234: Sunday Signage

(Somewhere in Philadelphia.)

I haven’t done a Sunday Signage post in a while.  That’s due to not having taken many photos of signs lately.

The bigger picture

The photos were taken in Philadelphia on May 6th when we were there visiting with friend and artist Jenna Hannum.  After touring her studio (which is very cool and I have to ask her about posting photos because I said, “I won’t post them on the blog,” and she said, “Post ’em on the blog if you want,” but it seems best to ask her, just in case), we walked over to a Mexican restaurant and had a delicious lunch.  The day was nice enough that we could sit outside on the patio.  I should have worn sunscreen, though, as I ended up with quite a sunburn on the back of my neck.

Live and learn (although I should have learned this lesson a LONG time ago).

Too much of a good thing

When I was a teenager, I read a collection of short stories by Ray Bradbury called The Illustrated Man.  One of the stories is “The Long Rain,” about a group of astronauts stranded on Venus where, on Ray Bradbury’s Venus, it rains and rains and rains.  Continuously and heavily, it pours.  The steady, unrelenting rain eventually drives some of the characters mad enough to commit suicide.

Not a good day for hanging out the laundry

The heavy rains we have been experiencing this spring, and continue to experience, remind me of the story.  I usually trust that Mother Nature knows what she’s doing when it comes to the dispersal of precipitation, but it’s becoming increasingly difficult to maintain that trust as the ground becomes so saturated that some of the trees and plants are beginning to die.  They are drowning in an excess of water.

A naked tulip (the petals were knocked off by the heavy rains)

I walked around the pond for my outdoor adventures today.  There are places I am unable to visit.  The woods, for instance, are now part of the creek. The usual boggy areas near the cattails are merging with the pond.  Water, water, everywhere.

It was not all doom and gloom out there, in spite of how I started this post.  Some of the plants and flowers continue to do well enough.  Not all of the tulips have lost their petals.  The azaleas and phlox are still pretty in pink, albeit a little droopy.

Pond level is up and the irises that usually sit along the edges are now in the water.

The dandelions, violets, and tulips may be worse for wear due to the rain, but the dogwood looks beautiful, and there are ferns popping up in the woods.  I have never seen that many ferns in our forest.  M and I have even tried planting a few, but they didn’t grow.  Obviously they are loving all the water.

Dogwood stretching out

The lilacs continue to bloom, although they look somewhat rusty.  The holly is blooming, too.  I had no idea the holly produces flowers in the spring.

Holly in bloom

I’ll leave you with a few more photos from today’s walk.  Thank you for dropping by!

The buttercups are starting to bloom

The interconnectedness of all life does not have to be an abstract concept.  We can live it.  It doesn’t matter whether we garden indoors or outdoors; we can honor our world.  It is all a prayer.

~ Judith Handelsman, Growing Myself

A drenched dandelion

We are members of a vast cosmic orchestra, in which each living instrument is essential to the complimentary and harmonious playing of the whole.

~ J. Allen Boone

Budding peony

The deeper we look into nature, the more we recognize that it is full of life, and the more profoundly we know that all life is a secret and that we are united with all life that is in nature.  Man can no longer live his life for himself alone.  We realize that all life is valuable and that we are united to all this life.  From this knowledge comes our spiritual relationship with the universe.

~ Albert Schweitzer

Wilting lilac

27 Comments on “234: Sunday Signage”

  1. That’s a sign that I probably would have taken a picture of.. at least the heart 😉
    Poor naked tulip. The holly is really pretty, I had no idea they produced flowers either.
    Sending some of our sunshine your way, sounds like you’ve gotten enough rain for a while.

  2. CMSmith says:

    I always get a neck sunburn at least once a year. You’d think I’d figure it out by now.

    My peonies look about the same as yours, maybe a slight bit more swollen.

    • Robin says:

      Me too, Christine. It’s become a ritual of sorts.

      My peonies were barely sticks a day or so ago. I was surprised to see them budding. Perhaps they like all this rain.

  3. jenna says:

    I only just discovered that holly bushes have spring flowers, after I encountered the biggest holly tree I’ve ever seen 2 blocks from my house. Some kind of mutant, it must be.

    Lucky you, with all those ferns! I love ferns in their natural habitat.

    Post ’em if you want to, I don’t mind!

    Is that tagging about loving one another in my studio neighborhood? That church looks somehow very different.

    • Robin says:

      Nah, probably not a mutant, J. We had a humongous holly when we lived in southern Ohio. It looked like it belonged in the mountains or something. Never saw it flower, though, so I’m wondering about male and female holly bushes/trees and which one flowers, etc.

      I love ferns, too, in their natural habitat. There is something magical about them.

      That tagging was in your neighborhood (took it on our way to lunch). It pleases me that my perspective in that photo makes it look different to you. Only because… well, you probably know the because. 🙂

  4. I’m sorry for you and for all the lovely flowers that are being damaged by the rain. It always breaks my heart when a pretty flower is killed by too much water falling from the sky at the wrong time.
    Mother Nature is indeed wise, humanity is the foolish one. Maybe this rain isn’t natural, maybe it’s a result of something we’re doing. Here in Argentina we’ve had many a flood that was caused by the destruction of the Amazonian forest. All the quotes you’ve included in this post touch my heart; if they touched more hearts, if people were guided more by their hearts and not their wild ambition, maybe things like this wouldn’t happen.

    • Robin says:

      Well said, SunsetSeaSoul. I keep thinking I should ask what your first name is so I can use that, but I love the name you picked to identify yourself for your blog. It suits you and your photography so well. 🙂

  5. carlaat says:

    Those Ray Bradbury stories about Venus stuck with me too. Please send your rain our way – we need it in New Orleans – not in the Mississippi River, but on the land – it hasn’t rained here much in over a month!

    Love your blog and your photos.

  6. Kala says:

    I absolutely love the image of the dogwood blooming.

    We have also had a lot of rain this year.

  7. Team Oyeniyi says:

    I love the holly – it just calls to me for some reason.

  8. Random thoughts–

    –The dandelion photo is fascinating!
    –We’ve had massive amounts of rain here, too!
    –Love the flower in your new header!

    Kathy

  9. The sign is timely and your photos are full of color thanks to all this rain.

    But…though I am loving all the green and lush colors all this rain it bringing. The farmers are having a hard time getting their crops in. We need another stretch of warm and dry weather, please!

    • Robin says:

      The farmers are having the same problem here, Scott. Last year we had an early and abundant growing season. I hope the rain clears out soon so we can have at least the usual growing season.

  10. Marianne says:

    The dogwood and holly are gorgeous, Robin. I love the quotes too.

  11. penpusherpen says:

    That naked tulip looked rather apologetic Robin, as if wanting to search for it’s petal clothes. 🙂 .. Great to see ‘blooming’ nature, working hard at her seasonal job and I loved the photo of the Dogwood, wouldn’t mind stretching out under it myself. xx

  12. milkayphoto says:

    Yes, too much rain and too chilly a Spring. The iris shot is quite beautiful….love the lavender-colored background.

  13. Dana says:

    I *love* the photo of the sign at the beginning– it always warms my heart when people spray paint for the better good! 🙂 (I know it’s still technically graffiti, but what inspiring graffiti it is!)

    Here’s hoping that the rain lets up a little in your parts. We have had some showers here, but it has mostly been unseasonably cold and windy…


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

