to a road that runs behind the woods that start at the back of the pond.  Our part of the woods extend back about 100 feet or so and there merge with the neighbor’s part of the woods until they come to the road.  There is a little bridge where you can follow the creek out of the woods.

The creek coming out of the woods

The creek goes under the bridge and then out into the openness of a field.

Following the creek

Meeting the creek on the other side of the woods was the start of my cycling adventures on Friday morning.  Rather than go to a bike trail, M and I decided to get out and explore our neighborhood.  It was a good way to practice going up hills as the route I picked was decidedly hilly.  I am happy to report that I only had to walk up one hill (I managed to stay on the bike for the rest of them), and that was because I’d gotten off midway up the hill to take some photos.  Once stopped, it’s very difficult to get the bike going uphill again.

A tree on a hill

It was a beautiful day for a bike ride.  The temperature was blissfully cool (we had to wear light jackets), which worked out nicely as I still managed to work up a sweat after a few hills.

Mother and child

There are quite a few farms out this way.  Some farm the land and some have farm animals, and some have both.   We stopped for a little while to admire the cuteness of the baby cows.

Hello!

Then it was on to one of the hilliest roads around here.  I’ve driven the road many times and should have realized how hilly it is (up and down and up and down and up and down), but I didn’t think of that when M asked which way I wanted to go.  Instead I was thinking of the beautiful white horse that lives on that road and how I would finally get a chance to photograph it.  Alas, the white horse was not out standing in his field that morning.  I’ll have to go back another day.  It will give me more hill practice.

There are a couple of farms along this particular road, with some interesting barns.  To be honest,  I find most barns to be interesting.  The only thing better than a barn is a silo.

I would like to have a silo.  No particular reason why.  I just like them and think it would be cool to have one.

Looking through the barn

The ride was lovely with the added bonus of being a good workout.  All in all, we went close to 8 miles, round trip.  My bicycle is now about ready for its first (and free) tune-up.  The gears started to skip a little which is what I was told to watch for as the cables stretched during the first few rides.

Wheat field

Heading home on one of the few flat stretches of road

It is by riding a bicycle that you learn the contours of a country best, since you have to sweat up them and coast down them.

~ Ernest Hemingway

In other news…

We had a great time yesterday.  The day was hot and breezy, eventually ending in thunderstorms.  We picnicked on the porch, after which some folks went fishing and others pedaled around the pond.

The much-needed rain didn’t move in until it was nearly time for our friends to leave (they had a bit of traveling to do to get back home).

Sunbeams and storm clouds

Once everyone had left, the rain came pouring down.  Having been feeling a little overheated for most of the afternoon, I finally decided the best thing to do would be to go out into the rain and cool off.  It was wonderful.  The rain gave me a very creative looking hairdo as well, something I couldn’t achieve on purpose if I tried.

Silhouette at sunset

M and I stayed out until late evening, enjoying the rain, the breeze, and the sounds of the frogs.  We thought we heard the spring peepers as well, but that could have been the tree frogs.

Today's view of the pond

Today’s outdoor time has been spent sitting on the deck, pedaling around the pond, and generally relaxing and enjoying the day.  It was nice to have a day with no plans and no work that had to be done.  A day of rest.  Joyful, joyful.

Floating

How beautiful it is to do nothing, and then rest afterward.

~ Spanish Proverb

A willow leaf pretending to be an origami bird

45 Comments on “255: Cycling ’round the neighborhood”

  1. Julia says:

    I really enjoy the red barn, great shots!

  2. cismonok says:

    🙂

    Thanks!

  3. Don’t you just love it when the rain has great timing like this?

  4. Christine says:

    Gorgeous – I’m pretty sure that you are living in paradise!

