239: Spring has returned

(On the hike & bike trail.)

It’s here!  Spring!  Everyone around here is doing a happy dance.  The rain stopped, the sun came out, and the temperature made it up to about 70 degrees today.  How exciting is that?  It was so nice that I was able to take my bike out for another ride.  That’s a grand total of 2 rides since M and I bought our bikes.

My bicycle (and my CamelBak day pack) on the hike & bike trail

M and I went to a local hike and bike trail this morning.  It is one of those rail trails that has been converted for walking and biking.  Since we’re still getting used to our bikes, a rail trail is a good place to get in some mileage as it is relatively flat.  There were a few hills but nothing major.  We were out for about an hour and traveled 6 miles total.  While we might have been able to go further, we decided not to push too hard too fast.  That usually doesn’t end well.

Inside a local nursery

Besides, there were other things on the agenda for the day.  Such as a visit to our local plant nursery to pick up some plants for the garden.  We came home with a variety of tomatoes and peppers, some herbs, flowers for the flower bed where the tulips are currently dropping their petals, and a few other things that I’m having trouble remembering at the moment.

Izzy surveying the flower bed

The fun and exercise continued into the afternoon with gardening and other chores.  I’ve had more outdoor time today than I’ve had in weeks, I bet.

Bella making sure I have everything I need to take up to the vegetable garden

Please excuse the cat-blogging.  Izzy and Bella made it too difficult for me to resist.  This pair may well belong with the rest of the LOL cats.

Chillin' on the patio

Having finished my work for the day, I am now ready to go relax on the patio, and maybe watch the sunset.  We had a pretty sunset last night.  With all the puffy clouds scattered about the sky, we should have a nice one tonight too.

Yesterday's sunset

Wishing you a wonder-filled and magical weekend!  Thanks for dropping by.  🙂

19 Comments on “239: Spring has returned”

  1. CMSmith says:

    You live in a beautiful place. As soon as we get Mark another bike (we gave the other one to our son who needed it and still hasn’t repaired the tires to use it), we’ll be hitting the trails. I’m with you on keeping the distances short at first. Good strategy.

    I hope you didn’t overwork yourself in your garden.

  2. I do like the inviting path photos–they so remind me of summer. And the cats–how cute to find them both on tiptoe nosing around. From the photos, it looked like a perfect day.

  3. Marianne says:

    Today’s quote is a good one.

    The cats are so pretty.

    We’ve had nice weather today as well.

    Hope you have a great weekend also, Robin.

  4. smileonlife says:

    So great that you were able to go on your bikes – I love cycling, especially on bike paths. Not so keen cycling on actual roads, where I live it’s not all that bike friendly. Great post – as per usual! 🙂

  5. Kathy says:

    Doin’ the happy dance with you and the cat! Hurray for spring!

  6. SWK says:

    Your cats are gorgeous! Excited for spring as well.

  7. Today felt more like summer here! We had some nasty humidity, and the mosquitoes were out in full force! Hooray for bike riding! I bet it felt great to go for a ride! 🙂

  8. Kel says:

    what lovely bike paths to pedal out on a two-wheeled adventure

  9. Your cats are beautiful and fun. I’m so glad you finally got your sunshine and your spring. That can only mean more lovely photos are on the way!

  10. Karma says:

    Love the cat blogging! Nosy cats make for fun pictures! We had a little sunshine and about 70 degrees yesterday too – but this morning we are back to gloom. Sad.

  11. penpusherpen says:

    “Happy dancing” with you Robin in celebration, and I LOVE the hike and bike trail. Just my type of scene, wondering where it leads and going to see regardless. Loving the puddy tats photo’s, ‘stroke’ ‘stroke’ and it’s such a pleasure to drop by, a wonderful week-end wish too, my friend, to you and to yours. xPenx

  12. I so wish I could walk along that path in the first two.

  13. ladyfi says:

    Hurray for spring! Love that first shot…

  14. bearyweather says:

    Wow, that looks like a perfect spot for riding bike with a camera … I am envious.

  15. milkayphoto says:

    The rail trail is lovely! Hubby and I used to ride bikes but we found we like walking/hiking better as we are able to be side-by-side and talk the whole time. Makes the miles go by quickly and we both walk really fast so we get in a good workout. With the injured foot, I miss our walks but I get stronger every day so perhaps we’ll get to do that soon.

    Feel free to post as many feline photos as you’d like! 🙂

  16. Bo Mackison says:

    How wonderful it is to be back in the garden!

  17. Robin says:

    Thank you everyone! It’s good to see all those happy dances. 🙂

  18. nigel says:

    I think this is a wonderful photo that works very well but, I’d like to see it in Sepia…


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

