253: What’s in bloom

I’ve spent a little time over the past two days walking around to see what’s in bloom.  As you can see, the wisteria is just starting to blossom.  I was so thrilled to see it.  It’s taken a lot of time and care (thank you, M!) to get the wisteria vine to flourish.  The first year or two it seemed to struggle.  Now it looks ready to take over the whole section of the property where we placed it.  It’s free to do as it chooses there.  We picked that spot so it could grow and spread as much as it wanted (with the occasional help and direction from M who seems to be making a living sculpture in that area, using a willow tree, the wisteria vine, and the remains of an old outbuilding that were there when we bought the place).

Wonderful wisteria

I was not able to get up too close when I took the photos of the wisteria yesterday.  I tried to get some better shots today, but they’ll have to wait until I have time to upload and look at them.

Peony and a visitor

I didn’t notice the beetle in the peony until I looked at this on the computer monitor.  I love the way his little antennae are sticking up and out.

The peonies are in various stages of development.  Some look almost finished whereas some are still buds, or almost buds.  I know that ants usually like their nectar, but I didn’t see any ants on them at all.  A few beetles, a couple of little bee-like creatures, and a small fly or two.

The rhododendrons have peaked and some of the flowers have already fallen off.  We have had a couple of deer visiting every evening and I’m surprised they haven’t been nipping at these plants and flowers.  Perhaps they haven’t found them yet.  Usually we spray them with some smelly stuff that keep the deer away.  I don’t think M has had to do that yet.  My nose would have noticed if he had.

Pointed Blue-eyed Grass

I found these tiny little blue flowers over by the wisteria.  I’ve never seen them before.  The flowers are about a 1/2 inch wide, and according to The Audubon Society Field Guide to North American Wildflowers (Eastern), they are in the Iris family.

Birdsfoot Trefoil

There is a lot of Birdsfoot Trefoil blooming on the roadsides now.  I also found some daisies.

M and I went to Akron yesterday evening.  I went on a bike ride this morning.  In both instances I took the camera along and hope to have the photos uploaded and ready to share with you soon.

The weather here today is gorgeous again.  The sky is a wonderful shade of blue with a few thin clouds streaked across it here and there.  It’s not as breezy as it has been the past few days.  It’s just enough of a breeze to make it lovely day.  Not too hot.  Not too cool.  Just Right.

I’ve been outside several times.  The bike ride took about an hour and I explored some of the neighborhood.  All together, it was about an 8-mile ride.  I mowed the lawn, took a walk out to look at the peonies and wisteria, and have been in and out a few times to hang laundry or take it down.  It’s a great day for drying things on the line.  On days like this, meeting my outdoor commitment is easy peasy.

I’d best get moving.  I still have a few more chores to do before I can relax for the day.  Thanks for dropping by.  Have a great weekend!

22 Comments on “253: What’s in bloom”

  1. Siannaphey says:

    I love your attentiveness to nature, and beautiful descriptions.It’s like you are showing me your garden! thank you 🙂

  2. bearyweather says:

    I found some blue-eyed grass for the first time last summer and had to look it up, too. So, tiny and bright blue … hard to imagine I had never seen it before. You see so much more when you take the time to look … especially when you are carrying your camera. ;0)

    My camera has definitely changed my view of the world around me (for the better).

  3. Karma says:

    Finally have a chance to sit down and catch up with everyone again. Thanks for the pretty walk through your flowers. They make such cooperative photography subjects, don’t they?

  4. Eden says:

    That pointed blue eyed grass is lovely 🙂

  5. Beautiful finds on your walk. I also love your header with the baby duckies.

  6. I think the blue flower in the grass is the prettiest! Love its shape and colors. There’s always something simple to make us smile 🙂

  7. Beautiful. Thanks for sharing. I miss the wisteria we had at our old house.

  8. Corina says:

    I am enjoying all the color and freshness in your blog. There isn’t a lot blooming here. Too cold and too wet. This weekend is our annual Rose Parade and Festival. There are no roses blooming yet. This is the latest rose bloom on record. Experts are saying it will take about a full week of 70+ weather for them to open and that just isn’t in the forecast.

  9. I always enjoy your flower photos 🙂 I was happy to the wisteria, they’re long gone here.

  10. penpusherpen says:

    Looks like you had a busy week-end Robin, judging by the photo’s,(My favourites the Rhododendron, just beautiful) I worked in my little garden and tried to conquer the massive Pyracantha, and it fought back with a vengeance. it’s grown so high that I’ll have to get the ladder, but for the moment little me ( 5’7″… and it’s twice my size, the brute) has to contend with pruning the lower spiky branches. One snapped back and gave me such a shock I fell back a missed the step I’d forgotten was there, hence a scraped knee and sore legs from meeting the hexagonal slabs breaking my fall. Gardening is hazardous to the health methinks. I can’t wait for round two!! 🙂 xPenx

    • Robin says:

      Yikes, Pen! Take care when gardening. My own trip-ups, falls, bruises, etc., attest to the fact that it is a dangerous enterprise. 😉

  11. Im in awe of all the flowers and greenery! You take lovely pictures of it all! Thanks for sharing 🙂


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

