248: First boat ride of the season

Relaxing on the pedal boat

I took my first pedal boat ride of the season yesterday afternoon.  I pedaled around the pond a few times, took a few photos, then I put my feet up and drifted for a while, enjoying the sunshine and the breeze.

Deer at the back of the pond

Life is pretty busy in and around the pond.  There were all kinds of creatures swimming, hopping, flying, buzzing, sitting, and walking.

Robin

The frogs are more vocal than they have been, mostly warning each other of my approach when I was pedaling along the edges of the pond trying to spot a frog or turtle.

Green frog

Snapping turtle

That mud and algae covered bump is a snapping turtle.  If you look closely you can see its head.  Snapping turtles like to bury themselves in the mud when they fish.

Beached

I have a few photos of M jumping off the swim platform and going for the first swim of the season, but you can see him too well so I won’t be posting them.  I mention it just to put on record that yes, we do swim in the pond.  At its deepest, the pond is 13 feet so jumping off the swim platform is safe (and fun).  He said the water is warm on top and cold just a few inches in which is typical for this early in the season and (he said) not so bad when you consider how cloudy, rainy, and cold it has been this spring.

I took a short walk after my boat ride to admire the rhododendrons which are doing marvelously well this year.

On my way back to the house I came across this little creature, sitting on a dandelion:

It’s not quite as pretty as Michaela’s butterfly, which you can see here and here.  Go ahead and look.  I’ll wait.

Hawkweed (aka Devil's Paintbrush)

My favorite lawn flower is just starting to pop up and bloom.  Hawkweed was introduced to North America.  Farmers in New England named it Devil’s Paintbrush because they saw it as a troublesome weed.  The name Hawkweed is derived from a folk belief that hawks ate the flower to aid their vision.

Today’s Outdoor Adventures

It’s early morning as I put this post together.  I will schedule it to auto-post later today.  M and I are going on a bike ride with M the Younger and his lovely wife, after which we’ll be spending the day with them.  I suspect it’s going to be a full, fun day, and I won’t have time for blogging so…

You’ll have to wait until tomorrow to find out about today’s adventures.  8)

41 Comments on “248: First boat ride of the season”

  1. Ah ha…there’s those famous shoes in the first shot!

    Breezy Acres sounds like it has an adventure waiting for you every day of the year, Robin, and so many photographic subjects too. Mr. Frog, peeking out of the water at you is very cute indeed.

    Enjoy your bike ride. 🙂

  2. 1. LOVE those shoes!
    2. How absolutely wonderful to be able to boat and swim whenever you like!
    3. Hawkweed=awful name, beautiful blossom.

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Teresita. 🙂

      We were very lucky to have found this place. It took a couple of visits before we decided to purchase the house and property (which were ridiculously low priced). We fell in love with the property but the house, which had been a rental for many years, was in bad shape. However, the house did have what I think of as good bones. It was structurally sound. Eventually we decided we could work with it, and now here we are, eight years later, the house in good shape because of all our hard work (sweat equity!) and loving being here. Of course the pond and property require lots of daily hard work, too, so it’s been good for us.

  3. Kel says:

    looks like you’re revelling in spring

  4. Marianne says:

    Awesome photos, Robin! The snapping turtle looks huge. Beautiful flowers and butterfly. It is lovely that you have a pond in your backyard and someone to enjoy it with. Nice!

  5. So much life in the bogs – I love it! It’s like a whole different world since the snow and ice left us (finally)!

  6. Love the tones in the shot of the boat, and that photo of the butterfly is fantastic!

  7. Eden says:

    Really like the boat and the hawkweed 🙂

  8. Yes, the shoes! How fun. I especially love the frog photo!
    Kathy

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Kathy. 🙂

      I was lucky to capture the frog. They’re usually too quick for me, but this guy must have decided that posing might get rid of me. 😉

  9. Kala says:

    I love your shoes and that whole image!

  10. ladyfi says:

    What adorable pictures!

  11. penpusherpen says:

    I love the flutter by, all to me are smiles on wings, and the pond and the pond life are marvellous to view, Robin. Especially the frog, he looks a trifle grumpy to me, but maybe that’s my outlook not his, ‘cos it’s a washout here weather wise. Have a great family adventure, and safe biking. xPenx

    • Robin says:

      He looks a little grumpy to me too, Pen. I think he was reluctantly allowing me to take his picture in an effort to get me to move along and leave him and his fellow frogs alone. 🙂

  12. Karma says:

    Looks like it was a wonderful day. This is a great variety of shots. Love the frog poking out of the water and I’m still trying to make heads or tails of the turtle – is that entire bump the turtle’s shell?
    Is it just me or do all the flowers seem to be doing exceptionally well this season? You mentioned your rhododendrons – mine are doing well too, as well as everything else that has bloomed so far. I’m wondering if Mama Nature could be making amends for a dreadful winter with an exceptional display this spring.

    • Karma says:

      Hmmm… I think a blog post is formulating from my own comment, LOL. Except it is raining again today.

      • Robin says:

        Thank you, Karma. 🙂

        I think you’re right. The flowers are doing exceptionally well this spring. Between the harsh winter and the chilly, wet spring, it’s the least Mama Nature can do for us, don’t you think? 😀

        Looking forward to seeing what you came up with for a blog post. Sorry to hear it’s still raining. We actually have sunshine again today. It feels almost weird.

  13. Tammy McLeod says:

    Would recognize those feet anywhere. What amazing photos you take. I particularly liked the frog.

  14. smileonlife says:

    I love love love the frog! He’s gorgeous. I wonder if you thought about giving him a quick kiss…to see if he turned into a Prince. I’m sure he’d be a good looking one -as he’s a good looking frog 🙂

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Samantha.

      I thought about it, but since I’m already married to my prince, I decided to leave the frog for someone else to come along and kiss. 😀

  15. Sounds like the perfect way to spend the day, and that butterfly is JUST as beautiful as mine 🙂
    The hawkweed is really prtty (did you swirl the background? It looks great!). Reminds me a little of the Texas dandelion, except that it is orange instead of yellow. I don’t thin the TX dandelion has buds below the flower, either, but I’m not sure… need to pay attention next time I see one.

    • Robin says:

      Thanks, Michaela. 🙂

      I did swirl the background of that one. The hawkweed pictured is an orange hawkweed. We also have yellow hawkweed. The flower looks a lot like a dandelion but it has those buds below the flower as with the orange version.

  16. milkayphoto says:

    There is just something about living near the water. You have a slice of heaven there, Robin. AND, you revel in it every single day! 🙂

  17. Bo Mackison says:

    Ahhh, the frog in the bog. Perfect!

  18. Dana says:

    Best. Shoes. Ever!!

  19. Kathy says:

    Beautiful boat ride, beautiful pictures, beautiful pond. I especially like the green irridescent throat of the frog. Although the invitation of that sepia-colored boat is so appealing, too. I can never decide which photo I like best.


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