  5. Karma says:

    Looks like a wonderful place for bike-riding. I haven’t been on my bike in a few years, but I think I definitely would if I had such pretty scenery in such easy reach. It is funny, I just finished posting my June Photo Hunt list, then I popped over here and found that you already have one of the shots done!
    I took a birdy silhouette shot the other day too – we must be on some similar photo wavelength! 😉

    • Robin says:

      We seem to do that (be on the same photo wavelength) a lot, Karma. 🙂

      I saw that I had one of the shots already! Another coincidence. 🙂

  6. judithhb says:

    Lucky you. Judith

  7. I love that Spanish proverb! And those cows are so, so cute! Great photos, Robin!
    Kathy

  8. ladyfi says:

    That origami bird-leaf is delightful! As is the pond… fabulous shots. So glad to hear you had a lovely rest!

  9. Kala says:

    That image of the people on the paddle boat looks like a painting!

    • Robin says:

      I thought so, too, Kala. I think it turned out that way because they were so far away. The zoom tends to come out that way sometimes. I like it. 🙂

  10. penpusherpen says:

    Everything looks so beautiful and peaceful Robin, and even the small wisp of cloud in two of your photo’s looks so laid back and relaxed, ‘chillin’ out!!’ 😀
    Joyful day indeed. Many thanks for sharing it through your words and lovely photo’s . xPenx

  11. smileonlife says:

    Absolutely beautiful post. I felt like I looking at something that was part of a travel programme! You have a great way of making me feel as though I am there. Thank you 🙂

  12. jenna says:

    I also like barns– I saw one that was converted to an artist’s studio and I was so envious.

    That bebeh moo-cow wants to hang out with me 🙂

  13. Robin, your collection of photos here are absolutely wonderful! I love the vivid, bold colors of the grass and sky (I see the same “V” cloud in 2 pictures), and I love “Looking through the barn”! You make a person want to go out and get a bicycle!! 🙂

    • Robin says:

      It is the same V cloud, Holly. It hung around for the longest time, and showed up in quite a few photos (most of which didn’t end up on the blog).

      Thank you. 🙂

  14. What a great journey! The barn photo is especially beautiful!

  15. bearyweather says:

    Looks like a very scenic place to ride and not have to worry about traffic … the barn picture is really great.
    Your paddle boat picture made me think of an English country picnic for some reason, you just need some big flowery hats ;0)
    Origami bird is really cool … I love finding things like that in nature.

    • Robin says:

      There was more traffic than I thought there would be, Bearyweather. It seems like one of the roads in particular must be a short-cut for the lawn service guys. Lots of pick-up trucks pulling trailers with lawn mowers on them going by that morning.

      Thank you. 🙂

  16. Barbara says:

    I found “Looking through the barn” very intriguing. Is the barn in use? Seeing the fence and the tree through the opening at that level is not what the eye would expect to see there…

    The calf’s coloring is pretty with its white face perfectly framed in black!

    You live in a beautiful area – it’s wonderful you get out to enjoy it…

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Barbara. 🙂

      Yes, the barn is in use. I think, but I’m not sure, that it may be an Amish family living there as I have seen what appears to be the patriarch of the family driving down the road in a wagon pulled by horses. No sign of a buggy, though, so that makes me unsure.

  17. boatacrosstheriver says:

    I also love the Looking Through the Barn pic. That’s a great one.

  18. ristinw says:

    I really like the “tree on a hill”. It’s super relaxing! 🙂

  19. Corina says:

    I have a soft spot for barns and silos, too. It looks like you had a wonderfully productive bike ride!

  20. […] that set me on this path.  First I read cycling around the neighborhood from my blogging friend Robin at bogsofohio and then I read Monica’s post   As you know by now I am a quotation and poetry nut so I […]

  21. comingeast says:

    Your pictures are lovely, and your description of your bike ride delightful. I liked picturing you with light jackets on, enjoying the breeze on your bikes, especially since it’s starting to sizzle here a little in Virginia.

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, ComingEast. 🙂 And thanks so much for dropping by and commenting. I appreciate it.

      We’ll be sizzling here today, too. The heat wave seems to be taking over most of the U.S. now.

  22. You live in a beautiful area.

  23. Dana says:

    Such pretty photos! I love how rustic and tranquil your neck of the woods looks. Old barns and silos are actually what inspired Marty (my husband) to become a full-time artist! They all have such great character and personalities. I love the red barn photo in this post. 🙂


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

